(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "History of Door county, Wisconsin, together with biographies of nearly seven hundred families, and mention of 4,000 persons .."



^j^' 



& 



HISTORY 



OF 



T 




w 



Y 



WISCONSIN, 



TOGETHER WITH BIOGRANliES CF MEARLY 

Seven hundred families, 

AND 

.JENTION OF 4,0oj PERSONS. 



BY 



MARTIN 



tiSSRI 



BAY, WiS. 

F.XIWITOi! JOB PRINT 
1*81. 



F587 
.D7M3 






(o 



b 



r& 



JV9. 




Bi 




B 1 



HISTORY 

■ frff 

DOOR COUNTY, 

WISCONSIN, 



TOGETHER WITH BIOGRAPHIES OF NEARLY 

SEVEN HUNDRED FAMILIES, 

AND 

MENTION OF 4,000 PERSONS, 



BY CHAS. I. MARTIN 

L* 



STURGEON BAY, WIS: 

EXPOSITOR JOB PRINT. 

1881. 



f5% 









7 V 



TABLE OF CONTENTS, 



SKETCH OF WISCONSIN. 

PAGE. 



PAGE. 



Territorial Government i State Governors from 1848 to '78. ..2, 3 

Territorial Gov's from 1836 to '48 __x, 2 [Historical Sketch 3, 4 

DOOR COUNTY. 



PAGE. 

Boundary, etc 4, 5 

County organization 17, 18, 19 

Death's Door 19, 20 

A Mystery 5, 6 

The First White Settler 6, 7, 8, 9 

Review of County 9 

Water 9 

Roads 9 

The log house 10 

Lumbering 10, u, 12 

Manufactures 12 



PAGE. 

Railroads 12 

Mails, express, etc 12 

School facilities . 13 

Religious 13 

Crops 13 

Fruits 13, 14 

Pork raising 14 

Sheep 

Maple sugar 

Fishing 



... 14% 

14. IS I 

»5. 16 1 



PAGE. 

1st Washington 21 

2d Otumba (Sturgeon Bay) 26 

3d Forestville .,. 46 

4th Gibraltar 51 

5th Brussels 56 

6th Liberty Grove 63 

7th Clay Banks 65 



Town Organization— Origin of Name. 

PAGE. 

8th Nasewaupee 68 

9th Sevastopol 72 

10th Egg Harbor 77 

nth Bailey's Harbor 81 

12th Gardner 86 

13th Union 90 

4th Jacksonport 94 



oncerning Chamber's Island Township, see page 56 and 100% 
Letter Writters 



PAGE. 

H. N. McCleary 16, 17 

H. D. Miner 22 

Jesse Miner (poem) 22, 23 

A. Thompson 30 

D. A. Reed 31, 32 

L. R. McLachlan 33 

Jesse Kimber 34, 35 

Jeseph Harris, Sr 37, 38 

Improvements, Reminiscences, Etc 



PAGE. 

N. H. Rockwell 47 

H. P. Jacobs 52 

R. M. Wright 54, 55 

H. B. Stephenson 73, 74, 75 

O. P.Graham 77, 78 

M. K. Lyman 79, 80 

Soloman Beery 82, 83, 84, 131 

J. E. Thorp 94, 95, 96 



PAGE. 

The Canal 116, 117, 118, no, 120 

The hard winter 97, 08, 99 

The cold winter 99, 100, 100^ 



PAGE. 

The Boys in Blue * 100, 101 

Great Fire of 1871 ioi, '2, '3, '4, '5 

The Sunken Island 105, 106 



TABLE OF CONTENTS. 



Ill 



Bertholf Mystery to6, 107, 

The Press 108, 109, 

The Ferry no, 

County Seat .- in, 

Library Association 112, 

Agricultural Association 113, 

Churches and Lodges 114, 



PAGE. 
108 
no 
in 
112 

"3 

114 

JI 5 



PAGE. 

Amusements 115, 116 

Uncolored facts 120, 121 

Summary 128, 129 

Final Mention of Settlers 130 

The Death List 131, 132 

In Conclusion 132, 133 



I' -Vote From 1856 to 1881. 

PAGE. 

Vote for Assemblyman '56 to '8i 123 

Vote for Co. Officers '56 to 81, 125 

1881-2, on page 129. 

H£lpCounty Business Directory Page 134, 135, 136. 
Biography of Old Settlers. 



PAGE. 

County Politics 121, 122 

Vote for Gov. from '55 to 78 123 

g3f"*Biography of County officers for 



PAGE 

Anderson, Hans P 25 

Arlum, Christena 39 

Allen, Gideon W 41 

Ashby, Jacob 47 

Amunderson, Jorgen 52 

Anderson, Aslag 53 

Aslagson, Byron 64 

Anger, George 65 

Annasen, Syvert 68 

Arlt, Adolph 70 

A'hern, Edward 71 

Armbrust, Nicholas 75 

Ash, Richard 7 

Arlt, Fred 84 

Apple, Jac«.b 85 

Aherns, Fred 86 

pommen, Andrew 25 

^acon, Samuel N 29 

Berg, Fred 35 

Bernson, Peter 40 

|3tishman, Margaret 41 

Bowe, Kearn 41 

JBottleson, Erne. 41 

"ushmann, Caroline 42 

jBershaw, Martin 42 

Birmingham, Eugene 43 

3oes, Hugo F . . 43 

packey, Martin 44 

Bush, John 47 

Bernhart, Julius __ 47 

3ernhart, Robert 47 

Srockhausen, Henry 48 

Brandt, August 49 

Jacholz, John 49 

Jretel, Joseph 50 

3rei. Anton 50 

iirdsall, Wm 51 

3rown, John 54 

Bailey, W 55 

3asinne, Clement _. 58 

Baye. Martin 58 

Bero, John B 58 

Baugnet, Antoine 59 

Balza, Michael.. 59 



PAGE. 

Bueus, Victor * 61 

Benien, Peter 62 

Bernville, Peter 63 

Bailey, Wm 68 

Bink, John 71 

Bassford, Geo . 72 

Boyce, Chas 76 

Bankner, Albert 76 

Birmingham, Andrew 76 

Barringer, Joha J 80 

Baker, Russel 80 

Barringer, George ... 81 

Brooks. Wilder L 81 

Beery, Soloman 81 

Brooks, James W 84 

Bateman, Walter mm 85 

Balza, Eugene 88 

Baptist, Arnold 88 

Balza, Leopold... „ 88 

Bosman, August J 89 

Baumgartner, Joseph 89 

Bounonville, Herbert 89 

Benning, Chas 90 

Boullion, John B - 92 

Baudhuin, Joseph 93 

Baudhuin, Dennis J... 93 

Beward. Anton 94 

Blair, Niel 96 

Brabazon, Wm 97 

Bagnall, J T 97 

Buchan, Wm 130 

Cornell, John 23 

Cornell, Joseph *. r>| 

Coffey, Thomas 24 

Coffey, Timothy... 24 

Cramer, Martin _ 39 

Colignon, Joseph 39 

Cocagne, Chas. A...._ _ 40 

Chase, Charles M 41 

Campbell, J. A 42 

Carlton, Andrew 42 

Cochems, Mathias 45 

Churches. Samuel 55 

Comble, Lambert... 59 



IV 



TABLE OF CONTENTS. 



PAGE. 

Coco, Ferdinand. 60 

Charles, John B 61 

Cardy, Julius.. 71 

Crass Jacob 73 

Crowley, Ann 76 

Campbell, Joseph 76 

Uarmody, Wm 80 

Carmody, Thomas -- 80 

Carringion, Miles M 84 

Chapman, Isaac - 84 

Collins, Hugh 84 

Chater, John 85 

Collins. John 85 

Collin, Con 85 

Claflin, Wm.. 87 

Connard, John B.. '.. 87 

Connard, John 87 

Coffin, David 89 

Corbisiet, Adolph 89 

Charles, Jacques 90 

Carpiam, Julie 91 

Collard, Martin 91 

Counard, Joseph 91 

Chaudoir, Anton 91 

Counard, Francois. 93 

Colbot, Gustav 93 

Calhoon, J. C.. 97 

Cromwell, N. N. 97 

Daniels, Chris. 39 

Damkoehler, Matilda 40 

Dresser, Olive A 40 

Dewur, Wm 46 

Dreres, Jochin 50 

Darling, Wm 55 

Dennis, Frank 57 

Dewit, Josephine 57 

Delvaux, Celestine 58 

Delvaux, Constant 58 

Daudois, Ettienne ... 58 

Dachelet, Julian 58 

Dewit, Charles 60 

Delfosse, Eugene 60 

Dachelet, Toussain 60 

Devos, Peter 60 

Dedeken, Oliver... 62 

Degardin, Eugene 62 

Dupont, Eugene 62 

Dimond, Patrick 65 

Dickinson, Charles 69 

Donland, Barney ... 69 

Donland, Francis 69 

Daley, John 71 

Daniels, Edward 75 

Donovan, Michael 76 

Dunn, James » 76 

Delmont, G. B 87 

Debroux, Alphor.se 88 

Dockuirr, Johnlambert 88 

Delsipee, Toseph ! 88 

Delsipee, Guillanum 88 

Dury, Isidore 89 



page* 

Dery, Casimier mm g 9 

Dekeyser, Gabriel ----„ 90 

Degrandaggnage, Francois.. ..... QO 

Decamp, Pierri _. 90 

Delwiche, Wm. 



91 

Dubois, Melchior 92 

Dugean, John ""._..""".- 92 

Delfosse, Noel J ____ 92 

Delveau, Francois. ._..._." ...11. 92 

Delfosse, August J 92 

Delfosse, Louis J '___'_ 92 

Delfosse, Eugene. ............ 92 

Dubois, Mary. 93 

Dery, Gasper --.."""""11 93 

Dimond, Thomas 130 

Erickson, Nels """ ". 43 

Englebert, John _"".__". 57 

Elison, John . 64 

Ellis, John 66 

Escher, George. 85 

Erskine, Ben J 86 

Erskine, Link I 86 

Eatougk, Roger.. " 86 

Eichinger, Anton 90 

Evrard, Francois 91 

Evrard, John B 91 

Fuller, EliiahS. 36 

Fuller, Nelson W 39 

Feldmann, Constantine 40 

Fetzer , Job n 49 

Fowels, George 50 

Foster, Joseph 50 

Frv, "Wm.. 541 

Fairchild, C. P 5^ 

Fish, Daniel L _ 5; 

Frank, Alexis _ 5? 

Falk, Vesonir.. 5? 

Francois, Adrien 

Francois, Joseph . 

Flachac, Mathias 62 

Francois, Paschal 

Flemal, Constant 63 

Flemal, Frank - 6s 

Finan, Patrick 63 

Fritz, Peter 67 

Finnegan, Andrew 75] 

Fletcher, James 84, 

Farley, Patrick 87J 

Fabry, Guillaume 95 

Fidler, Frederick 13c 

Garrett, Volney S 2^ 

Goodletson, Goodlet 24I 

Graham, Josephine E 2c 

Goettelmann, John 4 5 

Graass,John P 44l 

Guidener, Anton 50 

Goodletson, Thomas 53J 

Gustavson, Frank 55 

Gaspart, Frank 5 17 

Gillson, Joseph : 5 8 

Gigot, Joseph 59 



TABLE OF CONTENTS 



pagj: 

Gillson, Charles - 60 

Gurlette, John... 60 

Gaspart, Bernard — 6 

Greitner, Anton 63 

Gunderson, H 65 

Gros, Charles 65 

Gormley, Cornelius 69 

Goettelmann, Andrew 7° 

Gillick, Phillip 71 

Garlach, John - 71 

Gillespie, James 76 

Grovogel, Michael 76 

George, John 76 

Graham, Oliver P. 77 

Graham, Dr. David. - 80 

Griffin, Ann T 84 

Goss, Peter 84 

Gigot, Henry 87 

Girondal, Charles go 

Geniess Ghislain 91 

Geulette, Florcnt 93 

Geniesse, Clement 93 

Geivais, Prosper 93 

Gillot, Francois 93 

Hanson, Iver P 26 

Haskell, Chauncey 29 

Hebert, Joseph _ 35 

Harris, Joseph Sr 36 

Hanson, Hans 39 

Hendershott, Betsey 4° 

Houle, David 40 

Hanks, Warren 43 

Hahn, Henry F 43 

Hopp, Alexander _. 43 

Houle, John 43 

Hart, Oscar . 43 

Heilmann, Henry 44 

Hankel, Jacob 49 

Heittiger, Casper 49 

Haves, Marti: 50 

Hanson, Sorer. 52 

Hanson, Henry 52 

Hempel, August 53 

Hogan, John.. 54 

Hautlet, Elois 59 

Herlache, Alexander m 60 

Hanson, James 64 

Hemple, Christian 64 

Hitt, Charles I... 66 

Hitt, Frank 66 

Hitt, Walter 66 

Heald, Engene 66 

Hoslette, John 66 

Horn, Wm. H 68 

Haines, Talleck 69 

Heilmann, Adam 70 

Hennessy, Richard 71 

Hanson, Jacob _ 72 

Hocks, John 75 

Heldmann, Leonard 75 

Hopp, Lucas 76 



PAGE. 

Hurley, John 67 

Hayes, Michael 80 

Hendricks, Adam 83 

Higgins, Allen 85 

Herlache, John B 88 

Henquinet, John. 89 

Holleck, George 90 

Hibbard, P. G. 96 

Hogan, EmanueL 97 

Hunt, Thos. W 130 

Ingebos, Constant 91 

Johnson, Charles 24 

Jacobson, Christian 24 

Johnson L©uis 25 

Jacobs, Philip 31 

Johnson. Ole. 35 

Johnson, Theodore 43 

Johnson, John.. 43 

Johnson, A 45 

Jacobs, H. P 52 

Johnson, Henry C 52 

Jeffcott, Chas 53 

Jones, George. _ 54 

Jarman, Charles 53 

Judd, Josiah 55 

Josephson, Peter 64 

Johnson, Iver 69 

Janisch. A 85 

Jenquinne, Anton 89 

Jenquinne, Charles 89 

Jenquet, Pierre 90 

adin, John B 93 

anbuet, John J. 93 

Janquart, Chas 94 

Jackson, Wm 130 

Kalambach, Godfreid 24 

Kimber, Jesse 34 

Knudson, Henry C 36 

Knudson, Ambrust. 41 

Kruger, Frederick 44 

Keogh, James Sr 46 

Kruger, Michael 47 

Krueger, Samuel _ 48 

Kum, Louis.. 48 

Klamski, Wm.. 48 

Kimple, Conrad 50 

Knudson, Christian 51 

Kill, Nicholas 55 

Kombar. Frank 59 

Kisar, John 6x 

Kroanang, Henry 63 

Kinney, James 71 

Kinney, Edward 71 

Klinkinburg, Capt 72 

King, Wm. 72 

Kemp, Dominick. 76 

Kirtland, N. W 81 

Kilgore, Moses 84 

Kehoe, Michael • 86 

Killorn, Luke 89 

Kirby, Michael 93 



VI 



TABLE OF CONTENTS. 



PAGE. 

Kirtland, P. W____ g 7 

Larson, Christian 25 

Lawrence, Wm. B 30 

Lawrence, Augustus W 31 

Lavassor, Joseph. 31 

Long, John _ 39 

Larch, Peter... 132 

Leonhardt, Chris 41 

Leatham, John 44 

Lockhart, James H 48 

Larsson, Capt. A. 45 

Lawson, Alexander Sr 50 

Leege, Henry 51 

Leege, John 51 

Lockhart, Robert 51 

Larson, Ole L 51 

Lallemont, August 54 

Lechler, Christian 55 

Lundburg, Carl 55 

Lardinois, Peter 5 8 

Lebotte, Antonette 61 

Leelu, Leonard 61 

Lumacy, Joseph 62 

Labedelle, Heubert 62 

Lynhart, James 67 

Langlois, Newel 7 i 

Liest, Paul 71 

Laurie, Robert 72 

Long, Anton 75 

Lyman, Milton E 78 

LaRoy, Wm 81 

Lyman, Thomas L 81 

Lafountain, Ezra. 81 

Lallemont, J. B.. 84 

Labigois, Joseph 88 

Laluzerne, Leopold 88 

Laviolette, Godfrey 89 

Lauzeone, Hubert -- 91 

Larose, Bartholemew 91 

Lempereur, Joseph - 92 

Laduron, Louis... 92 

Leroy, John 130 

Miner, Henry D -. 21 

McDonald, Dennis.. 24 

Marshall, Wm 29 

McLachlan, L. R 33 

Machia, David 41 

Machia, Henry.. 41 

Machia, George. 41 

Marsh. George W 41 

Masse, C. A... - 42 

Matsen, Clement --- 42 

Meikle, Alexander 43 

Meyers, Charles 43 

McEacham, Dr. A 45 

Miller, Peter ----- 48 

Machia, Louis.. - 48 

Machia, Joseph 49 

Matski, Gottfreid 49 

McDermott, Frank. 4Q 

McDermott, Bryan 50 



PAGE. 

McDermott, Thos: 5c 

Miller, Chas. A. B 50 

Marshall, John. _ 53 

Mapes, Stephen 53 

Minor, Martin 53 

McSweeny, Charles. 55 

Mignon, Lewis 57 

Massart, Felix 57 

Massart, Mary E 57 

Massart, John B — 57 

Mohemont, Antoine 57 

Martin, Frank 59 

Maeaux, Felican 60 

Mignon, Nobert 60 

Moore, John : 61 

Miller, Chas 61 

Munier, Alexander 6t 

Metzke, Carl 62 

Metcalf, Andrew 65 

Mackey John 66 

Madoche, Eugene 66 

Madden, John 66 

Millard, P. B 66 

Monoso, Joseph 67 

Masner, Thos 67 

Maloney, Simon. 69 

Mann, John 70 

Monk, fredrick. 70 

Mulverhill, John 70 

Mullane, John 71 

Michaels, Coniad 71 

Murray, John 71 

Michaels, Godlip 71 

Michaels, Godfrey 71 

Meyer, Jo' n 75 

Martin, Henry 75 

Mann, James R. Sr 76 

Miller, Lucas - 76 

Miller, Marcus... 76 

Moore, A. W ~- 76 

Mashall, Ransselar 77 

Maloney, Martin -> 80 

Manna, W. G 80 

Meyers, Geo 86 

McArdle James 86 

Martin, Pierre.. .* 92 

Maxini, Francois 92 

Moore, Margaret 92 

Maloney, John 93 

Moore, Maurice. 93 

Messenger, John C 97 

McDermott, Michael 97 

Marshall, Wm 130 

McCullough, Thos. W i 3l 

Nelson, Peter 25 

Nelson, Andrew 35 

Noble, Robert. 3 6 

Nelson, Iver A 39 

Nelson, Cap. Nels P 40 

Nelson, Paul 41 

Noll, Jacob 44 



TABLE OF CONTENTS. 



VII 



PAGE. 

Nelson, Ever 51 

Nelson, Carl 53 

Norton, John 53 

Norton, Stephen 53 

Naze, Prosper 58 

Naniot, Antoine 50 

Naze, Amond 59 

Nelson, Ole A.... 68 

Neuville, Jacques 87 

Neuville, John B 89 

Ottoson, Louis P. 25 

Olsen. Christian 25 

Olson, Ole P 26 

Olsen, Lesabat B 33 

Olsen, Nels 35 

Oneson, Abraham 51 

Olson, Martin 55 

Olsen, Edward, 67 

Olsen, Osman 67 

O'Hern, Daniel 81 

Olen, J. B. 130 

Olen, Almon P 130 

Peterson, Soren 35 

Peterson Andrew 36 

Post, Henry F 39 

Propsom, Peter 41 

Pinney, Silas .44 

Perry, Richard 46 

Perry. Matt.. 47 

Poplar, Ferdinand 50 

Peterson, Peter 53 

Poppleton, Gyo 5^; 

Patris, Francois 57I 

Pierre, Alexander 61.I 

Fi-tte, Charles 6^ 

Piette, Joseph 61 1 

Phillips, J. L-. 67 

Peterson, Emily. 70 

Pfiester, John 71 1 

Panter, Wm 85' 

Panter, Thos 85 

Peltier, Jerome 89I 

Poriuse, Celesten 93 

Pensis, Gustav g- 

Quertimont, Joseph 58 

Sueamant, Celesten 61 

ueer Boy— Brussels 63 

Rohn, Victor 25 

Reed, D. A 31 

Ryan, John 42 

Rehr, Wm. ._ 44 

Rockwell, N. N 47 

Rupp, John.. 49 

Raymond, Edward S 54 

Raggendoff, John 54 

Reinhardt, Geo 55 

Rouer, Theodore 57 

Rouer, Charles 57 

Rouer, Joseph 57 

Rinse, Alexander 59 

Roger, John 65 



PAGE. 

Roberts, Geo. 66 

Rohan, John 69 

Rittenburg, Michael 80 

Rushford, Antoine 81 

Rowe, Daniel E 84 

Riding, James 85 

Richardson, L. H 86 

Rickey, Edward.. 86 

Riley, Philip 87 

Riley, Edward 87 

Robin, John G 88 

Rabior, Louis 89 

Renard, Francois 92 

Renard, Lambert 92 

Reynolds, Thos 96 

Robinson, Joseph 97 

Severs, Robert 23 

Soucie, Demas.. 25 

Saabye, Hans O _ 25 

Schelswick, Knud O 26 

Schuyler, Henry 35 

Schjoth, Erick T 35 

Sherwood, Albert H... 39 

Stephenson, Septimus 39 

Stephenson, Sartial R 40 

Sorenson, John 40 

Spear, Geo. O 42 

Spear, A.M.. 42 

Scott, Thomas 42 

Spaulsbury, D. D 43 

Sailer, F. X 43 

Smith, Thos. H 44 

Scofield, Chas 44 

Sorenson, Knud 44 

Sampson, Frank A.... 44 

Stoneman, John 46 

Schnider, Anton 48 

Sclies. John 48 

Stich, Philip. - 48 

Seiler, John _ 49 

Sullivan, Janes 50 

Stueber, Wm._ 50 

Schmitz, Martin 51 

Stevens, Myron H _ 53 

Smith, J. A 54 

Stanley, Llenry 56 

Splinger, Florence 58 

Simonds, Eli 61 

Swaboda, Martin 62 

Smith, Wilhelm 65 

Schuyler, Albert J 66 

Spalsbury, J. E 67 

Schuster, Mathias. 68 

Schuemacher, Louis 69 

Schafer, Philip 70 

Simon, John P 70 

Simon, Nicholas 70 

Stcphan, Christopher _ 70 

Seneft. George 70 

Seidemann, Hugo 71 

Solway, Baaka -- 7 2 



VIII 



TABLE OF CONTENTS. 



PAGE. 

Schuyler, Frederick 73 

Stephenson, H. B 73 

Simon, Peter J 75 

Scott, James 84 

Sanderson, Wm.A 85 

Spring, Hugh G 85 

Sloan, John S6 

Stricott, Maria 88 

Sacotte, Florent 88 

Sacotte, Francis 88 

Scofield, Robert 88 

Swado, Michael 89 

Schulz, Anton 90 

Smith, Joseph 97 

Thompson, Carl 25 

Thompson, Anton 30 

Torstenson, Nels 30 

Tnck. Sarah 35 

Thorp, Geo. H 36 

Tong, Job _ 41 

Tauba, Hermann 45 

Theisan, Anton 48 

Thorpe, Asa 51 

Tibonne, Adel 58 

ThOresen, John 64 

Thompson, Moses C 65 

Thayer, Chauncey 67 

Tufts, Alexander 67 

Templeton, Albert 68 

Tansing, Christian. 70 

Templeton, Alexander 75 

Thorp, Levi 78 

Turner, Geo. A 78 

Toseland, Wm 85 

Tellier, Anton - 89 



page. 

Theys, Joseph A.i 93 

Thorpe, J. E _ 94 

Vedder, Christian 55 

Vorous, Levi 55 

Vangindertaelen, Edward.. 57 

Verlee, Anton 62 

Vesta, Knud 68 

Vesta, Nels 68 

Vandergaitte, Guillaume 91 

Wright, J. T 36 

Warren, Albert G 38 

Wester, John 43 

Walski, Michael 49 

Writt, Patrick 49 

Woolar, Ferdinand 49 

Woolf, John 50 

Waters, Patrick 50 

Weburg, Peter. 52 

Wright, Rufus M 54 

Weberg, Ole 56 

Wanthien Gregor 62 

Warren, Wm. H 66 

Wobser, Albert 71 

Williams, Samuel 84 

Williams, Geo 85 

Williams, Wm 85 

Wohltmann, F 86 

Young, Jacob 24 

Zink, Claus 25 

Zastrow, Chas 48 

Zettel, Joseph 50 

Zepherin Ignace 60 

Zettel, Joseph 73 

Zettel, Rudolph 76 




(Lfi d. J4f^^ 



PREFACE. 

In May, 1877, we bought the EXPOSITOR printing establishment, 

and a helping hand was extended to us by the old acquaintances we 

had known ere we entered our 'teens. It was the desire of those good 

old fatherly gentlemen that we write up a history of Door county, and 

publish it in the Expositor. To refuse to comply with their wishes 

would have been unbecoming — even to an editor ; hence we nodded 

— consented. Time rolled by until one fair summer morning, 1880, 

when we set ourselves to work to make good the promise we made 

threeyears previous. For five or six weeks we made it our business to 

do nothing else than roam from town to town, farm to farm, house to 

house — chatting with every one we met, and personally interviewing 

every old settler we came across. At the beginning it was not our 

intention to publish the history in any other form than through the 

columns of the Expositor, but the continued demand for "the sketch 

in book form," changed our first intention. We feel that the work is 

not so complete as it might be, for a portion of it was got out in the 

midst of a political campaign, and the entire publication of it was made 

in vveekly installments in the Expositor before being printed in this 

form. The reader should take into consideration the circumstances, 

and remember that in a work of this kind the author turns his attention 

only to the labor of blending facts into ideas, while the scrutinizer has 

the easy work of turning ideas into criticisms. We give facts and 

figures the preference of flowery sayings, and trust and believe that 

the work will be found to be correct in its narration of events pertaining 

to the county, and hope that it may be read with interest by those into 

whose hands it may come. Respectfully, 

THE AUTHOR. 
Sturgeon Bay, April, 1881. 



BRIEF 
HISTORY OF DOOR COUNTY. 



SHORT SKETCH OF WISCONSIN, 

^ 

It is an old, and probable true saying, that "all things have 
a beginning and ending." As a commencing point for a brief 
history of Door county, it may be but just to briefly touch 
upon the organization of the State Door county now belongs to. 

Under Territorial government, the first session of the first 
Legislative Assembly convened at Belmont, Iowa county, Oc- 
tober 25th, 1836, and adjourned December 9th, same year. 
Henry S. Baird, of Brown, was president of the Council. 

The first Constitutional convention assembled at Madison 
October 5th, 1846, and adjourned on the 16th day of December, 
same year; having framed a constitution, which was submit- 
ted to a vote of the people on the first Tuesday in April, 1847, 
and the same was rejected. A. J. Upham, of Milwaukee, was 
president. A second Constitutional convention assembled at 
Madison December 15th, 1847, and adjourned on the 1st of 
February, '48; having framed a Constitution which was sub- 
mitted to a vote of the people on the second Monday in March 
following, and the same was adopted. 

TERRITORIAL GOVERNORS. 

The following are the names of the Territorial Governors of 
Wisconsin :— Henry Dodge, appointed by President Andrew 



4 BOUNDRY, ETC. OF DOOR COUNTY. 

Michigan. In 1823, Wisconsin was made part of a separate 
judicial circuit, and in 1836, was organized as a territory, with 
Henry Dodge as governor. On the 29th day of May, 1848, Wis- 
consin became a State in the Union, being the seventeenth 
admitted, and the thirtieth in the list of states. Wisconsin, 
though one of the youngest states in the Union, already 
ranks among the foremost in its public institutions. For 
its educational advantages, it is largely indebted to the 
munificence of Congress in donating lands for the support of 
common schools, a state university, normal schools and an 
agricultural college. 



DOOR COUNTY. 



Door County was the fifteenth division of the State into 
counties; or, in other words, as the State gradually became 
divided up into counties, Door came fifteenth among the early 
divisions, and is bounded as follows: "Beginning on the west 
shore of Lake Michigan, where the south line of township 26 
intersects Lake Michigan; running thence west on the town- 
ship line to the* center of Green Bay; thence northeasterly 
along the center of the main channel of Green Bay to the 
boundary line between the State of Michigan and State of 
Wisconsin to a point in Lake Michigan, where the east and 
west line on the south side of township 26, extended easterly, 
would intersect the eastern boundary of the State of Wiscon- 
sin; and from thence west to the place of beginning. ,, 

Door county is some 60 or 70 miles in length, and averaging, 
perhaps, 10 miles wide—varying in width from 4 to 18 miles, 
and is a peninsula running northeast and southwest; the 
north and west shores being washed and purified by the clear 
waters of Green Bay, while the east shore borders on, and is 
rinsed by the crystal waters of Lake Michigan. The proxim- 
ity of the lake, the waters of which remain open throughout 
the year, exercise great power in equalizing the temperature; 
of course reducing it in the summer and cooling the extreme 
heat of the mid-summer sun, and acts as a balance in avoid- 
ing the extreme low temperature of winter — the lowest range 



A MYSTERY, 5 

of the thermometer being about the same as that in the south- 
ern part of the State, two hundred miles farther south. 

The county was heavily timbered with various species of 
wood. Of the hard woods there was Beech, the various kinds 
of Maple, white and black Ash; red, white, and blue Oak, 
Iron wood, Elm, etc. Of the soft woods, Pine, Hemlock, Cedar, 
Basswood, Spruce, Balsam Fir, Tamarack, Poplar, etc., were 
abundant. For manufacturing and ship building purposes, 
perhaps no place in the Northwest equalled what is now Door 
county for furnishing timber. For the largest variety of tim- 
ber and shrubs, our evergreen and forest tree dealers have 
scattered broadcast the fact that no section in America is 
equal to this peninsula. 

A MYSTERY. 

That this section of the State was settled to a meagre extent 
long years before any record is given by history, is pretty gen- 
erally believed. Since the work began of cutting and using 
the large growth of timber, there are several places in this 
section where leaden bullets have been extracted from near 
the heart of large trees— said bullets being covered with from 
138 to 171 rim layers or season's growth of the timber; which 
would indicate that the bullets had been entombed from 138 
to 171 years. At the best, it is a query as to the date the bul- 
lets were serviceable, and we'll leave the matter for our read- 
ers to ponder over. Another matter that is worthy of men- 
tion, is the small mounds so numerous throughout this sec- 
tion. These small mounds look like the hills in the Southern 
States hoed around the roots of the mammoth corn grown in 
that locality. What was grown in the small hills or mounds 
in this section is only surmise work, but that something was 
cultivated is evident. In some parts of the county there 
are patches containing many acres where these small mounds 
or hills are quite regular, and average from i'M to 6 feet each 
way, from center to center of the mounds. From Washington 
Island, the extreme northern part of the county, to the towns 
of Union and Brussels on the extreme southern boundary, said 
hills or mounds may be numerously seen in patches. In every 
instance, where these mounds are most numerous, large forest 



6 THE FIRST WHITE SETTLER. 

trees are now growing; the trees apparently being from 50 to 
150 or more years old, which would indicate that if the mounds 
were once utilized for agricultural purposes, that it was gen- 
erations ago. As with the leaden bullets, we will leave the 
matter for our readers to carefully investigate and solve as 
their own ideas may dictate. While certain theories might 
possibly bear one out in forming an idea that this was once a 
mild climate, it is also evident that there are indications that 
it was once the extreme reverse. Even withia the past ten or 
twelve years, large sugar maple trees were not a few that 
showed cuts or "taps" six to eight feet from the ground, 
which would go to show that longer ago than memory now 
reaches, snow falls of great depth must have visited this re- 
gion, and the harvest of the maple sugar crop (which was 
probably attended to by the Indians, or a white people of 
which we can find no record) was far more difficult than at the 
present time. We also leave this matter with our readers, 
which may be set down as quandary No. 3. 

THE FIRST WHITE SETTLER OF THE COUNTY. 

INDIANS—DARK AND BRICxHT DAYS. 

The first white settler of any record, inside the boundaries 
of what is now Door county, was a man by the name of 
Increase Claflin, who located on what is now known as Little 
Sturgeon point. He came thither March 19th, 1835. At that 
date this was an unsurveyed country, and was a wilderness in 
every sense of the word. Like all new and unsettled portions 
of the West (in fact, like all portions of America), this was a 
country inhabited by the Indians. A number of the tribes 
that roamed this section at a very early date, had gone to their 
"long sleep/' or been driven farther west by the Chippewa 
and Menominee tribes, who held the sway when Mr. Claflin 
located. The "Chips." and "Menoms.," as they were termed, 
were certainly true-blood Indians, yet they were peaceable, 
greasy, and lazy. At the very first the Indians were perfectly 
satisfied that Mr. Claflin should settle, but when he had got 
nicely to work, they changed their minds, and decided to 
drive him away. He was informed of their intention, but Mr. 



DARK AND BRIGHT DAYS. 7 

C. was a man of grit, and only proposed to leave the country 
when death took command of him. The Indians were in- 
formed of his intention, and probably were somewhat tamed 
by his determined will, for they then offered to "forever let 
him have peace," if he would pay them what was estimated to 
be about $500. This proposition Mr. C. also declined, and then 
the copper-colored men were in for war— the whole tribe 
against two men, viz: Mr. Claflin and his hired man. The 
chief and his warriors promptly visited Mr. C.'s quarters and 
made their demands, which were squarely refused. The chief 
said: "Then we make war, and will kill you!" Mr. C. said he 
did not want war, but instead wished that they would smoke 
with him the "pipe of peace," to which request the Indians 
rejected. "Then," said Mr Claflin, "we'll have war! but allow 
me to treat you before we begin," and he walked into his cabin 
and brought out a keg, with a tin cup over the bung-hole. 
The keg was placed in the centre of a ring they had formed. 
He then brought forth a fire brand, and asked them: "Are you 
ready for your treat?" "What is in the keg?" asked the chief. 
"Powder!" answered Mr. C. "What are you going to do with 
the powder?" inquired the chief, "going to blow all of you 
to h— II" retorted Mr. C. There was a lively scattering of In- 
dians, such, we suppose, as we have after a political conven- 
tion in these days of civilization! The result, too, was about 
the same; for the "warriors" fled, and did not show themselves 
again for more than two weeks ; and when they did put in an 
appearance, they were willing to smoke, and be peaceable. 
Mr. Claflin had many minor skirmishes with the Indians, and 
often got in close quarters, but always held his ground and 
ruled his own cabin. In the year 1844, or nine years after he 
first settled at Little Sturgeon, Mr. Claflin moved to Fish 
Creek— some claiming that he was the first settler in that 
section, where he resided up to the time of his death, in the 
year 1868. At the time of his death he was supposed to be 83 
years old. His wife, Mrs. Mary A. Claflin, died in September, 
1873, and was supposed to be 80 years of age. Reminiscencies 
from the children of this old couple and pioneer settlers of 
Door county, will appear elsewhere in the make-np of this 



8 HISTORY OF DOOR COUNTY. 

history. Among other observations of early date, handed 
down from Mr. Claflin to his near relatives, he, also, notices 
the hills or mounds we referred to in the first part of this 
chapter. He stated that in 1835, when he first settled, that 
there were acres of the mounds in the vicinity of what is now 
known as the town of Gardner; that large timber, perhaps a 
hundred or more years old, grew thrifty all over the entire 
patch, showing that it was once a cultivated field — that it was 
generations before the year 1835. In one or two idcidents an 
old Indian chief claimed that in the days of his forefather 
this section was inhabited by the whites, but that they were 
all killed—not even one being left to tell the tale. The as- 
sertion does not seem to be backed up by anything like even 
a shadow of authority, and hence is not worthy of considera- 
tion. However, Mr. CHaflin's relatives now living, state that 
when he, Claflin, came in '35, that the old walls of a cabin, 
rotted to the ground, was visible, and other indications of civ- 
ilized habitations of early date were noticeable. 

After the first settler made good his stay, one after another 
planted "their all" in this section, and the whites soon gained 
a foot-hold that could not be broken by the natives. With cour- 
age and common sense brought up as breast-works, the white 
force soon began to get too strong for the then numerous 
Chippewas and Menominees, and they gradually followed the 
setting sun— many being claimed by death, and their bones 
laid to rest where they once hunted deer and bear; oth- 
ers joined different tribes, and the once strong tribes are now 
almost extinct in this locality. But by no means with the 
dwindling of the Indian plague, did all other hardships van- 
ish. Even after clearings had been made, and a crop raised, 
it was no small job to get it to market. Green Bay, 50 miles 
distant, was the nearest place for "trading," and the trip had 
to be made by going through the woods, or coasting on the 
water in a small open boat. The trip by water was perilous; 
the overland route dangerous, for at the date the county first 
began to settle, there were no roads cut out. At times it was 
a close contest between starvation and human endurance. 
One old settler informs us that he once got so close run for 



BRIEF REVIEW OF THE COUNTY. 9 

food in Door county that he had nothing to eat for two days 
but basswood buds— a thing only to be endured when human 
nature is put to the rack of necessity, and chooses between the 
last resources of life or "forever be at peace." But the pioneer 
settlers were not so particular what they had to eat; but what 
they could digest, and gain strength. With new strength 
they gained courage, and with courage they were able to en- 
dure most any sort of hardship. Gradually the light of better 
days began to dawn, and the county began to shoot forward 
and grow more vigorously, until now from this geographical 
focus will radiate the diffusive light of intelligence and ad- 
vancement until our light will shine and be seen all over the 
Northwest. 

* 

A BRIEF REVIEW OF THE COUNTY. 

As before stated, this was, and is still, to a great extent, a 
timbered country. The surface is generally undulating— per- 
fectly level sections being but few; yet, on the other hand, 
there is no rise of ground or bluff in the county of sufficient 
height to be called a mountain. The soil is generally a clay 
loam, occasionally interspersed with soils more or less mixed 
with sand. Scattered through the county, and in every town- 
ship there is more or less of what is known as bottom lands, 
of alluvial deposits of the richest black soil. The up lands 
generally rest on a foundation of lime-stone rock, and when 
cleared, well adapted to farming. 

Water.— Door county, throughout, is well watered with 
numerous creeks, which furnish an abundance of water for 
the traveling public, and gives ample supply for stock. 
Springs of pure, living water, are abundant. 

Roads.— Roads have been opened into every settlement in 
the County; the main or State roads leading to little towns or 
markets, are well worked, and liberal appropriations are made 
to keep them in repair; and new roads are being rapidly opened 
and improved as settlement may demand. A large amount of 
wild land yet remains vacant along the "side" roads, and a 
good deal of land is still unsettled and vacant along the main 
or State roads. 



10 HISTORY OF DOOR COUNTY. 

The Log House.— The first great object of a new settler is to 
provide a house for himself, and if married, for his wife and 
children. Nowhere can this be done more quickly, cheaply, 
and at the same time more substantially, than in Door county. 
The native forest trees, medium in circumference and tall, 
such as have waved and nodded in the breeze of summer, and 
braved the cold and sleet of winter for a century or more, 
afford excellent material for houses, barns, fences, etc. The new 
settler, with his axe, can easily fell the sturdy trees, and pre- 
pare them in proper shape for a building. His neighbors will 
gather, and cordially help roll up the logs, and by night the 
main walls of a substantial house or barn is completed. With 
the axe "shakes" (long, thin, flat strips used as a substitute for 
shingles) can be split from the straight-grained cedar or pine, 
and thus is prepared a covering or roof for the building. The 
same tool (an axe) is also serviceable in prepairing timber for a 
floor. The house is made comfortable for winter by filling all 
openings with moss and plastering with clay mixed with twigs 
of live wood. Such is the building of a house in Door county, 
that for comfort is equal, and for warmth excels many of the 
city mansions that cost as many thousands as the log cabin 
costs dollars. The log cabins continue to be built in this 
county, and will be "fashionable" for years to come. Many of 
the old or early settlers, both from the Old World and Eastern 
States, who came to Door county from ten to thirty years ago, 
lived in houses as described above. In fact, some of the 
pioneers live in their old or first house yet. Others, who were 
more energetic, after a few years residence in the county be- 
came in good circumstances, and have abandoned their first 
houses that in some instances were minus windows, and 
allowed the old structures to decay and waste away, while they 
inhabit more pretentious buildings. The cheapness of lumber, 
manufactured close by, and the many ledges of limestone for 
foundation purposes, easily accessible and cheap, have been 
united with mechanical skill and now the county is dotted 
with hundreds of complete and beautiful houses. 

Lumbering.— The most important branch of our manufac- 
turing business for nearly a quarter of a century, has been 



BRIEF REVIEW OF THE COUNTY. 11 

lumbering. During the winter seasons of years gone by, a 
large portion of our citizens busied themselves in the woods, 
felling the monumental pine that has born aloft its unfading 
crown of green for hundreds of years, and whose doleful 
strains of music have been heard by all who have visited 
lumbering camps. The "farmer lumberman" did not confine 
the cut solely to saw logs, but engaged in cutting cord wood, 
railroad ties, telegraph poles, fence posts, etc., for which he 
found a ready sale— sometimes reaping a good profit, and 
sometimes the reverse. At any rate, a large number devoted 
their winters to the work of clearing up their farms and sel- 
ling the timber thus cut down. During the summer the logs 
were rafted to mill and manufactured into lumber, the main 
portion of which was shipped by vessel to the Chicago market. 
The lumbering operations, of course, furnished the best kind 
of a market for all kinds of farm products. Hay always 
brought a good price, while oats, corn, wheat, etc., brought 
better prices than in any other part of the State. Of late 
years the farmer has more particularly turned his atten- 
tion to the clearing up of his land, and he profits thereby. The 
winter harvest of wood, ties, posts, etc., is still good, but the 
log cut on this peninsula is yearly growing less, and now the 
leading lumber companies of this county, have built them- 
selves large and powerful tugs to tow logs from the West side 
of Green Bay waters to furnish their mills. The logs are cut 
in the country along the Peshtigo and Menominee rivers or 
their tributaries. The main lumber firm of the county is The 
Sturgeon Bay Lumber Company. The Secretary of the Com- 
pany, Mr. A. W. Lawrence, who came to Door county a poor 
man, and worked by the month, has, step by step, with the 
growth of the county, worked up to his present high position. 
Messrs. Scofield & Co., the leading shingle manufacturers, and 
probably most extensive shingle dealers in the State, are a 
company of workers. Mr. Chas. Scofield (head of the firm) 
knows what it is to swing an axe in the woods on small 
monthly pay. Mr. John Leatham, also of the firm, took his 
first lessons in milling at packing shingles by the thousand. 
Mr. Thos. H. Smith, third member of the firm, first served as 



12 HISTORY OF BOOR COUNTY. 

machinest. Thus, the firm is composed of practical men, 
hence the success of the Company. The Messrs. Spear, who 
are the largest manufacturers inWisconsin of long timber, are 
men who well know what hard work is, and by hard work have 
built up their present large and profitable business. There 
are a number of other small mills in the county operated on 
a minor basis. 

Manufactures. — In the direction of manufactories, Door 
county has, as yet, made but little advance, although, sooner or 
later, various branches will certainly be located within these 
borders. The vast growth of timber, too small for profitable 
lumbering purposes, extends inducements for different manu- 
facteries that must, in the near future, be accepted by capi- 
talists, and yield them a fortune. 

Rail Roads.— Although, on several occasions, a railroad 
running to this county has been much talked of, the project 
was never very warmly supported by the denizens in this 
county. Door county is peculiarly located, being a peninsula 
arm-shaped — long and narrow. Our water facilities are un- 
equalled—shipping piers dotting the coast every few miles. 
Shipping by vessel or steamer is always cheaper than railroad 
freights — hence, nature has given this County better trans- 
portation than could be afforded by the iron horse that travels 
on rails. 

Mails, Express, and Traveling Facilities.— From Stur- 
geon Bay, the county seat, mails and express makes daily con- 
nections with railroad routes at Green Bay. All over the 
county but a few miles apart, are established post-offices, con- 
veniently located for settlements and settlers. Mail matters 
are carried to the post offices by stage lines, and parties 
desiring to reach any part of the county, can secure passage in 
the mail coaches at reasonably low prices. In the summer 
time, there are passenger steamers that stop at Sturgeon Bay, 
going to Green Bay, Menominee, and other Bay ports. The 
Goodrich Transportation Company, of Chicago, run two large 
steamers on this route, thus affording direct, comfortable, and 
cheap transportation to and from Chicago, as well as other 
lake ports. 



BRIEF REVIEW OF THE COUNTY. 13 

School Facilities.— The system of free schools, which has 
attained such a vigorous growth in the United States, is well 
developed in this county. Every town is provided with school 
houses according to the density of the populatien, and each 
settlement has its school houses in close proximity. Each 
year the number of school houses is increasing, and the 
facilities for a thorough education broadening. Every settler 
in the county with children, has a chance to send them to a 
free school, where they can receive an education sufficient for 
the ordinary purposes of life. 

Religious. — The various Protestant denominations, as well 
as the large following of the Roman Catholic belief, have 
churches scattered throughout the county, and as the popula- 
tion increases, of course more churches will be built. Among 
the buildings are a good many handsome frame churches; 
some brick structures, and not a few comfortable log build- 
ings. 

Crops.— Door county is well adapted to the raising of wheat, 
oats, barley, rye, buckwheat, and other grains. Potatoes, 
pumpkins, squashes, turnips, beets, and all root crops, gener- 
ally yield a rich return to the farmers. The different kinds of 
tame grasses are profitably grown, and the hay finds ready sale. 

Fruits.— Experiments with cultivated fruits have been very 
successful, but a few years hence, a more extended and correct 
essay can be written on this subject. However, our farmers 
are investing quite liberally in fruit trees; their former pur- 
chases having grown to fine, thrifty trees, bearing such fruit 
as apples, pears, plums, crab-apples, grapes, etc. The present 
year peaches have been successfully grown in different parts 
of the county, and in some instances the fruit was equal to 
that grown in peach-growing districts farther South. All 
kinds of berries grow in profusion — either in the wild or cul- 
tivated state; one variety following another. First comes the 
grand strawberries, next red and black raspberries, then the 
nourishing blue-berry, followed by the palatable blackberry, 
and ending with the healthy cranberries (both high and low 
bush varieties) which last until strawberries ripen again. 
The position of this county, between two large bodies of water, 



14 HISTORY OF DOOR COUNTY. 

is claimed to be peculiarly favorable to fruit, and the many 
thriving orchards in the county, would seem to be good wit- 
nesses to our facilities for fruit growing. 

Pork Raising. — Raising hogs is not so extensively carried 
on here, as in corn-growing districts, but what are raised 
are profitable. During the summer and fall hogs fatten on the 
products of the forest, first on the tender shoots from the 
ground in early summer, and second, as the season advances, 
upon acorns, beech-nuts, herbs and nutritious roots. When 
winter arrives, kill and dress the surplus for market. Thus, 
pork can be cheaply raised here, and brings much better prices 
than in a corn and so-called pork-raising country. In a 
locality like this, where extensive operations are carried on 
during the winter, pork is the staple meat; hence it is always 
in demand. 

Sheep Frugality. — During the very early settlement of the 
county, sheep-husbandry was an up-hill business, lambs and 
even old sheep being carried off or killed by wolves and other 
wild beasts of the forest. But as the county has settled up, 
the vicious animals of the forest have gradually become less 
in number, and sheep raising is now fast gaining prominence. 
This climate is healthy for sheep, and they are not so liable to 
disease as in Southern localities. The variety of grasses, 
shrubbery, and herbs growing in the woods and clearings is 
excellent for sheep, and they can run early and late in the 
season, thereby reducing the cost of wintering them. There 
is always a good demand for mutten as food, and the yield of 
wool is greater than in a warm country. 

Maple Sugar.— When the county first began to settle up, 
the harvest of maple sugar and syrup was immense. The 
large forests of sugar maple enabled the new settler to put in 
a few days' work in the early spring, and busy himself while 
the snow was melting off. With an axe he could tap the trees, 
and the same instrument was all that was necessary to make 
spuds and troughs to catch the sap as it ran from the trees. 
The sap was generally boiled down to syrup in large kettles 
conveniently stationed in the "sugar bush." The sap reduced 



BRIEF REVIEW OF THE COUNTY. 15 

to syrup, in most cases was taken "home" to the log house 
to be sugared off into cakes. Thus were the early days of 
spring improved in the wilds of Door county, and the indus- 
trious pioneer not only made his own supply of sugar and 
syrup, but had a quantity to sell to those who were in the 
habit of purchasing adulterated sugar from the southern dis- 
tricts. As the county has settled up, and the farmers' means 
increased, of course, with the. loss of the sugar maple, the 
sugar harvest has materially diminished; yet, there are still 
many parties in the county who make their usual harvest of 
the pure nouritious, home made maple sugar. 

Fishing.— The large bodies of water on either side of the 
peninsula, were, years ago, great fishing grounds, and to 
catch the fish, furnished employment to a large number of 
men. The Messrs. Clark, who located at Whitefish Bay about 
forty years ago, were the pioneer fishermen of particular 
prominence. The catch by the Messrs. C, were of excellent 
quality, and soon built up a good name for the Messrs. Clark 
at the fish market; their brand generally rating No. 1 straight, 
and it was no uncommon thing for ten to fifteen fish to make 
a half barrel. The Messrs. Clark have always kept ahead, and 
are still the leading fishermen in the county. Since first es- 
tablished, these gentlemen have paid a tax and percentage of 
over $20,000 on their property. While fishing, like the wild- 
ness of the country, has gradually diminished, the catch is 
still far greater than home consumption. "Sturgeon," the 
largest fish caught in these waters, are dressed and generally 
cut into large strips, and smoked. The sturgeon is a peculiar 
fish, looking somewhat like a creek "sucker," has dark skin; 
is as destitute of scales as a man's face ; varies in length from 
two to nine feet— the average being about four or five feet— and 
there is not a bone in its body. What is called the back-bone 
is a large grizzle that can be easily cut with a knife. The 
sturgeon often grows to great weight, and it is a powerful fish 
in the water— the flesh is of a beautiful rich yellowish tint, 
and if properly cooked, is grand eating beyond description. 
Trout and whitefish, however, are the main fish for salting 
purposes, and have a standard price in the market. 



16 HISTORY OF DOOR COUNTY. 

We might continue to enumerate and comment on the main 
features relating to this county, and write columns upon the 
past and future, but we dare not write all, lest we should seem 
to exaggerate, therefore we shall turn our attention somewhat 
in another direction. Mention might be made of scores of men 
in the county who came here poor — many not even able to 
speak the English language. To-day they are influential and 
respected citizens, and are owners of stores, hotels, manufac- 
turing establishments; filling our public offices, and upon 
some of our best farms. We cannot mention their names 
here, but will try and give a brief biography of most of them, 
from time to time, before we finish this sketch of Door county. 
Before we enter upon the facts concerning the organization 
of the county, we deem this a proper place for, and will 
publish a letter from Mr. H. N. McCleary, formerly of this 
county, but now living in Dakota Territory. 



•*» 



MR. McCLEARY'S LETTER. 

"Gary, Dakota Territory, ) 

September 25th, 1880. j 

FRIEND MARTIN: I see, in perusing the columns of your worthy 
paper, that you have been out on a 'prospecting' tour, preparatory to 
getting up a history of Door County, Wisconsin; said history to be 
published free, in the columns of the Expositor ; that you wished 
every one that had any interest there, or ever had, to contribute their 
mite in writing about the early data of the county. Upon the whole, 
I think, inasmuch as you seem to be willing to shoulder the whole 
expense, it is nothing more than right that every one that can, should 
respond. 

In the fall of 1861, November the 20th, my father-in-law, Mr. 
Solomon Shaft'stall, and myself, landed on the banks of Sturgeon Bay. 
Mr. E. S. Fuller took us, and four other men, across the bay in a 
boat I should think the dimensions of which were 10 feet long, 16 
inches wide, and 4 inches deep. It seemed to me that the boat was 
three inches lower than the water. Nevertheless, we were safely 
landed on the Sturgeon Bay side, where we found food enough to eat 
— and some to spare — at Mr. D. Houle's tavern. The village of 
Sturgeon Bay, at that time, if my memory serves me right, was a city 
of some twenty-four houses. Soren Peterson's store, three saw mills 
(none of them doing business) the building where the Advocate is pub- 
lished, and a log building called the Moravian church, was about the 
make-up of Sturgeon Bay. At that time you could get a little of the 



MR. MC CLEARY'S LETTER. 17 

"Oh! be joyful" at Mr. Houle's, and a "drop of the crature" at 
Fuller's. 

Mr. Shaffstall and myself engaged Mr. A. G. Warren to show us 
our land. He kindly took us to his house, on the West side of the 
bay, and kept us over night. The next day he escorted us to our land. 
The date was November 2 1st, and it rained all day; that night it 
snowed, and in the morning there was twenty inches of snow on the 
ground. I became disgusted with the country, and returned to 
Beaver Dam, Wisconsin — Mr. Shaft's tall stopping at Little Sturgeon 
for the winter. In the spring of '62, I thought better of the matter, 
and with my wife, returned to Sturgeon Bay to find everything lovely 
and lively 

The fall of '64, on the 2d day of October, was made memorial by 
the arrival of ye worthy editor, accompanied by his mother, Mrs. 
Ceclia Desdemona Martin, and his aunt Mrs. Lurana Shaftstall. When 
the steamer Queen City, managed by Capt. Jacobs, landed in front of 
the village, then ye editor turned to his aunt and asked: "Where is 
the town?" in reply to which she answered: "Right here!" Then ye 
editor shoved his little hands down into his little pants pockets, and 
said: "Well! that's a great town!" Little did he think then, that he 
would at this day and age of the world be running a newspaper in said 
town, with no one to keep his secrets, and no one to tell his joys to — 
an old bachelor. But time has rolled on and years have swept by. 
The growth of Sturgeon Bay has not been of a spasmodic nature, but 
one of steady growth, until it is now one of the business towns of 
Northern Wisconsin. 

In the early days we used to hear Mr. Joseph Harris, Sr„ talk of a 
canal across the Portage. We used to consider such talk useless, but 
owing to Mr. Harris' untiring energy, the end has been accomplished, 
and vessels run from Sturgeon Bay to Lake Michigan by means of a 
ship canal. 

For a timbered country, Door county is unsurpassed in America. 
I removed from there in the spring of 1868. Truly, 

H.N. McClf.ary. 



ORGANIZATION OF THE COUNTY. 
Door county was organized in 1851, and attached to Manito- 
woc county for judicial purposes; the county seat being fixed 
in that part of the county now included in Bailey's Harbor. 
At the point where the county seat was fixed, there were no 
buildings whatever, except "God's first Temples" —the groves; 
the wild native forests. In 1855 the county was detached 
from Manitowoc county, and attached to Brown county, for 
judicial purposes. The first meeting of the Board of Super- 
visors, of which there is any record, was held on the 11th day 



18 HISTORY 01 DOUR COUNTY. 

of November, 1856, in "God's first Temples" at the county seat. 
The County Board consisting of A. G. Warren, Chairman; and 
W. H. Warren and John Garland, justices of the peace, appoint- 
ed Joseph Harris, Sr., clerk protein. 

The business done at this meeting was very short and 
conclusive. It simply consisted of instructing the clerk to 
procure, at the expense of the county, books, stationery, and 
other things needed by himself and Register of Deeds. Real 
estate transfers had been, at that time, all recorded iii Man- 
itowoc and Brown counties. New record books had to be 
procured, and these records all copied at the expense of the 
new (Door) county. It is proper and just to remark here that 
Mr. Joseph Harris, Sr., was the mainspring that set all the 
machinery of the new organization in motion, and upon him 
devolved the greater part of the labor and responsibility. 

The meeting adjourned to meet at Sturgeon Bay as soon as 
practicable. The next meeting was at Sturgeon Bay, Novem- 
ber 10th, 1857. At this meeting no members of the county 
Board were present, except H. Schuyler, chairman of the town 
of Otumba. The chairman of Washington (the only other 
town organized in the county) not being present, Mr. Schuyler 
and clerk Harris adjourned to Washington Island to meet the 
chairman of that town there. The Washington Island meet- 
ing met on the 5th day of December, '57. The Board organized 
by electing Henry Schuyler, of the town of Otumba, chairman 
of the County Board. 

The first levy and equalization of taxes was made at this 
meeting, the value of lands being fixed at $3 per acre for 
improved lands; $2.50 for unimproved, and $6 for pine lands. 

It was resolved that Chamber's Island, and Islands No. 1, 2, 
3 and 4, and Hat Island, and all the tiers of townships extend- 
iag north of the town line of Otumba, except Washington 
Island, be organized into one township under the name of 
Gibraltar. Forestville was also set off at this meeting, 
embracing also the territory now included in the town of Clay 
Banks; all the rest of the county being included in the town 
Otumba. 

Henry Schuyler was appointed county surveyor to fill 



ORIGIN OF "DEATH'S DOOR." 19 

vacancy— he having been elected to that office in the general 
election of 1856, but having failed to qualify in the time 
required by law. 

A resolution was adopted that $2.50 per head be allowed as 
bounty for the destruction of wolves in Door county, Later 
the bounty was raised to $3. This law has never been 
rescinded in the county, though the scarcity of wolves in this 
section at the present day makes it a law of but little or no 
value. 

At this meeting county orders were issued — probably the 
first in the county- -to amount of about $320. 

The next meeting of the county board was held the following 
February, and the town of Brussels was set off, consisting of 
the present towns of Brussels, Gardner, and Union, and was 
organized the following spring. 

The first meeting of the chairmen of the several town 
boards of Door county met in Otumba on the 30th day of 
August, 1858. The meeting was short, and the main work 
was the resolution appropriating $130 to be expended in 
opening and working the Green Bay and Sturgeon Bay State 
Road: the amount appropriated to be paid in county orders as 
soon as theChairman of the Board was sati sfled that said work 
had been done in a proper manner. 

As we have now given a brief sketch of the early government 
which gradually set the county upon its present basis of 
advancement, we will now turn our attention to the organiza- 
tion of the several towns, taking them in the order they were 
organized, and give a short biographical sketch of the men 
now living in these towns who have been in the county 10 or 
more years. 

The town of Washington was the first organized town in the 
county, and in going there to gather facts for this history, we 
had occasion to cross that passage of water so widely known 
as "Death's Door," and right here is probably a suitable place 
to comment on the origin of 

DEATH'S DOOR. 

The name "Death's Door" or Port du mort has its origin in 
an Indian tradition, which is probably founded in fact. Some 



20 HISTORY OF DOOR COUNTY. 

two hundred years ago Washington Island was the head- 
quarters of the Pottawottamie Indians. Here was their home, 
and about the harbors and bays of the islands, their fishing 
grounds. Just across, upon the main land, was their princi- 
pal hunting ground. Crossing from the island in their canoes, 
they secured plenty of deer for meat and moccasins; an 
intrusion upon these hunting grounds by any other Indian 
tribe was at once resisted, and many bleody battles were 
fought near the lower end of the peninsula. On the occasion 
to which the tradition refers, the Chippewas had been for 
some time killing gams upon the peninsula, and every effort 
to drive them away had proved futile. Finally the Pottawat- 
tamies determined to make a final and bloody effort to drive 
the invaders off. They mustered every brave in the tribe able 
to draw a bow or throw a tomahawk; every canoe belonging 
to the tribe was brought into service to take them over. The 
flotilla of birch bark started on its expedition of death, one 
August afternoon, embarking at the westerly side of Detroit 
Island, and attempting to cross to the main land, preparatory 
to making an attack under the cover of the night upon the 
camp of the Chippewas. When about one half way across the 
"Door," a "white squall," such as is common in those regions, 
rushed down from the bluffs of the main land, struck the fleet 
and upset the canoes, drowning every able-bodied man 
of the Pottawattamie tribes. That passage of water was called 
in the Indian language the Door of Death. The missionaries 
rendered it in French " Pott du mart' which, in English, gives us 
"Death's Door." The dead bodies of the drowned braves were 
driven ashore upon Detroit Island at the place of embarkation. 
A place was cleared at this point, and all were buried there; 
but the burial was very shallow probably owing to there being 
no able-bodied men left in the tribe to do the work. Several 
persons now living in Door county have visited this burying 
ground, and report that no longer than fifteen or twenty years 
ago many human bones could be seen sticking out of the grass 
and lying upon the surface of the ground. The Indians sup- 
po3ed the squall to be the breath of an evil spirit which resided 
in the bluff from whence the squall came; hence they called 



WASHINGTON— FIRST ORGANIZED TOWN. 21 

it Skillagalee (Evil Sfint) point. The remnant of the Potta- 
wattamies soon left the Island. The story soon became known 
among all the tribes in this region, and all believed that the 
"Evil Spirit" was disposed to take vengence upon all Indians 
coming upon the Islands. For this reason Indians are never 
or hardly ever found upon any of the Islands of the Door. The 
Island was called Pottawattamie Island until it became set- 
tled by the fishermen, who named it Washington Island. 



WASHINGTON— FIRST ORGANIZED TOWN. 
Washington (formerly called Pottawattamie) Island, was the 
first organized town in the present make-up known as Door 
county. Amos. Sanders got the Island called Washington 
township, in 1849, and at that date Washington, and all the 
little islands skirting that vicinity, in Wisconsin, were a por- 
tion of Brown county. When Washington was organized into 
a town, Amos. Sanders was made the first Chairman; H. D. 
Miner, clerk; John A. Boon, justice. Though not densely pop- 
ulated, under the government of these gentlemen Washing- 
ton Island had a good, and, under the circumstances, a thrifty 
growth. It was Mr. Saunders that opened the first store in the 
settlement; the first keeper of the Pottawattamie (now Rock 
Island) light was David E. Corbin, in 1836; Miss Larson, at 
West Harbor, in 1853 taught the "young idea" (in a select 
school) how to shoot at an educational mark; while Dr. Wm. 
Ellis, now on the bleak prairies of Washington Territory, was 
in 1848 administering medicine to a very limited number of 
patients in the healthy locality of Washington Island. 

The following is a short biography of the men now living 
on Washington Island, who have been in the county ten or 
more years: 

1828 was the year Henry D. Miner came from Illinois to 
Rock Island, Door county. Mr. Miner was born in New York 
in the year 1821, and in 1828 came to Green Bay with his 
father, who was a missionary among the Indians of that 
vicinity. In 1829 his father died of Western fever, and Henry 
D. went back East, remaining until 1842, when he again came 
West to Illinois, thence to Rock Island as per date above given; 
and in '49 or '50 to Washington Island. In 1848 he married 



22 HISTORY OP BOOR COUNTY. 

Martha A. Lee, and is now father of a son — Jesse, who has 
grown to maturity. Concerning the early settlement of the 
county, Mr. Miner writes us as follows: 

" Washington Harbor, Wisconsin, > 

September 17th, 1880. ) 
H. D. Miner to C. /. Martin: 

Come to Rock Island, June, 1844. On the Island there were two 
families, viz: J. Boon and Mr. McMillan; three sihgle men — R. 
Graham, J. McGill, and A. Burr — all fishing. D. E. Corbin, was 

light-house keeper No one was on Washington Island, or within 

30 miles North or South.... Two sail craft from Green Bay to 
Chicago, carrying from 80 to 120 barrels, took fish and brought nec- 
essaries of life. . . .Most of the few inhabitants were absent in winter. 
Letters were directed to Green Bay or Chicago; then per chance to 
the Islands. . . .The steamer Michigan, of Detroit, ran to Green Bay, 
occasionally. About 185 1 steamboats began to buy fish here, and 
Chicago traffic died out. . . .The first preaching was in 1854, by Rev. 
Win. B. Hamblin. who baptised 15 persons, and formed a Baptist 
church of 23 members, which had meetings three or four years after 
he left. In 1S65 Capt. Kitwood, formed a church, and got a Bethel 
meeting house built — four or five residents giving $100 each; others 
less. Tn 1867 it had 56 members. Selling intoxicants was opposed, and 
no saloons have been licensed in the town since . . .About 1870, Danes 
settled back from the water, and a change from a fishing ground to a 
farming community has taken place. Five threshing machines, 25 
horse teams, 13 ex teams, barns, wagons, etc., occupy the place of 
fish rigs." 

[Note.— The date of 1828, given and printed as the time Mr Henry D. Miner 
came to Door county, was a typographical error. It should have read 1844.] 

Sometime since a resident of Washington Island left that 
water surrounded land for other parts of the West. Evident- 
ly he was a "chum" of Mr. Miners son Jesse, for Jesse at once 
composed a poem concerning the occasion. Though the pro- 
duction is not as finely finished as are many magazine poems, 
the home-spun verses are by no means without pith and merit 
notwithstanding Jesse was born and brought up on Wash- 
ington Island, receiving an education only such as has been 
cast upon the shores of that so-termed "out-of-the-way-place." 
We publish the poem in its crude state, without being "fixed- 
up," leaving the jewels to be dug out and polished by those in 
search of "prospecting ground." The poem is as follows: 

Though "that confounded Island !" 

Is what you call my home. 

I think it is a place so grand — 

My own dear Island home ! 



WASHINGTON— FIItST ORGANIZED TOWN. 23 

Oh ! many charms it does possess, 
Which you'll not find, to roam ; 
And if good health you don't possess, 
Come to our Island Home. 

Your pulse will soon be quick and strong — 
Your cheek begin to bloom; 
And you may hope your stay '11 be long 
On our dear Island Home. 

Far from the vilest haunts of men, 
Where drunkards meet their doom, 
For now we have no gambling den 
On our dear Island Home. 

And if for sport you wish to try, 
You need not look so glum; 
But go and catch some fish to fry, 
Near our dear Island Home. 

And though for cash, you have to serve 
So hard, you wish to roam, 
I'm sure no one will have to starve 
On our dear Island Home. 

But, if with friends you're happy now, 
And do not wish to roam, 
I hope with great respect you'll bow 
To our dear Island Home. 

Though a mixed crowd we surely are — 
Of many nations some — 
Still of good folks we have a share, 
On our dear Island Home. 

Though you may think we have our share 
Who'll never see God's Home, 
I hope there'll be a quota there 
From our dear Island Home. 

— Jesse. 

The party that left the Island, and for whom the above was 

composed, has since returned, and says it is now his intention 

to stay there the remainder of his days. 

1851. The date Mr. John Cornell landed on Washington 
Island. He came from Illinois. Was born in 1845, State of 
New York; married Angeline Crowell in 1866; has three chil- 
dren. By occupation, is a laborer. 

1852. Robert Severs; came to the Island from Chicago; 
born in England in the year 1826, came to America '51; mar- 
ried Mary J. Shoukmith 1847. 2d marriage 1865, to Emily A. 



24 HISTO&Y OF DOOR' COUNTY. 

Boyce; has two children. His son Henry (now in England) 
married Mary Piercy in 1877, and has two children. Mr. 
Severs follows farming for a living 

1852. Dennis McDonald; came direct from Ireland; born 
1829; married Mary Mason 1854, and has six children. His 
daughter Mary, married Thomas Guinon 1875, and has three 
children. Adeline married Royal Baker in 1877, and has two 
children. For a living Mr. McD. follows farming. 

1853. Volney S. Garrett; came from Illinois; born in New 
York 1836; married Rebeca Lee 1855; has five children. His 
daughter Henrietta married Axel Peterson 4874; has three 
children. Alice married Andrew Koyne 1877, and has one 
child. Mr. Garrett is a cooper. 

1855. Joseph Cornell; came from Illinois; born in New 
York, 1830; married Rachel Steward 1856; has nine children, 
none of which are married. Mr. C. is a farmer. 

1856. Goodlet Goodletson; came direct from Norway; born 
1844; married Mary Gund^rson 1865; has five children. By 
occupation, is a fisherman and sailor. 

1858. Godfred Kalmbach; came from Pennsylvania; born in 
Germany 1810, and came to America 1846; married Christina 
Saeger 1835; has five children. His son, Michael F., now of 
Green Bay, Married Aeti Larson 1859, and has three children. 
Mary married Jacob Richetar 1858, and has eight chil- 
dren. Minnie married Holland W. Davis of Cleveland, 
Ohio, in 1862, and has five children. Albert married Dora 
Higgins 1878; has one child, and resides in Bailey's Harbor. 
The elder Kalmbach, is a farmer. 

1860. Thomas Coffey; came from New York; born in Ireland 
1835, and came to America 1850; married Katie Williams 1864, 
and has seven children. Is a laborer. 

1864. Chas. Johnson; came from Green Bay; born in Nor- 
way 1840, and came to America 1854; married Jane Haines 
1865. Second marriage Lena Bergh 1871; has five children. 
Is farming and coopering. 

1865. Timothy Coffey; came direct from Ireland; born 
1844; married Mary Sanford 1869; has five children. Is a 
laborer. 

1866. Christian Jacobson; came from Pine Lake, Wisconsin; 
born in Norway 1833, and came to America 1863; married 
Jacobena Gunderson 1864, and has six children. Follows sail- 
ing for a living. 

1866. Jacob Young; came from Oshkosh, Wisconsin; born 
Germany 1844, and came to America 1860; married Mary A 
Walker 1869, and has four children. Is a laborer. 



WASHINGTON— FIRST ORGANIZED TOWN. 25 

1866. Victor Rohn; came from Washington county, this 
State; born Germany 1831, and came to America 1846; mar- 
ried Jane Dowland 1852; has fifteen children. His daughter 
Emily married Win* Betts 1870, and has three children. Rhoda 
married Thornwald Lund 1877, and has one child. Mr. Rohn 
follows farming for a livelihood. 

1867. Clouse Zink; came from Racine, this State, to Egg 
Harbor, where he resided for three years, then settled on Wash- 
ington Island. Was born in Denmark 1826, and came to 
America 1865; married Mary Johnson 1848; has three children. 
Jennie married Ezra Graham, of Fish Creek, in 1870; has three 
children. Annie married Hans Johnson, of Rowley's Bay, in 
1873, and has no children. Mr. Z. is a farmer. 

1867. Demas Soucie; came from St. Martin's Island, Michi- 
gan; born Maine, 1829; married Sarah Crowelll866, and has 
three children. Is a farmer. 

1868. Hans P. Anderson; came from Chicago; born Den- 
mark 1826, and came to America 1866; married Fredericka M. 
Kolla 1856; has three children. His son Jens married Arhuey 
King 1879— she died in December, 1879, aged 18 years. Mr. 
Anderson is a farmer. 

1868. Hans 0. Saabye; came from Chicago; born Denmark 
1831, and came to America 1867; married Inger K. Nelson, 
1864— no children. Is a farmer. 

1868. Christian Larson; came from Chicago; born Denmark 
1840, came to America 1867; married Mary K. Grow 1865; has 
six children. Is a farmer. 

1868. Louis P. Ottoson; came from Chicago; born Denmark 
1842, and came to America 1864; married Mary Nelson 1867. 
Second marriage, Annie Peterson 1869; has four children. Is 
a farmer. 

1868. Peter Nelson; came from Chicago; born Denmark 
1848, and came to America 1867. He is a self -button sewer (a 
bachelor), and farms for a living. 

1869. Louis Johnson; came from Chicago; born Norway; 
1839; came to America 1867; married Karren Christenson 1876; 
has no children. Is a shoemaker by trade. 

1869. Christian Olsen; came from Norway; born 1841; mar- 
ried Annie Berg 1868; has six children. Is a farmer. 

1870. Carl Thompson; came from New Jersey; born Den- 
mark 1848; came to America 1867; married Amelia Koyen 
1870; has four children. Is a farmer. 

1870. Andrew Bommen; came from Chicago; born Norway 
1816; came to America 1863; married Oliva Berg 1848; has five 



26 HISTORY OF BOOR COUNTY. 

children. His daughter Anna married Wm, Wickman 1876; 
has three children; Karren married Andrew Stephenson, of 
Chicago, in 1880. Mr. Bommen is a farmer. 

1870. Knud 0. Schelswick; came from Chicago; born Nor- 
way 1810; came to Ameriea 1861; married Mary Greenleaf 
1836. Second marriage 1863, to Betsey Lee; has three chil- 
dren. His daughter Clara married Capt. Geo. Johnson in 1862; 
has rive children, and resides in Norway. Mr. Schelswick was 
a sea Captain, but now follows farming for a living. 

1870. Iver P. Hanson; born in Denmark 1845; came to 
America 1870; married Mary C. Peterson 1869; has three chil- 
dren. Is a farmer. 

1870. Ole P. Olsen; came from Norway; born 1832; married 
Wilheminne Larson 1859; has ten children, one of which, 
Mary, married Godfreid Hanson 1879. Mr. Olsen farms for a 
living. 

o&c 

OTUMBA (STURGEON BAY)— SECOND ORGANIZED TOWN. 

The name of that arm or bay off of Green Bay, now so well 
known as "Sturgeon Bay," originated among the Menominee 
Indians. They so named it because of its outline being about 
the shape of the fish sturgeon, and particularly on account of 
that specie of the finny tribe being so plentiful in these 
waters. By glancing at a large water chart or map, it will be 
seen that the outline of the bay, as a whole, does look very 
much like a huge sturgeon. 

For some years the little town, (or rather the inhabitants 
erecting log cabins in close proximity on the East banks of 
the bay,) was only known as "the trading post at Sturgeon 
Bay." Consequently, as the cabins increased in number, and 
the population began to grow with the usual American thrift, 
"the trading post" began to look like an embryo city, and the 
little town (as the water on the banks of which it was situa- 
ted) was called "Sturgeon Bay." However, as time advanced, 
the name of the town was changed to "Otumba" the name of 
a city in Spain. 

In the fall of 1856 Ezra B. Stevens was elected to the Assem- 
bly, and was the first representative at the State capital from 
Door county. Hon. D. A. Reed, then in public service at Madi- 
son, and Mr. Stevens, the assemblyman elect, drew up a bill, 



OTUMBA— SECOND OKGANIZED TOWN. 27 

for the organization of the town, and in the winter of '57 Mr. 
Stevens got the bill passed for the organization of Otumba as 
a town. Several efforts was made to change the name, and, in 
fact, for a brief time many called the village "Graham," then 
the name "Tehama" was taken up; but neither became stan- 
dard. Otumba too, as a name, was sort of a stumbling block, 
and in 1860 a petition, headed by the name of C. Daniels, and 
signed by many others, was presented to the County Board, 
asking that the name might be changed from "Otumba" to 
"Sturgeon Bay." February 13th, I860, the Board granted the 
request of the petitioners, and since that date the name of 
Otumba is entirely foreign to nine-tenths of even the local 
population, while the title Sturgeon Bay is scattered broadcast 
and known by more or less people in every State and Territory 
in America! 

Probably the first white settler that located on the banks 
of Sturgeon Bay, was a Mr. P. Rowley, who settled on the 
point, on the west side of the bay in the year 1835. For 4 or 5 
years he remained in that section — making a small clearing 
in the woods, and fishing. In abiut the year '40 he "pulled up 
stakes" and went to Two Creeks, Kewaunee county; since 
which date we can get no trace of his whereabouts. 

Mr. Peter S. Sherwood settled on the point in 1836, near Mr. 
Rowley, and was the second white settler in this section. For 
several years Mr. Sherwood lived alone; cleared upland, and 
erected a comfortable house, and though the log walls long 
ago crumbled away and enriched the ground for a second 
growth of timber, a portion of the old fashioned chimney still 
stands. About the year 1840 Mr. Sherwood went East for a 
few weeks, and during his sojourn was married. His wife 
accompanied him on his return to his bachelor home in the 
wilderness, where they resided until one night in 1862, when 
Mr. S. quietly breathed his last, and passed on to the unknown. 
Though not in the best of health, Mr. Sherwood kept about 
attending to his duties, and ate heartily except for supper the 
night of his death. So easily did he die that his wife knew 
nothing of it until the next morning. At the time of his 
death Mr. Sherwood was about eighty years of age. By some 
means his remains were interred in the Potter field, and thus 



28 HISTORY OF DOOR COUNTY. 

ends the existence of the first permanent settler on Sturgeon 
Bay. For the hardships he endured in early pioneer times; as 
a reward for the light of civilization he lit and kept burning 
until death closed his eyes, his bones were buried in the potter 
field in the midst of civilization — not even a headboard above 
him to designate his grave from that of a pauper. Yet, while his 
bones rest among the unknown, his name lives on, and the 
beautiful peninsula on which he lived was named after him, 
and is widely known. It is on that peninsula or point that 
"Idlewild," (Hon. J. T. Wright's summer resort,) is erected; 
and it is there that natural scenery is not elsewhere surpassed 
on the continent. The land of dense forest which Mr. Sher- 
wood cleared up a score and ten years ago, has since £rown up 
with deciduous and evergreen trees, and beneath the branches 
of the second growth timber many pleasure seekers enjoy and 
loll away the hot days of midsummer. The huge chimney 
which Mr. S. built more than a quarter of a century ago, 
now stands alone, white as marble, and is the only visible land 
mark or monument left to mark his eventful career. Years of 
exposure in the storm and weather have much defaced the old 
chimney, but in summer its appearance of sadnes is cheered 
by the mass of green vines that creep up its sides; wild flowers 
carpet the once cultivated garden, and native birds warble in 
freedom, while roll-grass tumbles around the old pioneer clear- 
ing. In summer the place is beautiful, wild, and interesting; 
in winter it is desolate and as silent as Mr. Sherwood's grave. 

Mr. Neil McMullen was the first white settler on the east 
bank of Sturgeon Bay, locating in 1837. He was a penurious 
man, and seemed to enjoy himself best when leading a hermit's 
life. After some time, he married a daughter of Peter Row- 
ley's, and as the place began to settle up, he became restless, 
and moved to the vicinity of Two Creeks. 

In the year 1849 or '50, Mr. Frank Sawyer located on the 
point, west side of the bay. He cleared up considerablo land, 
erected buildings, and made general improvements. He 
carried on quite a traffic with the Indians, and did consider- 
able trapping and hunting himself. As far as we have been 
able to gather facts, he sowed, cultivated, and harvested the 



OTUMBA— SECOND ORGANIZED TOWN. - 29 

first crop of wheat in Door county. The cove, at the mouth 
of the bay, well known as Sawyer's Harbor, was named after 
him. Some years ago he moved onto a large farm at Bay 
Settlem nt, Brown county, and now lives in that locality. 

About the year 1850, immigration began to increas in this sec- 
tion, and since that date advancement has been gtneral. The 
following is a short biography of the old settlers in Sturgeon 
Bay township, wao have lived in the county ten or more years: 

1842 is the year Chauncy Haskell first came to Door county. 
He trapped and hunted for many years, but is now a farmer 
by occupation- He landed on Rock Island, and remained in 
that vicinity most of the time until 1859, when he came to 
Sturgeon Bay, and located permanently. He came from Ohio 
to this county; first came West in 1 40; was born in Massa- 
chusetts 1813; married Alwilda Fuller 1819; Las four children. 

1843. William Marshall; now keeping livery stable* came 
from Gre 3 ti Bay, where he was born in 1826; first landed in 
this county it Little Sturgeon, and for four years had no 
particular place of settlement. In 1847 he located at Fish 
Creek; came to Sturgeon Biy 1879. Married Mary J. Claflin 
1847. Has no children. 

1846. Mrs. Josephine E. Graham; came from Green Bay, and 
located on Rock Island, where she lived for seven yeais, then 
resided on Washington Island about \%. years, when she 
cime to Sturgeon Bayj^was born on the Island of Cuba 1830; 
cune to the Unit d States 1812; married Rebert Graham 1846. 
He died in 1873, aged 48 years. Mrs. Graham is still a widow. 
She raised a large family, but only five (three boys r,nd two 
girls) are living. Her son-Eli married Sarah Green, 1877; has 
two children, and lives at Omena, Michigan. Robert married 
Clara Bacon, 1878; has oae child, and lives at Point St. Ignace, 
Michigan. Josephine married Frank Bacon 1878, and lives on 
a farm in Minnesota. 

1850. Samuel N. Bacon, now landlord of Exchange Hotel, 
Sturgeon Bay; came from Racine to Little Harbor (BaLey's 
HaraOi*) where he remained about six months; was ther in 
and oat of the county until 1855, when he located at Clay 
Banks. Ten ye- slater lie moved to Ahnapee, returned J to 
Clay Banks in '71; came to Sturgeon Bay '73. Was born in 
New Fork 1832; married Jane Foss 1854; has seven child. en. 
His d tu ;hter Sarah married T. C. Hayes*1872. Clara man ied 
Robert jraham 1377. Frank mrried Josephine Graham 1878. 
Elia married Dr. Hendricks 1880. 



30 HISTORY OF BOOR COUNTY. 

1850, Antone Thompson, now a farmer; came from Green 
Bay; bom in Norway 1810; came to America 1848; married 
Mary Olsen 1834; has two children. His daughter Annie mar- 
ried R. Olsen 1855, and lives in Chicago. Eli married Celia 
Peterson 1869, and has two children. 

Concerning early settlement Mr. Thompson, the oldest per- 
manent settler near the present site of Sturgeon Bay, writes 
us as follows: 

Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin, ) 
November, 25, 1880. ) 
A. Tho?npson to C. L Martin: 

When we first came to Door county (we settled on the same place 
we now live) the only folks we had for neighbors, were the natives — 
Indians. White people were really a treat . . . .Our nearest store was 
Green Bay — a distance of over fifty miles; and we reached there by 
means of a row boat, or by going through the woods on foot. The 
term of thirty years has made marked advancement, for we now have 
communication with that city by telegraph, express, and. daily mail. . . . 
In about the year 1853 Bradley built what is now known as Spear's 
mill. It is not to be wondered at that lumbering here at an early date 
did not prove profitable. Lumbermen generally carried a pack of 
cards with them, and when in the woods, away from the sight of the 
"boss" would indulge in playing the various card games to "pass 
away the dreary time. ". . . .In the year of \2 when myself and wife 
were crossing the bay to visit Mr. Philip Jacobs, we heard a disturbance 
at home. We at once returned, and found our pig pen had been 
visited by a bear. The beast evidently was determined to carry of the 
pig, but our little daughter Amelia (now dead) with wonderful courage 
dealt him a blow on the head, and he made oft' into the woods, and 
our pig was saved. Bears and wolves were very troublesome in those 
days. At present the wolf is almost unknown in this section, but 
bear continue to cause more or less trouble. . . .1 think that the first 
steamboat of record, that plowed the waters of Sturgeon Bay, was a 
side- wheel craft named the Franklin Moore. She called at our dock 
for wood during the summer of 1853 and '54* She used to cruise 
along the shores of Green Bay with fish, and supplies for fishermen. 

1851. Nels Torstenson, carpenter and joiner; came from 
Green Bay; born in Norway 1820; came to America '51; mar- 
ried Ingebor K. Oman 1844; has five children. His daughter 
Theresa married Nick Simons 1860; has two children, and lives 
in Nasewaupee township. Christena married H. W. Reed, of 
Sturgeon Bay, in 1875; has two children. Thomas married 
Mary Philips 187—; has two children. 

1851. Wm. B. Lawrence, now a farmer, came from Milwau- 
kee to Washington Island, and located in Sturgeon Bay 1854; 
born in New Hampshire 1825; first came West 1848; married 



OTUMBA— SECOND ORGANIZED TOWN. 31 

Augusta Brooks 1856; has eight children. His son Myron 
married Josie Coffeen 1880. 

1851. Philip Jacobs; located on his present farm 1851; born 
Germany 1824; came to America 1847; married Susanna Bar- 
rouson 1851; has six children. His son Theodore married 
Jennie Gilbert. 

1852. Augustus W. Lawrence, merchant and lumberman; 
came from Maine, in which State he was born' 1830; married 
Emily J. Marshall 1855; has three children. His daughter 
Ruth married Hon. L. M. Washburn 1875; has one child. 

1852. Joseph Lavassor, now retired from business, came 
from Lockport, New York; born in Canada 1814; married Mary 
Hutchinson 1853; has six children. His son Paul married 
Carrie Hinker 1877; has two children. 

1853. Hon. D A. Reed, attorney at law; came from Sheboy- 
gan, and remained one year, when he returned to Sheboygan 
Falls. In 1860 he again returned to Sturgeon Bay — this time 
accompanied by his family, and has here lived since that date. 
He was born in Ohio 1821; married Maria A. Moore 1845; has 
six children. His son Horace W. married Christina Torsten- 
son 1875; has two children. Rustin 0. married Ella Thayer 
1879, and lives in Sleepy Eye, Minnesota. 

Per invitation, Mr. Reed pens us the following: 

Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin. } 

November 22d, 1880. f 
D. A. Reed to C. I. Martin: 

When I first came to Door county, the practic of law was slower 
work than walking up a steep iced hill. If an attorney charged a 
dollar and a half as a fee for attending to a case that cost a week's 
labor; his charges were deemed "outrageou;.!" We attorneys can now 
put on a long face and charge a dollar a minute for small cases, and 
no grumbling is heard. However, in olden times our pay was ready 
when the work was done. In most cases now we have to wait two 
or more years for our fees, and collect them by law. Such is civiliza- 
tion, and the growing advancement for legal ability The following 

is an illustration of law proceedings in Door county twenty-five years 
ago. Some time about the year 1858 a man borrowed a boat (without 
permission of the owner) and during the couple of hours he used it, 
broke one of the oars, and thus lard the basis for the first * 'criminal" 
case that was tried in the town of Washington, which was then, and 
still is an Island. The defendant was put on trial for petit larceny; 
the case was fully proven against the defendant, and conviction was the 
judicial conclusion the court arrived at. But now came the tug of 
war — with the court. There was only one old law book at hand, and 
in that volume nothing could be found concerning a "man that took a 
boat without permission, and while using it broke one of the oars." 



32 HISTOBY OF DOOR COUNTY. 

No copy of the statutes or other form of law was at hand to guide 
the judicial mind. Where the lines of distinction should be drawn 
between petit and grand larceny, he did not know, and the sheriff con- 
sidered, and t lie district attorney that that made no difference as the 
greater always includes the lesser, and the court concluded so too. 
So the defendant was duly convicted of a States prison offense, and 
sentence was passed, and so recorded l>y the court, and a certificate of 
conviction was fUily made, signed by the Justice of the Peace, and 
delivered to the constable, hut he found himself unprepared for a 
journey of 200 miles without roads, steamboats, or rail roads, and this 
kcen-eyen officer saw at a glance that three or four days would be nec- 
essary in preparing a couple of boiled rags, a knap-sack, and some 
com dodgers, etc. Then what was to be done with the stale prison 
bird? Happy thought! R-umev had a root-house, where not a ray of 
God's sunlight could enter his wicked soul. Into the root-house the 
constable thrust the "wicked" defendant, and kept him there for four 
days. At the end of that time all preparations were duly in readiness, 
anil the line of march taken up; the officer first providing against a 
possible escape of the prisoner by tying a rope around one of the 
defendant's hands, with the other end securely tied around his waist. 
T11 due time both officer and prisoner arrived at Sturgeon Bay. Here 
the officer was informed that a justice of the peace had no jurisdic- 
tion ov r Stute orison offences, and as the certificate of conviction did 
not show on its face anything definite or certain, he was further 
informed that both he and the justice were trespassers. Two minutes 
later the rope had but one of the two at the end of it, for the defend- 
ant was drodped among the logs and stumps of Sturgeon Bay instanter. 
The constable turned his face Northward toward the seat of justice, a 
''sadder but a wiser" officer. 

The next case was tried in Ephraim, before 'Squire Morbeck. The 
defendant in the case was arrested and put on trial for assault and 
battery on his (the defendant's) wife. The testimony showed that the 
complainant, one of the neighbor-;, had made qnite a mistake. The 
Sl*»e showed, by the testimony, that the defendant had been cruelly 
beating his cow. The court held that that made no difference, a* 
both offences were well known to the law; and then found, as a mat- 
ter of fact as well as of law, that the defendant was guilty of cruelty 
to animals, and sentenced him to sixty days in the county jail. The offi- 
cer was furnished with a commitment, and started for Green Bay — the 
county being attached to Brown county at that time for judicial pur- 
poses. The justice took special pains to recite in the commitment 
the substance of the warrant of arrest and te>timony, and concluded 
th« same by finding, as fact and law, that "A. B. having made com- 
plaint to him in writing, that C. D. did assault and beat his wife, and 
the testimony offered on the trial showed clearly that the defendant is 
guilty of cruelty to animals under the laws of this State. Therefore, 
it is the sentence of this court, duly empaneled and sworn, that the 
detendant, C. D. be committed to the county jail for the term of sixty 



OTUMBA— SECOND ORGANIZED TOWN. 33 

days, and the jailer be directed to feed the said C. D. on bread and 
water, and may the Lord have mercy on your poor soul!" Signed 

, Justice of the Peace. But the officer got no further 

than Sturgeon Bay with the defendant, when he was told that his com- 
mitment would not protect him in executing it, so the defendant was 
"dropped." 

1853. Louis R. McLachlan, farmer and proprietor of a stone 
quarrie; came from New York; born Canada 1824; came to tht 
States 1842; married Jennie Doak 1862. 

Mr. McLachlan gives us the following notes of early data: 

Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin, ) 

November 22, 1880. ) 
L. R. McLachlan to C. I. Martin: 

I hired out in the spring of '53, at Lockport, New York, to Mr. 
David S. Crandal! to come to Sturgeon Bay to hew timber for a mill. 
I arrived here in due time, and in May, '53, work commenced on the 
mill. In October, same year, the machinery in the nevr structure be- 
gan work, and it was then that the first manufactory of any kind was 
established in this section, and :he first lumber sawed on the banks of 
Sturgeon Bay. The establish ne it was known as Bradley's mill ... 
in those days a man could get to Green Bay (when opportunity 
afforded) in a row or sail boat for the moderate si*.m of $3 00 — of 
course the passenger was expected to take his regular turns at pulling 
on tie o.*r or sailing the craft. At a later date, when occasionally 
steamboats began to stop at this place, passage on them was $5 ... 
During the years from 1 S55 to '6 > a good many hand -made «*hin«*le$ 
were got out in this vicinity and banked along the bay shorf. Ox 
teams in those days were very scarce, while a span of horses was indeed 
a rare si^ht. Thus it was that the new settlers had to bank their 
shingles by hand. The men usually remained in the woods shaving 
out the shingles, while the women, with the assistance of neck- 
yokes across their shoulders, transferred the shingles to the bank on 
wheelbarrows. Small sail crafts bought the shingles oil the bank, and 
freighted them to market. . . .While the pioneer settlers endured not a 
few hardships, enjoyable time* wer? not altogether out of the questi< n. 
A good social dance (then called "shin-dig") could begotten upon a 
day's notice. The young ladies (they were but few in number) in win- 
ter time often came to dances on eight f eet snow-shoes. Yet their 
feet in natural state were small, and with vigor they would ''trip the 
fantastic toe" until broad day-light the next morning. . . .It used to be 
frequently told, ye.ira ago, that many of the pioneer settlers in summer 
lived on crackers and whiskey to get strength to fight sand-flies. 
This asseition, however, should only be credited as hearsay, 

1853. Lmbit B. mirriei 019 Olsen 1819; he was drowned 
wMle crossing the bay on thin ice in 1858. Mrs. Olsen married 
the second tim3 to Ole Gullick3on 1860; has six children. Her 



34 TTTCTOHY OF BOOS COUtfTT. 

son Hans J. married Louisa Draper 1870; has four children. 
Mary married Louis Anderson 1873; has three children. Olof 
married Eliza Thompson 1877; has two children. Ole B. mar- 
ried Ella Nap 1878; has one child. 

1853. Jesse Kimber, now teaming; csrne from New York; 
born England 1328; came to America 1829; married Mary 
Hendershott 1852; has eight children. His son Frank married 
Ell? Stephenson 1877; has one child. Charles married Emma 
Shiner 1879; has one child. William marrkd Agnes Langlois 
1879; has one child. 

Of early date, Mr. Kimber writes us as follows: 

Sturgkon Bay, Wisconsin, ) 

November 23d, 1680. j 
Jfsr? Kimber to C. I Martin; 

I came ro Sturge >n Bay from Lockport, New York, to work for 
Crandall & Bradley in their saw mill, which they had built that season. 
There were but few settlers here then, and this was an unbroken wil- 
derness. We cur the nine trees on the bank of the Little Lake — then 
known as Bradley's lake — but we were all green as to handling saw 
logs, and it was slow work. . . .The Little Lake was fro/en over on the 
morning of November 5th, 1S-3, and we had some rare sport killing 
bass and pickerel by striking on the ice over them, and then hooking 
them out with a piece of wire bent in the share of a hook. In a day or 
two the weather got warmer, an \ f he ice all melted, and we had no 
more snow until Christmas week, when it shut up for the winter. 
About New Years the snow began to fall, and for forty days we never 
saw the sun; but we had the most beautiful nights T ever saw. It 
snowed every dav, and by the first of March we had 3% feet of mow 

cm a lev« 1 in the woods \bout the month of February the Bradley 

mill changed hands, and D. 11. Burtis came here and took possession, 
and the mill company was known ns Burtis & Works -the property 
being put into their hards to aw?it the issue of a law suit then pend- 
ing in the courts in N ; r< *ra c< unty, N. Y. Tn August, 1854, Bradley 
came here and paid oft' all the men, and Works gave up the property 
to the old firm of Crandall & Bradley, and matters went on again quite 
smoothly for awhile. But owing to Mr. Bradley's inexperience in 
!n»* bering, he failed to make much out of it, and in th? crash of 1857, 
they went down with 1 Us of others. . . .After Burtis & Work: gave up 
the Bradley propertv, Burtis built what was known as the "middle 
mill," and commenced to manufacture lumber, but failed, and returned 
to his old home in Lockpnrt, N. Y. ....Tn early davs there war, no 
aristocracy — all were alike, and we enjoyed ourselves hughely — all 
we r e bound to enjov themselves. We could get up a dance in half 
a" hour; have a full house, and keep up the party until daylight, and 

then awav to the words ayain T have known the time when we 

had to nmke out a meal on potatoes and salt. We used to spear 
sucLers in the creeks in the spring, and then we lived high again. I 



OTtfMBA— SECCNt) ORGANIZED TOWN. 35 

once heard Bradley rem irk that he had not a man about him that 
could t^et his shirt oft*, and when asked the reason, he said: l< They 
had eaten sucker^ so long that the bones stuck through their skin, and 
their shirts were fast." 

1851. Andrew Nelson, farmer; came from Norway; born 
1819; married Caroline Knndson 1844; has eleven children. 
His son Lawrence married Eliza Coleman 1870; haft four chil- 
dren. Nicholena married Andrew Anderson 1864; his two 
children. Caroline married Edvrard Anderson 1873. Josephine 
married Wm. A. Lawrence 1879. 

1851. Nels Olsen, farmer; caun from Chicago; born Norway 
1829; came to America 1855; married Levakrena Eveson 1857; 
has five children. 

1854. 01 e Johnson, farmer; came from Manitowoc county; 
born Norway 1821; came to America 1854; married Harbord 
Everson 1846; no children. 

1854. Henrv Schuvler, retired from business; came from N^w 
York: born Pennsylvania 1803; married Julia Smith 1826. 
She died 1864. a o-ed sixty-five years. Second marriage Mary 
A. Carpenter 1870: has four children— none by the second 
wif*. Hi^ son Fredrick married Nancy Marshall 1856; has 
eleven children. His daughter Mary married Z. J. B. Kimber 
1857; has fire children. Albert J. married Amanda Hitt of 
Clay Bank**, t860; has nine children. Julia married James 
Mcintosh 1860; has two children. 

1851. Fred Hero:, farmer; came from Chicago; born Norway 
1«26; came to America 1853; married Elizabeth Rasmu3son 
1865: has five children. 

1851. Jo^ph Hubert, engineer, came from Peshfioro; born 
Canada 1827: came to the State? in 1853; married DMvina 
Lansrlois 1855; ha? nine children. Oiive married Henry John- 
son 1878. 

1854. Erick T. Sehioeth, owner of a do^k ?.nd banking 
ground: came from Norway; born 1808; married Sophia Velda 
1*36. Second marriage 1865, to Annie Haines; has eight chil- 
dren. 

1854. Sarah, widow, married Wm. Tuck in 1818; came from 
Connecticut; ha^ nine children. Her daughter Abigail married 
Aaron -Monl ton 1859; ha* one child. Julia married Robert 
B'rtlet 1866; has three children; Jane married Louis Huck 
1868; has four children. Harrietta m?rried John N. Scott 
1871: has one child. Sarah E. married Arnold Baptist 1874; 
has three children. 

1S54. Soren Peterson, farmer; came from Green Bay fa foot 
and looked up land); born Denmark 1824; came to America 
1852; married Amelia Culumse 1864. Second marriage 1875, to 



36 HISTORY OF DOOR COUNTY. 

Mrs. Elizabeth S. Halverson; has three children. 

1855. Robert Noble, contractor for running the Sturgeon 
Bay and Bay View steam ferry; and dealer in agricultural 
implements; was born in New York 1837; is a self-button 
sewer (bachelor). 

1855. Hon. J. T. Wright, landlord, and proprietor of Idlewild 
Summer Resort; born New York 1830; married Emiline 
Snyder 1850; has three children. Fred C. married Anna 
Garland 1876; has two children. 

1855. Andrew Peterson, farmer; born Norway 1816; came to 
America 1853; married Sarah Erickson 1842; has nine children. 
His daughter Hannah married John Shaf stall 1862; has one 
child, and lives in Indiana. Celia married Eli Thompson 1869 ; 
has two children. Peter married Mary Mathews 1866; has six 
children. Jennie married Lyman Hall 1872; has one child, 
and lives in Missouri. Sophia married John Nelson 1878, and 
lives in Michigan. Mary married Joseph Sweetman 187 3; has 
two children. 

1855. Henry C. Knudson, farmer; was born in Norway 1823; 
came to America 1853; married Mary Hanson 1857; has four 
children living. 

Mrs. Knudson related to us many of the hardships she endured 
until the close of the war — her husband being in the army. She vvas 
left alone, with three small children, m the wilderness, some four 
miles from Sturgeon Bay, and one mile from the nearest neighbor, 
with all woods, and no ro.ids. . . .She spent two rights in the woods 
away from her family, getting lost while hunting for her cow.... 
Often she was compelled to chop down trees in the woods to furnish 
browse for her cows during the winter. . . .After the war Mr. K. came 
home, and has labored hard the long years since. As a reward for 
the hardships they endured in helping to settle up Door county, Mr. 
and Mrs. Knudson now find themselves comfortably located upon a 
£Ood farm well improved, with plenty of stock, and they are sur- 
rounded by a highly respected family of young man and women. 

1855. Elijah S. Fuller, farmer and proprietor of a lime kiln; 
came from Racine county; born New York 1815; came west 
in '44; married B^tspv C. Clark 1841; has five children. His 
daughter Amelia mimed Abriel Whittaker 1871; has two 
children. C >rnelia married Jacob Hermann 1879; has one 
child. Harlow married Sarah J. Noble 1380. 

1855. Jospnh Harris, Sr., real estate agent; came from New 
York; born England 1813; came to America 1819; married 
Charlolte Simpleton 1833. Second marriage 1859, to Susan 
Per'dn*. His daughter Ch rlotte married David Mcintosh 
1860; has thr -3 children, and lives in Chicago. Eliza j^th 



OTUMBA— SECOND ORGANIZED TOWN. 37 

married Jesse Birmingham 1860; has six children, and lives in 
West Pensaukee. Joseph Jr., married Rosa Rice 186- ; has 
three children, and is keeper of the Government range lights, 
at Bailey's Harbor. Henry married Elizabeth Hansen 1868; 
has two children, and lives in Delaware. Edith married Isaac 
C. Slater 1871; has two children, and lives in Washington, D. C. 

The following is a letter from the Hon. Joseph Harris, Sr., 
concerning Door county a quarter of a century ago: 

Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin, > 

October 28th, 1880. J 
y, Harris, 6>., to C. I, Martin; 

I was one of the early settlers of Sturgeon Bay, and went through 
some of the roughest experiences ot pioneer life. When 1 came to 
Door county in '55, the tov^n of Washington (Washington Island) Was 
the only organized town in the county, and when Sturgeon Bay was 
organized into a town in 1857, by the name of Otiimba, it became 
necessary, in order to assess and levy taxes for county and State pur- 
poses, to hold a meeting of the chairmen of those two towns as a 
County Board of Supervisors. Mr. J. Nolan, who was chairman of 
the town of Washington, refused to come to Sturgeon Bay to hold the 
meeting, and 'Squire Henry Schuyler, who was chairman of Otumba, 
and myself agreed to go to Washington Island for that purpose. It 
was late in November when we started on foot through the woods to 
Fish Creek, that being the nearest place where a sailboat could be 
got. There were no roads in any part of the county at that time, and 
no trail north of Sturgeon Bay, We started in Jacob St. Ore's large 
sail boat or sloop, with another man to help sail it, and arrived at the 
Island the same day. The next day the first meeting of a County 
Board in Door county was held- 'Squire Schuyler was chosen chair- 
man, and myself Clerk of the Board; the tax levy was made and 
Door county set upon its legs. The next evening we started back to 
Fish Creek. W T hilc attempting to cross Death's Door, a heavy 
squall came up, which prevented us from reaching the main land, and 
we ran before the wind until about midnight, when, seeing lights 
ahead, we let go anchor. When daylight came we found ourselves at 
Flat Rock (near Escanaba) where we had been driven by the storm. 
During the night the wind changed to the North; raining, snowing, 
and freezing so that the deck and rigging was a mas? of ice, but we 
reached Fish Creek that afternoon, having a fine breeze from over the 
after quarter of the boat. At Fish Creek we borrowed a smaller sail 
boat, and started for Sturgeon Bay, which was reached late at night 
to find the bay frozen over nearly down to Laurie's place, where, with 
difficulty, we landed; hauled the boat ashore, and footed it home. . . . 
Another rough journey that fell upon us, was at the time the county 
seat was removed from Bailey's Harbor to Sturgeon Bay. About 
1851 or '2 the legislature passed an act to organize Door county; locat- 
ing the county seat at Bailey's Harbor, under the name of Gibraltar, 



38 HISTORY OF DOOR COUNTY. 

but no steps were ever taken to carry out the organization, nor were 
any county or town officers ever elected there. A Mr. Sweet, of Mil- 
waukee, who got the above named act passed, had projected opening 
up a settlement at the Harbor. He built a saw mill and a dock, the 
mill burred down, the dock went to ruin, and Mr. Sweet abandoned 
the enterprise. The early settlers of Sturgeon Bay soon resolved to 
carry out the organization, and proceeded to take the necessary legal 
steps to remove the county seat from the 'Harbor to Sturgeon Bay. 
To accomplish this, it was necessary to call a meeting at Bailey's Har- 
bor, and go through the forms of posting notices, etc., as required by 
law. Msssrs. A. G. Warren, W. H. Warren, and myself made two 
journey's on foot to the 'Harbor to effect the removal. As there was 
no trail through the woods, we had to go to the head of Sturgeon Bay, 
cross the Portage, and follow the Lake shore, footing it to Bailey's 
Harbor and back in all sorts of weather. . . .The settlers who have 
come into Door county in the past ten years, know but little of the 
hardships the early settlers went through. Then it was a "howling 
wilderness" from end to end, but now the new comers find throughout 
the county organized towns, roads, school houses, post-offices, 
churches, large farms, and on every side the elements of comfort and 
prosperity. T have lived to see the county grow from less than one 
thousand inhabitants to a population of nearly twelve thousand, and 
the influx is still going on. 

Mr. Joseph Harris was chosen as the first county clerk, and 
register of deeds of Door county, procuring the books of Rec- 
ord and getting both of those offices in running order. He 
filled the office of county treasurer six years, and in 1864 and 

'5 represented the counties of Door, Oconto, Shawano and 
Outagamie in the State Senate. He considers that his crowning 
work was in organizing the Sturgeon Bay & Lake Michigan 
Ship canal and Harbor Company. He framed the charter for 
that Company when he was in the State Senate in 1864. In 
'66 he went to Washington and procured from Congress a grant 
of 200,000 acres of the public land to aid in building the canal, 
which, with subsequent appropriations of money from Con- 
gress to build the Harbor of Refuge, secured the final success 
of the enterprise. To his unremitting labor of near twenty 
years, Door county and the State of Wisconsin are indebted 
for the most important work of public improvement within 
its borders— a work, the value of which to the commerce of 
Green Bay and Lake Michigan, can scarcely be over estimated. 

1855. Albert G. Warren, county surveyor; came from Con- 
necticut, where he was born 1812; married Sophia Davenport 
1836; has two children. His daughter married Ephriam 
Daniels 1863; has five children. Emily married Michael 
McDonald 1872 ; has three children. 



OTUMBA— SECOND ORGANIZED TOWN. 39 

1855. Hans Hanson, farmer; came from Chicago; born 
Norway 1815; came to America 1853; married Halena Knudson 
1848; has four children. His daughter Clatinka married 
Martin Knudson 1878. 

1855. Christena, widow of Carel T. Arlum; came from Iowa; 
born in Norway 1823; came to America 1853; married 1848; 
has four children. His daughter Annie married Wm. Jacobs 
1878. Caroline married Alexander Doak 1878. Matilda mar- 
ried Mark Holt 1879. 

1855. lver A. (better known as Edward) Nelson, a laborer; 
came from Quebec, Canada; born Norway 1829; came to 
America 1854; married Mary Nelson 1867; hag five children. 

1854. George H. Thorpe, keeps boarding house; came from 
Dodge county this State; born New York 1839; married 
Lucretia Post 1861 ; has one child. 

1855. Nelson W. Fuller, printer and editor, came from 
Illinois; born New York 1812; married Laura Stevens 1845; 
has five children. He left this county in 1858 and went to 
Illinois. In 1878 he returned. 

1855. Martin Cramer, farmer; born Prussia 1823; came to 
America 1853; married Mary Maigel 1858; has nine chil- 
dren. His daughter Annie married Henry Korgor 1877; 
has two children, and lives in the town of Clay Banks. 

1856. Henry F. Post, carpenter and joiner; came from Dodge 
county. Was out and in the county until '72, when he made 
final stay. Was born Pennsylvania 1827; married 1st time 
1850. Second marriage 1865, to Clara Berbank; has six chil- 
dren. His daughter Dora married George Turner 1873, and 
has four children. 

1856. Joseph Colignon, landlord, and proprietor of the 
Colignon Hotel, came from Belgium; born 1834; married Mary 
F. Moraux 1865, has four children. 

1856. John Long, farmer; came from Indiana; born Prussia 
1821; came to America 1853; married Tracy Manna 1844. 
Second marriage 1855 to Margaret Koppal; has nine children. 
His son Frank married Agnes Damkoehler 1869; has five chil- 
dren. Maggie married Leslie Dunlap '79 has one child. 

1856. Chris Daniels, County Superintendent of Schools; 
came from Ohio; born in Missouri 1837; married Ellen Moule 
1873; has one child. 

1856. Albert H. Sherwood, laborer; came from New York, 
born same State in 1837; married Annie 1 Thompson 1877; has 
one child. 

1856. Septimus Stephenson, Village marshal; came from 
New York, in which State he was born 1839; married Lauria 
E. Thompson 1868; has six children. 



VO HISTORY OF DOOR COUNTY. 

1856. Matilda, widow, married Ernest Damkcehler 1851. 
He was in the army, and died in the Andersonville prison in 
1862, aged 42 years. Mrs. D. has four children. Her daughter 
Agnes married Frank Long 1869; has five children. Walter 
married Sarah Gillespie 1879. 

1857. Sartial R. Stephenson, engineer, came from New 
York, in which State he was born 1845; married Jane Heanney 
1869; has two children. 

1857. Betsey (better known here as grandma) widow, mar- 
ried Israel Hendershott 1818. He died in 1849, aged fifty-eight 
years. "Grandma" was born in New York in 1800; has eight 
children. Her daughter Phoebe married Wm.' Wolverton 183- ; 
has three children, and lives in Pennsylvania. Mary E. mar- 
ried Jesse Kimber 1852; has eight children. Jane married 
Thos. Forsyth 1853; has two children, and liyes in Michigan. 
Charlotte married Joseph Bucklin 1854; has four children, and 

lives in Michigan. Benjamin married Brands 185-. 

Rhoda married Henry J. Grandy 1868; has three children. 

1857. Chas. A. Cocagne, farmer, came from Cassville, this 
State; born in France 1826; came to America 1831; married 
Caroline Bernard 1855. She died 1866, aged thirty years. Had 
three children. Louisa married Stephen Cardy 1879; has two 
children, and lives in Marinette. 

1857. Peter Bernson, farmer; came from Norway; was born 
1825; married Annie B. Tenest 1858; has five children. Eliza 
married Theodore Anderson 1877; has two children, and lives 
in Sister Bay. 

1857. Peter Lorch, owns a farm; came from Washington 
county; born Germany 1835; came to America 1856; married 
Mary Feldmann 1865. Lizzie married Jacob Leonhardt 1878. 

1858. John Sorenson, farmer; came from Denmark, where 
he was born 1826; married Elizabeth Seever 1861 ; has two 
children. His daughter Maggie married Louis Wulf 1880. 

1858. David Houle, farmer; came from Depere; born in 
Wisconsin 1831; married Jane Rancom 1855. Mr. Houle was 
proprietor of the first hotel in Sturgeon Bay. 

1858. Constantine Feldmann, merchant; came from Ger- 
many, where he was be>rn 1834; married Elizabeth Weis 1858; 
has five children. 

1858. Olive A., widow, married Wm. K. Dresser 1856. He 
died 1878, aged forty-eight years. Mrs. D. has four children. 
Annie married Legrand D. Henderson 1876, and lives in Iowa. 

1859. Capt. Nels P. Nelson, farmer; came from Buffalo; 
born Norway 1816; came to America 1847; married Maria 



OTUMBA— SECOND ORGANIZED TOWN. 41 

Olsen 1838. Second marriage 1859, to Olena Aim. She died 
1871, aged fifty-six years. Has two children. 

1859. Paul Nelson, farmer; came from New York; born 
Norway 1818; came to America 1833; married Madalena Kven 
1845. 

1860. Margaret, widow, married Fred Bushmann 1865. He 
was drowned in Sturgeon Bay 1878, and was thirty-five years 
of age. She has six children. 

1861. Ambrust Knudson, farmer; came from Norway, where 
he was born 1821; married Hendreka Erickson 1850; has six 
children. His daughter Nellie married Louis Fiddler 1878; has 
one child. Martin married Clatinka Hanson 1878. 

1862. David Machia, engineer; came from New York; born 
same State 1849; married Nancy Ryan 1874; has three chil- 
dren. 

1862. Henry Machia, engineer; came from New York; born 
same State 1854; married Sarah Kennedy 1878; has two chil- 
dren. 

1862. George Machia, laborer; came from New York; born 
same State 1856; married Helen Houle 1877; has one child. 

1862. Job Tong, farmer; born England 1843; came to 
America 1845; married Lydia Marshall 1868; has five children. 

1862. Kearn Bo we, farmer; born Connecticut 1845; married 
Malinda Fuller 1866; has three children. 

1862. Chas. M, Chase, salesman; came from Buffalo; born 
Massachusetts 1850; married Olive A. Thomas 1870; has one 
child. 

1863. Peter Propsom, farmer; came from Kenosha; born in 
Germany 1829; came to America 1857; married Katie Karthie- 
ter 1870; has five children. 

1864. Erne Bottelson, shoemaker; came from Norway, where 
he was born 1830; married Elizabeth M. Bottelson 1851 ; has 
three children. His daughter Annie C. M., married Jacob 
Dehos 1869, and has three children. 

1864. Chris Leonhardt, treasurer of Door county; came 
from Washington county; born Germany 1837; came to 
America 1843; married Catherine Lorch 1860; has seven chil- 
dren. 

1864. Gideon W. Allen, district Attorney Door county; came 
from Madison; born Ohio 1835; married Annie M. Cox 1865; 
has two children. 

1864. George W. Marsh, carpenter and joiner; came from 
Beaver Dam; born New York 1813; married Mary C. Flint 1837. 



42 HISTOEY OF DOOR COUNTY. 

/ 

She died 1856, aged 43 years. Second marriage 1859, to Cath- 
rine Hutchinson; has five children. His daughter Josephine 
married Michael Walrod 1860, and lives in Minnesota.— Mary 
L. married Henry Stevens 1865; has three children and lives in 
Minnesota.— Helen M. married Frank Ives 1872; has two chil- 
dren.— Cora L. married Charles Baylor 1873; has one child — 
George A. married Malisa Baylor, and has two children. 

1864. Caroline, widow, married Henry Bushman 1856. He 
was drowned in attempting to cross Sturgeon Bay in a row 
boat in 1878, aged 34 years. He leaves five children. 

1865. George 0. Spear, lumberman and mill owner; came 
from Red River; born Maine 1840; came west 1857; married 
Louisa Graves 1873. 

1865. Martin Bershem, laborer; came from New York; born 
France 1813; came to America 1858; married Martha J. Lagroe 
1855. 

1865. Chas. A. Masse, property owner and Clerk of Circuit 
Court; born Holland 1838; came to America 1848. Is a 
bachelor (self button sewer). 

1865. J. A. Campbell, lumberman; came from Michigan; 
born Canada 1840; married Desdemona C. Martin 1866. 

1865. A.M. Spear, lumberman; came from Red River to 
Little Sturgeon; born 1842; married Cornelia Graves 1864; has 
six children. 

1865. John Goettelmann, landlord and proprietor of the 
Bay View House; came from Washington county; born in 
Germany 1843; came to America 1865; married Philippine 
Myers 1870; has two children. 

1866. Thomas Scott, Sheriff of Door county; came from 
Canada, where he was born in 1836; married Mary C. Besteder, 
1869. Second marriage 1874, to Emily M. Carpenter; has three 
children. When Mr. S. first landed in Door county, 15 cents 
was the amount of cash he had on hand to begin "business" 
with. 

1866. Andrew Carlton, farmer; came from Iowa; born 
Sweden 1834; came to America 1866; married Caroline Knud- 
son 1865; has three children. 

1866. Clement Matsen (generally known as Henry Smith) 
came from Green Bay; born Norway 1821; came to America 
1851; married Maria Christon 1846. She died 1868, aged forty- 
two years. He has three children. 

1866. John Ryan, lumberman; came from Canada, 
where he was born 1844; married Nettie Delana 1871; has one 
child. 



OTUMBA— SECOND ORGANIZED TOWN. 43 

1866. Warren Hanks, laborer; came from Illinois ; born in 
Wisconsin 1839; married Annie M. Mosier 1869; has one child. 

1866. Henry G. Hahn, landlord and proprietor of the North- 
western Hotel; came from Kewaunee county; born Germany 
1823; came to America 1849; married Barbara Haen 1858; has 
eight children. 

1866. Alexander Meikle, laborer; came from Michigan; born 
Scotland 1839; came to America 1850; married Jennette R. 
Robinson 1867; has three children. 

1866. Theodore Johnson, carpenter and joiner; came from 
Chicago; born Norway 1846; came to America 1866; married 
Margaret Daly 1873; has four children. 

1866. Nels Erickson, farmer and sail maker; came from 
Milwaukee; born Norway 1830; came to America 1854; mar- 
ried Emily Jacobs 1862; has three children. 

4 1867. Chas. Meyers, farmer; came from Ohio; born Ger- 
many 1817; came to America 18*9; married Sophia Tancing 
1849; has six children. His daughter Sophia married Anton 
Zunderman 1879, and lives in Forestville township. 

1867. Alexander Hopp, farmer; came from Prussia, where 
he was born 1843; married Barbara Heldmann 1868; has five 
children. 

1867. John Wester, farmer; born Germany 1830; came to 
America 1854; married Lizzie Myers 1860; has eight children. 

1867. D. D. Spalsbury, farmer; came from Illinois; born 
New York 1837; married Lois A. Eddy 1865; has four children. 

1867. John Houle, carpenter and joiner; came from Green 
Bay; born Depere 1843; married Ida Seymour 1858; has twelve 
children. 

1868. John Johnson, partner in the Sturgeon Bay and Bay 
View ferrv; came from Manitowoc: born Ohio 1842; married 
Susan Noble 1868; has five children. 

1868. Eugene Birmingham, well driller; came from Outa- 
gamie county; born New York 1842; married Mazilla M. Grant 
1871; has four children. 

1868. Oscar Hart, laborer; came from Chicago; born New 
York 1837; married Catherine Hogan 1865. 

1868. Francis X. Sailer, furniture dealer; came from 
Maryland; born Germany 1837; came to America 1860; married 
Annie Daubler 1860. Second marriage 1864, to Mary Michaels. 
Third marriage 1880, to Tracy Rauch; has three children. 

1868. Hugo Boes, carpenter and joiner; came from Ohio; 
born Germany 1843; came to America 1867: married Catherine 
Lorch 1874; she died 1877, aged thirty-four years. 



44 HISTORY OF DOOR COUNTY. 

1868. Thomas H. Smith, mill owner; located lands southern 
part of the county; came from Brown county; born Massa- 
chusetts 1843; married Annie Daly 1874; has three children. 

1868. Hon. C. Scofield, mill owner; located lands in south- 
ern part of the county; came from Green Bay; born New York 
1827; married Maria A. Stacy 1858; has six children. 

1868. John Leatham, mill owner; located lands in southern 
part of the county; came from New Frankin; born in Canada 
1833; married Helen L. Wolcott 1862. 

1868. Frederick Kruegor, farmer; came from Ahnapee; born 
Prussia 1826; came to America 1854; married Mary Bouspa 
1857; has seven children. 

1868. Silas Pinney, farmer; born in Ohio 1808; married 
Olive Jewett 1833; has eight children. His son George married 
Charity C. Steadman 1857; has five children, one of which, 
Olive, married Henry Young 1878, and has one child. — Smith 
married Betsey Ford 1857, and lives in Ohio. — Sarepta married 
Quimby Martin 1862, and lives in Suamico, Brown county.— 
Augustus H. married Emma Otto 1868, and lives in Sturgeon 
Bay township.— James C. married Abbey Hannan 1872, and lives 
in Sturgeon Bay township. — Mary married Frank Parkman 

1873, and lives in this village.— Phoeba A. married Perry Grant 

1874, and lives in Outagamie county. — Adalade S. married 
James Meikle 1875, and lives in this village. 

1869. Henry Heilmann, landlord and proprietor of a hotel 
in Bay View; came from Washington county, where he was 
born 1853; married Lena Delenbach in 1871; has two children. 

1869. Knud Sorenson, farmer; came from Chicago; born 
Norway 1840; came to America 1861; married Ametia Nelson 
1868; has one child. 

1869. Jacob Noll, merchant; came from Racine county; 
born Germany 1839; came to America 1853; married Margaret 
Schirsser 1868; has four children. 

1869. John P. Graass, liquor dealer; came from Germany, 
where he was born 1839; married Minnie Wagener 1873; has 
three children. 

1869. Frank A. Sampson, laborer; came from Maine, in 
which State he was born in 1849; married Rowena M. Shaff- 
stall 1872; has three children. 

1870. Martin Backey, Farmer; came from Chicago; born 
Norway, 1838; married Annie H. Sorenson 1867; has four 
children. 

1870. Wm. Rehr, farmer; born Prussia 1841; came to 
America 1866; married Margaret Broost 1873; has four chil- 
dren. 



OTUMBA— SECOND OKGANIZED TOWN. 45 

1870. Capt. A. Larson, farmer; came from Manitowoc; mar- 
ried Caroline Beackfalt 1867; has seven children. 

1870. Hermann Tauba, farmer; came from Manitowoc; born 
Germany 1842; came to America 1870; married Amelia Zieke 
1873; has four children. 

1870. A. Johnson, farmer; came from Norway, where he 
was born 1825; married Margaret Halverson 1854; has five 
children. She died in 1876. His daughter Dora married Ole 
Thompson 1874; has three children. 

1870. Archibald McEacham, druggest and physician; came 
from Chicago; born in Massachusetts, 1841; married Phoeba A. 
Barrett 1872; has two children. 

1870. Matthias Cochems, merchant; came from Michigan; 
born Germany 1837; came to America 1853; married Eliza 
Wagener 1861; has ten children. 

In the forepart of this chapter, we spoke of Mr. P. Rowley 
as being the first white settler on the banks af Sturgeon Bay, 
but that in the year 1840 he left this locality, and since that 
date we could find no record of him. Hon. John M. Reed, of 
Kewaunee, who, it seems is "following" our history, copies our 
remarks about Mr. Rowley, and in his paper, the Kewaunee 
Enterprise, cemments as follows: 

" Peter Rowley lived somewhere in the vicinity of Two Creeks or 
Sandy Bay at the time the war broke out. We believe the locality 
was called Rowley's Bay in early times. He had been a soldier, a 
drummer boy, in the war of 1812, and we remember of hearing him 
spsak of being stationed at Sackett's Harbor. When the war of the Re- 
bellion broke out in 1861 the old man's patriotic impulses would not al- 
low him to remain quietly at home, and he enlisted as drummer in the 
'Manitowoc and Kewaunee Union Rifles,' afterward Co. E. 14th Wis. 
Infantry. His hand had lost none of its cunning, and during the 
time the company was organizing and drilling at Manitowoc, he 
marched at its head, making first-class martial music with Fifer Matt 
Perry. When the company came to ,be mustered into the United 
States service, however, the mustering officer would not receive him on 
account of hi* age — he was then between 60 and 70 — and he reluc- 
tantly delivered his drum into younger hands and turned his face home- 
ward. The old man passed from earth a number of years ago. May 
the grass above his grave be ever green." 



46 HISTORY OF DOOR COUNTY. 

FOREST VILLE— THIRD ORGANIZER TOWN. 

At the December meeting of the County Board, 1857, Forest- 
ville was set off as a town, embracing the territory now in- 
cluded in that town and Clay Banks. All the rest of the 
county, except Washington Island, being included in the town 
of Otumba (Sturgeon Bay). Forestville was organized the 
next^April (1858), by a town meeting held at the house of 
Marcus McCormick. 

The early settlers of Forestville made their way to that 
vicinity by navigating the Ahnapee River, which stream runs 
through a portion of that town. The Ahnapee is still navi- 
gated to considerable extent up as far as Van Norstrand's saw 
mill, town of Forestville. J. Fetzer & Co. own, and keep busy 
a light-draught steamer and two barges, which freight forest 
products down the river. Public highways, kept in excellent 
traveling condition, to and from Green Bay, Ahnapee, and all 
parts of the county run through the town of Forestville. 
Probably no other town in the county, supported entirely by 
the products of the soil, has so many good houses, barns, etc. 

The following is a short biographical sketch of settlers now 
residing in Forestville, who have been in the county ten or 
more years. 

In the year 1852, Mr. James Keogh, Sr., with his family, came 
from Ahnapee to Forestville in a boat, and was one of the very 
first settlers in that town. At this date he has been in Forest- 
ville more years than any other person now residing there. 
Mr. Keogh was born in Ireland 1820; came to America 1852; 
married Mary Moore 1840. Second marriage 1867; to Matilda 
Machia; has four children. His son John married Eliza 
Ahern 1866, has five children. — Edward married Margaret Hen- 
nessy 1873; has four children. — Luke married Julia Davis 1875; 
has three children.— James, Jr., married C. Simons 1874; has 
three children. 

1856. Wm. Dewue, farmer; born Germany 1836; came to 
America 1855; married Catherine Tagge 1867; has four chil- 
dren. 

1855. John Stoneman; farmer; born England 1808; came to 
America 1835; married Mary Vinia 1840; has seven children. 
His daughter Sophia married Andrew Sloan 1860; has eight 
children, one of which, Mary J. married John Hennessy 1879 — 
Phoebe married Newel Langlois 1865; has four children, and 
lives in Nasewaupee township.— Luke married Ellen Davis 
1875; has two children, and lives in Nasewaupee.— George 
married JEdith Hogan 1879.— Amelia married H. Cofferin 1879. 

1855. Richard Perry, farmer; born Ireland 1840; came to 
America 1851; married Annie Knop 1867; has three children 



FORESTVILLE— THIRD ORGANIZED TOWN. 47 

1855. Jacob Ashby, farmer; born Menominee, Mich., 1845; 
married Minnie Hawkey 1867; has four children. 

1855. Matt Perry, farmer; born Ireland 1840; came to 
America 1851: married Hattelina McKinskey 1867; has six 
children. 

1855. John Bush, farmer; born Germany 1813; came to 
America 1854; married Jostenia Lacht 1835; has one child, 
Stephen, who married Mary Schnider, and has four children. 

1856. N. N. Rockwell, farmer; born Connecticut 1814; mar- 
ried Lydia C. Fittshur 1862; has one child. 

Concerning the early settlement of Forestville, Mr. Rock- 
well writes us as follows: 

Forestville, Wisconsin, { 

September, 1880. j 
N. H. Rockwell to C. I, Martin: 

I came to this town the 28th of May, 1856, At that, date there 
was no conveyance to this place except by water, and settlers were but 
few in number. I believe the following are the names of the families: 
James Keogh, Sr., and family; John Stoneman and family; Peter 
Thompson and family: Major Jos. McCormick and family; Marcus 
McCormick and family; Peter Miller and family; Andrew Sloan; Wm. 
Deuwe, Daniel Vaughn, Mrs. Bernhart and sons; John Machinsky and 

family, and myself The first store was started in '56, by Major 

Jos. McCormick and Mr. Harrison; the first sawmill and blacksmith 
shop was built in '56, Bernhardt Bros.; the first tailor shop was started 

in the fall of '56, by Lydia C. Fittshur (now my wife) Forestville 

was organized in '57, with Jos. McCormick, chairman; L. H. D. Shep- 
herd, town clerk — I think Mr. Samuel Bacon was treasurer. The 3d 
of November, 1857, was the first general election held in Forestville, 
and I was the first justice of the peace. .The 1st school was organized 
in 1859; Miss Diana Dowd, teacher, and seven pupils was the atten- 
dance. Mr. James Keogh. Sr., was the superintendent; Mr. John 
Stoneman, dark; Mr. Peter Thomoson, treasurer; Mr. Wm. Nelson, 

director The first wagon shop was started in 1862, by Peter 

Thompson. . . .The first church was built in 1869, and I think it was 
of the German Lutheran order. 

1856. Julius Bernhart, farmer; born Germany 1840; came 
to America 1852; married Minnie Kieso 1866; has eight chil- 
dren. 

1856. Robert Bernhart, farmer; born Germany 1828; came 
to America 1852; married Bertha Trousy 1862; has eight chil- 
dren. 

1856. Michael Krueger, farmer; born Germany 1834; came 
to America 1855; married Poline Sewilski 1860; has eight chil- 
dren. 



48 HISTORY OF DOOR COUNTY. 

1856. Samuel Krureger, farmer; born Germany 1829; came 
to America 1851; married Amelia Sascene 1859; has four 
children. 

1856. Mrs. Louisa Kum; was married 1850; her husband 
died 1875; she has ten children. Her daughter, Christina, 
married Ernest Walski 1871; has four children.— William 
married Mary Bucholz (now dead) 1877. — Amelia married John 
Schnider, of Kewaunee county, 1880. 

1856. Peter Miller, farmer; born in Germany 1807; came to 
America 1856; married Charlotte Goger 1829; has five children. 
His son William married Amelia Hockey 1863; has two chil- 
dren. — Martin married Caroline Duesterbeck 1866; has five 
children. Ferdinand married Alwine Hunke 1867; has four 
children. John married Albertine Hoffmann 1868; has six 
children, and lives in Nebraska. Herman married Bertha 
Miller 1869; has five children, and lives in Nebraska. 

1856. James H. Lockhart, farmer; born Ireland 1833; came 
to America 1850; married Lydia F. Bailey 1863; has four chil- 
dren. 

1857. Anton Schnider, owner of blacksmith shop and farm; 
born Germany 1827; came to America 1853; has seven children. 
His daughter Mary married Stephen Bush 1868; has four chil- 
dren. Odelia married John Meyers 1875; has three children, 
John is hotel keeper. 

1858. John Sclies, farmer; born Germany 1821; came to 
America 1857; wife died 1869; has five children. His daugh- 
ter Eliza married Martin Smith 1875; has two children. Jane 
married Aluois Haberli, of Sturgeon Bay, in 1880. 

1861. Anton Theisan, farmer; born Germany 1830; came to 
America 1854; married Lizzie Achenbach 1855; has five chil- 
dren. His daughter Catherine married Peter Leonhardt 1879. 

1864. Henry Brockhaden, farmer; born Germany 1836; came 
to America 1857; married Mary Miffs 1863; has five children. 

1865. Chas. Zastrow, farmer; born Germany 1847; came to 
America 1856; married Bertha Hayes 1869; has four children. 

1865. Louis Machia, farmer; born New York 1842; married 
Ann Kennedy 1873; has three children. 

1865. John Machia, farmer; born New York 1844; married 
Lizzie Wilson 1870; has six children. 

1865. Wm. Klanski, farmer; born Prussia 1842; came to 
America 1852; married Minnie Zastrow 1870; has two children. 

1866. Philip Stich, farmer; born Germany 1833; came to 
America 1848; married Annie Stover 1856; has eight children. 



FORESTVILLE— THIRD ORGANIZED TOWN. 49 

1866. John Seiler, Sr., born Germany 1798; came to America 
1864; married Mary Fillsil 1828; has five children. His daugh- 
ter Annie married Frank Kalamback in 1828; and has five 
children, and lives in Manitowoc— John married Sarah 
Yankee 1862; has seven children — Frank married Rosa Hurda 
1876; has one child.— Leopold married Mary Polegeck 1864; has 
seven children. — Alouis married Kate Kalob 1876; has two 
children. 

1866. Joseph Machia, farmer; born New York 1846; married 
Celia Olsen 1874; has three children. 

1866. John Taage, Sr., farmer; born Germany 1823; came 
to America 1866; married Anna Duva 1848; has five childreo. 
His son John married Aulena Witzki 1879. — Catherine married 
Wm. Deuwe 1867. 

1867. John Fetzer, merchant and grist mill owner; born in 
Germany in 1840; came to America 1850; married Annie 
Fetzer 1866; has two children. 

1867. Michael Wolski, farmer; born in Germany 1832; came 
to America 1867; married Caroline Schultz 1874; has two chil- 
dren. 

1867. Gottfreid Matzki, farmer; born Germany 1838; came 
to America '67; married Johannah Matski 1866; has six chil- 
dren. 

1867. Jacob Hankel farmer; born Germany 1840; came to 
America '66; married Adelade Sharp 1866; has four children. 

1868. Patrick Writt, farmer; born in Canada 1838; came to 
the States 1868; married Bridget Waters 1868; has five chil- 
dren. 

1868. Frank McDermott, school teacher; born in Canada 
East 1854; sewes on his own buttons— is a bachelor. 

1868. Robert Karson, farmer; born in Ireland 1822; came 
to America 1846; married Cathrine Johnsen 1862; has one 
child. 

1868. August Brandt, farmer; born Germany 1830; came to 
America 1861; married Wilhelmine Witzke 1858; has five chil- 
dren. 

1868. John Rupp; born Germany 1819; came to America 
1850; is a self-button sewer (bachelor). 

1868. Ferdinand Wooler, farmer; born Germany 1834; came 
to America 1868; wife died 1877; has four children. 

1868. Casper Heittiger, farmer; born Germaay 1835; came 
to America '58; married Amelia Quallmann 1860. Second 
marriage 1874, to Bertha Stickman; has eight children. 

1868. John Bachlolz, farmer; born Germany 1832; came to 
America 1860; married Louisa Demmon 1858; has three chil- 
dren. 



50 HISTORY OF DOOR COUNTY. 

1868. Conrad Kimpel, farmer; born Oermany 1823; came 
to America 1854; married Mary Kowal 1849; has five children. 
His daughter Katie married Chris Sehous 1867; has seven 
children, and lives in Calumet county.— William married 
Odelia Greening 1872; has two children. 

1869. B. McDermott, farmer; born Canada 1858; came to 
the U. S. in '69; not married. 

1869. Thos. McDermott, born Canada 1859; came to the 
II. S. in '69: single man. 

1869. Geo, Fowles. farmer; born New York 1836; married 
Annie Parker 1858; has one child. 

1869. James Sullivan, farmer; born Canada 1844; married 
Maria Hennessy 1867; has five children. 

1869. John Wulf, farmer; born Prussia 1841; came to 
America 1867; married Annie Lienau 1870; has four children. 

1869. Joseph Foster, farmer; born Germany 1829; came to 
America 1856; married Eliza Weinniger 1853; has five chil- 
dren. 

1869. Joseph Zettel, farmer; born Germany 1848; married 
Tracy Stebert 1872; has four children. 

1869. Joseph Bretl, farmer; born Germany 1837; came to 
America I860; married Casper Meyer 1857. Second marriage 
1864, to Amelia Witzki; has eight children 

1869. Anton Brei. farmer; born Germany 1848; came to 
America 1867; married Augusta Wiski 1872; has four children. 

1870. Alexander Lawson, Sr., farmer; born in Ireland 1827; 
came to America 1836; married Ellen M. Ahern 1846; has six 
children. Alexander Jr., married Katie Hireman; Ellen mar- 
ried Alexander R. Lints; Wm. married Sarah J. Duean; Anna 
married James E. Spalsbury. 

1870. Martin Hayes; born Ireland 1837; came to America 
1840; married Mary Waters 1861; has seven children. 

1870. Ferdinand Poplar, farmer; born Germany 1844; came 
to America 1867; married Mary Auermucller 1866; has seven 
children. 

1870. Wm. Stueber, farmer; born Germany 1846; came to 
America 1870; married Odelia Eckert 1861; has four children. 

1870. Anton Guidener, farmer; born Germany 1825; came to 
America '57 ; married Maggie 1857 ; has three children. 

1870. Chas. A. B. Miller, farmer; born in Germany 1837; 
came to America 1861; married Catherine Eischenschink 1863; 
has one child. 

1870. Patrick Waters, farmer; born in Canada 1850; came 
to U. S. 1870; married Mary Flinn 1876; has one child. 

1870. Joachim Dreves, farmer; born Germany 1841; came to 
America in 1868; married Dora Wulf 1866; has five children. 



GIBRALTAR—FOURTH ORGANIZED TOWN. 51 

1870. Henry Leege, farmer; born Germany 1835; came to 
America 1868; married Dora Miller 1864; has three children. 

1870. John Leege, farmer; born Germany 1841 ; came to 
America in '68; married Mary Green 1867; has two children. 

1870. Robert Lockhart, farmer; born in Ireland 1836; came 
to America 1848; married Mary Moore 1862; has four children. 

1870. Wm. Birdsall, farmer; born in Manitowoc county; 
married Eliza Waters 1872. Second marriage to Annie Writt 
1880; has two children. 

1870. Martin Schmitz, hotel keeper; born Germany 1840; 
came to America 1864; married Tracy Schlise 1876; has two 
children. 



GIBRALTAR— FOURTH ORGANIZED TOWN. 

At the December meeting of the County Board, 1857, Gibral- 
tar was set off as a township, consisting of all that part of the 
county north of what is now the town of Sevastopol, except 
Washington Island. The town was organized the followiug 
spring, by the election of officers; the first election being held 
at the house of Asa Thorpe's, who still resides at Fish Creek. 
"Gibraltar" was so named because of its general rough, rocky, 
and bluffy surface. Mr. Solomon Beery, now of Bailey's Har- 
bor, was the first town clerk, and Rev. E. M. Iverson, the first 
superintendent of schools of Gibraltar township. 

The following is a short biographical sketch of parties now 
living in Gibraltar, who came to Door county ten or more years 
ago. 

In the year 1845, Asa Thorpe, farmer, first came to Door 
county. However, his stay was short, and not until '54 or* '55 
did he make permanent settlement. He was born in New 
York 1820; first came west 1844; married Eliza Atkinson 1844; 
has five children. His daughter Augusta, married James Mc 
Donald, of Ahnapee. Herbert married Nellie McDonold; 
Byron married Elvira Edgerton. 

1850. Ole L. Larson, farmer; born Norway 1822; came to 
America '49; married Maria Gunnel 1855; has six children. 
His daughter Helen married Martin Olsen, of Liberty Grove; 
Sevina C. married 0. L. Olsen, of North Bay. 

1851. Christian Knudson, sailor; born Norway, 1813; came 
America 1848; married Elizabeth 1857. Has no chil- 
dren. 

1852. Abraham Oneson, farmer; born Norway 1809; came 
to America 1849; married Catherine Inger 1846; has two chil- 
dren. 

1852. Ever Nelson, farmer, cooper, and fisherman; 
borri Norway 1819; came to America 1846; married 



52 HISTORY OF DOOR COUNTY. 

Mavia Thompson 1842; has four children. His daughter 
Thorine married Thomas Nelson. Hannah married Marvin B. 
Hanson. Addie married Anton Anderson, and lives in Michi- 
gan. 

1852. Peter Weberg, farmer, etc.; born Norway 1823; came 
to America 1851; married Olive Nelson 1848; has six children. 

1852. H. P. Jacobs, sailor; born Denmark 1817; came to 
America 1844; married Karen Melchive 1850. Second marrige 
1856, to Ingeborg Johnson. Third marriage 1865, to Ann 
Peters. Has two children. 

Mr. Jacobs gives us a few lines concerning, early dates, as 
follows: 

EPHRAIM, Wisconsin, ) 

September 22d, 1880. ) 
H. P. Jacobs to C. I. Martin: 

I first landed in Door county at Sturgeon Bay, October, 1852, and 
settled on what is now known as E. C. Daniel's place, where T resided 
for eight months. The Government sold the land, and j tore down 
my house, loaded it into a boat, and came to Ephraim. This was then 
such a dense forest that, with axe in hand, I had to step ashore and 

clear a place to unload the boat Rev. A. M, Iverson, now of Fort 

Howard, was one of the first settlers in this place, and the first town 
Superintendent of schools, He was also pastor of the United Breth- 
ren Church of thft Moravians; and it was at that time our churche 
here was built. It was the first, in the county — I do not remember 
the date. . . .1 have often said: * 4 I was the first in this place," but I 
shall never again be the first to help make a new settelment. It some- 
times makes me shudder, even now. when I think of those first days, 
and it is a wonder how we got through. 

1853. Henry C. Johnson, sailor; born Denmark, 1807; came 
to America 1844; married Sophia Malene 1852; has one child. 

1853. Jorgen Amundson, farmer; born Norway 1820; came 
to America 1853; married Anne Hulene 1854; has six children. 

1854. Soren Hansen, farmer; born Norway 1799; came to 
America 1854; married Matilda Hanson 1825 (the couple cele- 
brated their golden wedding 1875); has eight children. His 

son Hans married Abigeil ; Henry married Hendrieka 

; Anne married Hendrick Anderson; Christiad married 

Maren ; Sophia married Ingebret Torgeson; Maria mar- 
ried John Thoreson; Anton married Magelena ; Karen 

married August Lindquist. 

1854. Henry Hanson, farmer; born Norway 1828; came to 
America 1854; married Henrietta Olsen 1854; has six children. 
His daughter Amelia married Axtel Linquest, of Menominee, 
Michigan. Henrietta married Ole Torstenson. of Liberty 
Grove. 



GIBRALTAR— FOURTH ORGANIZED TOWN. 53 

1854. John Marshall, farmer; born in Brown county, 
Wisconsin, 1835; married Mary Truckey; has two children. 

1855. Carl Nelson, farmer; born Norway 1829; came to 
America 1855; married Stina Peterson 1851. Second marriage 
1872; has eight children. His daughter Minnie married Hans 
Torgeson. 

1855. Chas. Jeffcott, farmer; born England 1845; came to 
America 1849; married Lucy A. Doty 1874; has two children. 

1855. Aslag Anderson, merchant and farmer; born Norway 
1829; came to America 1849; married Ann M. Hanson 1862; 
has nine children. 

1855. Myron H. Stevens, farmer; born New York 1821; came 
west fall of 1836; married Mary F. Ingalls. Second marriage 
1860, to Annie I. Graham; has six children. His daughter 
Dora married Henry C. Williams. 

1856. Peter Peterson, merchant; born Norway 1821; came 
to America 1846; married Mary Nelson 1851; has no children. 

1856. John Norton, farmer; born England 1829; came to 
America 1853; married Martha Wilford 185*3; has twelve chil- 
dren. His daughter Nellie A. married Truman A. Thorpe 1880. 

1857. August Hemple, farmer; born Prussia 1851; came to 
America 1857; married Ulreka Miller 1874; has three children. 

1857. Thomas Goodletson, farmer; born Norway 1816; came 
to America 1853; married Kjesten Peterson 1842; has six chil- 
dren. His son Goodlet married Mary , and lives on 

Washington Island. Jennie married Samuel Hall, and lives at 
Benton Harbor, Michigan. Cornelius married H. Owman, of 
Ephraim. Christena married Ole Olsen. 

1857. Stephen Norton, farmer; born in England 1832; came 
to America 1851; married Rachael Jarman 1857; has six chil- 
dren. 

1857. George Poppleton, fisherman; born New York 1845; 
married Emily Willit 1866; has four children. 

1857. Stephen Mapes, shoemaker; born New York 1811; 
married Margaret Bright 1832; has seven children. His 
daughter Rosetta married Stillman Goodnow; Maria married 
John Potter; Delia married Lewis Churches; Julia married 
William Barnes; Alvin married Sarah Fowles; Calvin married 
Hattie Fowles; John married Betsy Moore. 

1858. Chas. Jarman, farmer; born England 1841; came to 
America 1855; married Christena Foster 1876; has two chil- 
dren. 

1858. Martin Minor, farmer; born in New York 1816; came 
West '46; married Julia St. Ores, 1840; has five children. His 



54 HISTORY OF DOOR COUNTY. 

son Hon. Edward S. married Tillie E. Graham 1867; has four 
children. Elrica married E. Kensey. Alfred married 
Martha Lyman. Augustine married Betsy Toseland. 

1859. George Jones, fisherman; born England 1835; came 
to America 1849; married Emma Hinks 1864; has seven chil- 
dren. 

1859. Edward S. Raymond, farmer; born Denmark 1835; 
came to America 1840; married Elizabeth Fish 1857; has six 
children. 

1859. Wm. Fry, farmer; born in England 1838; came to 
America 1857; served in the Russian war; married Alzaday 
Griffin 1862 (she died 1870), has one child. 

1859. John Brown, mechanic; born Illinois 1837; married 
Mary E. Popple ton 1861; has four children. 

1860. J. A. Smith, salesman; born Denmark 1838; came to 
America 1853; married Bertha Valentinson 1868; has four 
children. 

1860. John Hogan, farmer; born Ireland 1827; came to 
America 1847; married Bridget Moloney 1854; has twelve chil- 
dren. His daughter Mary married John Sloan, of Bailey's 
Harbor. Bridget married Moses Cody. Nora married John 
Philips. 

1860. Augustus Lallemont, farmer; born in Door county 
1860; married Lillian Thayer 1878. 

1860. G. J. Forsvold, farmer; born Norway 1810; came to 
America 1855; married Martha Larson 1830; has two chil- 
dren. 

1861. C. P. Fairchild, merchant and farmer; born Massa- 
chusetts 1830; married Sarah M. Judd 1851; has five children. 
His son C. E. married Lillie Leman. 

1861. John Roggendoff, farmer; born Prussia 1832; came to 
America 1858; married Catherine Lechler; has ten children. 

1862. Rufus M. Wright, farmer, attorney and counseler at 
law; was county superintendent of schools four years, and 
county judge for over nine years; born in New York 1832; 
married Elizabeth Hoyt 1857. Second marriage to Ellen 
Bunten; has four children. 

Mr. Wright gives us the following facts of 

THE POPULATION OF A REMARKABLE FAMILY. 
Gibraltar, Wisconsin, ) 
October, 1880. 5 
R. M. Wright to C. J. Martin; 

James Cornell, born in New York 1811, married in 1 831 to Eliza- 
beth Southward, aged nineteen years; moved to Washington Harbor 
this county, in 1050. They have hnd ten children —five sons and five 
daughters — and at this date all are yet living, and married. The total 



GIBEALTAR— FOURTH ORGANIZED TOWN. 55 

number of children, grand children, and great grand children resulting 
from the first marriage is eighty -Jive y of which seventy-four are now 
living! All of Mr. James Cornell's children were fishermen, or 
married to fishermen. The old couple are now living at Green Bay, 

aged sixty-nine years, and are, we understand, in good health For 

the above facts we thank the excellent memory of Mrs. H. Root, of 
Bailey's Harbor. 

1862. Christian Lechler, farmer; born Germany 1814; came 
to America 1851; married Phoeba Honey; has three children. 
His son John married Philiza Frei. Cathrine married John 
Roggendurff. Dora married Alexander Wilson. 

1863. Daniel L. Fish, farmer; born in Massachusetts 1830; 
married Caroline M. Lincoln 1855; has six children. 

1863. Wm. Darling, farmer; was a member of the Iron 
brigade in the late rebellion, also a soldier in the Mexican 
war; married Sarah E. Ellis 1854. 

1863. Christian Vedder, farmer; born Prussia 1827; came to 
America 1858; married Caroline Cass; has two children. His 
daughter Anna married Mr. Hartman, and has two children. 

1864. Josiah Judd, farmer; born Massachusetts 1825; mar- 
ried Mary Griffin 1843; has six children. Her daughter Ella 
married Peter Vanbramer. Hattie married Wm. Closs. 

1865. Samuel Churches, landlord and farmer; born in Eng- 
land 1838; came to America 1850; married Libby Barringer 
1869; has four children. 

1865. W. Bailey, farmer and lumberman; born New Hamp- 
shire 1845; married Cornelia Edger ten 1868; has five chil- 
dren. 

1865. Nicholas Kill, farmer; born New York 1846; married 
Ida Moses 1877; has one child. 

1865. Charles McSeeney, farmer; born on Prince 
Edward's Island 1846; married Elizabeth Aushutz 1869; has 
four children. 

1865. Levi Vorous, farmer; born in New York 1837; married 
Rachel Magee 1860; has nine children. 

1866. Martin Olsen, shoemaker; born Norway 1834; came 
to America 1866; married Maria 1860; has one child. 

1867. George Reinhardt, farmer; born Russia; came to 
America 1847 ; married Louisia Runkel 1857; has nine chil- 
dren. 

1867. Carl Lundberg, cooper; born Sweden 1821; came to 
America 1849; married Caroline Poulsen 1844; has four chil- 
dren. His daughter Therasa married Chas. Lund, and lives in 
Kansas. 



56 HISTORY OF DOOR COUNTY. 

1868. Ole Weberg, farmer; born Norway 1805; married 
Regina Allen, 1830; has five children. His son Andrew married 
Anna Leman. Barbara married Henry Klein. 

1868. Henry Stanley, keeper of the Eagle bluff light-house; 
born Norway 1823; came to America 1844; married Cathrine 
Hush 1854. 

1870. Frank Gustafson, farmer; born Sweden 1841; came to 
America 1870; married Anna Anderson; has five children. 



THE TOWN OF CHAMBERS' ISLAND. 

That part of Door county known as Chambers' Island, was 
so named in honor of Capt. Chambers, who lost his life there 

during the Black Hawk war. Messrs. David Clow and 

Brooks were probably the first settlers of note. In about the 
year 1852 they built a small vessel on the shore of the Island. 
The little craft was successfully launched and was a "good 
boat for her inches," as our sailor reporter termed it. Messrs. 
Clow and Brooks also took up a homestead on the Island, and 
erected nice frame houses. The structures were well painted, 
and to-day are fair looking buildings. 

At a meeting of the County Board, November 9th, 1858, 
Chambers' Island was set off as a township. The first Tues- 
day in April, 1859, a town meeting was held at the school 
house, and the town put upon its feet. The County Board, at 
the May meeting, 1859, attached the Island to the town of 
Gibraltar, the authorities of the town of Chambers Island 
having failed to elect town officers at the annual meeting. 
All books were turned over to the clerk of the town of Gib- 
raltar. 



BRUSSELS— FIFTH ORGANIZED TOWN. 

The greater portion of the population of the town of 
Brussels is of Belgian nativity or birth, and by their request 
the town was called "Brussels"— the same name as the city 
which is the Capital of Belgium. 

At the February meeting of the County Board, 1858, Brussels 
was set off as a township, and the Board resolved that the 
town should be organized by holding a town election the first 
Tuesday in April, 1858, at the house of J. B. Smith, Sugar 
Creek. The town records show, however, that Brussels was not 
organized until 1859; the election being held at the store of 
Michael Smith, Sugar Creek. At the time Brussels was made 
a town, it covered the territory now divided into the three 
towns of Brussels, Union, and Gardner. To-day Brussels is 
one of the best towns in the county, has excellent roads, and 
in every direction stretch large and well improved farms. 



BRUSSELS— FIFTH ORGANIZED TOWN. 57 

The present settlers now residing in Brussels, who have been 
in the county ten or more years, are the following: 

1855. Francois Patris, farmer; born Belgium 1817; married 
Mary J. Toba 1839; has three children. Matilda married 
Joseph Dekeyser 1862; has nine children, and lives in Union. — 
Florence married Frank Evrard 1869; has four children, and 
lives in Union.- -Josephine married John Evrard 1867; has one 
child and lives in Union. 

1855. Lewis Mignou, farmer; born Belgium 1842; married 
Mary L. Gulis 1868; has five children. 

1855. Theodore Rouer, farmer; born Belgium 1830; married 
Antoinette Eraly 1865; has six children. 

1855. Chas. Rouer, farmer; born Belgium 1845; is still a 
single man, planted on a good farm. 

1855. Joseph Rouer, farmer; born Belgium 1832; married 
Mary Ranaye 1869; has four children. 

1855. Frank Dennis, farmer; born Belgium 1824; married 
Cathrine Diskley 1864; has nine children. 

1855. Frank Gaspart, farmer; born Belgium 1825; married 
CelinaLapage 1846; has four children. His daughter Nora 
married Desire Englebert 1865; has five children.— John F. 
married Antonette Gillette 1874, has three children.— Mary 
married Isaac Gilson 1880. 

1855. Josephine, widow, married Baptist Dewit 1861. He 
died 1879, aged 55 years. She has five children. Her daugh- 
ter Malinda married Gustav Gerion 1880. 

1856. Edward Vangindertaelen, farmer; born in Belgium 
1821; married Mary T. Kinard 1852; has seven children. His 
son Charles married Odel Delvoux 1876; has four children. 
Louis married Estere Legloo 1877; has two children. William 
L. married Josephine Vangindertaelen 1878; has one child. 

1856. Felix Massart, farmer; born Belgium 1853; married 
Mary L. Alloid 1877; has two children. 

1856. Mary E. Massart, owns a good farm; born Belgium 
1849. Is an old maid. 

1856. John B. Massart, farmer; born Belgium 1844; married 
Lizzie Quertemont 1874; has two children. 

1856. John Englebert, farmer; born Belgium 1812; married 
Mary J. Perrier 1841; has five children. His son Felix mar- 
ried Juliane Francart 1876; has five children. Desire married 
Emerance Gaspart 1868. Joseph Emerance Gaspart 1869; has 
six children. Charles married Mary Quoisman 1871; has four 
children. Mary married Eugene Hautlet 1877; has one child. 

1856. Antoine Mohemont, farmer; born Belgium 1836; mar- 
ried Henriette Leglice 1845; has one child, Antonette, who mar- 
ried John Boucher 1862; has three children. 



58 HISTOEY OF DOOR COUNTY. 

1856. Clement Basinne, farmer; born Belgium 1824; married 
Mary T. Dogcas 1851; has three children. Trace married 
Joseph Connard 1875; has two children. 

1856. Martin Baye, farmer; born in Belgium 1816; married 
Augustine Dogcas i852; has two coildren. 

1856. Florence, widow, married Splinger 1850. He 

died 1878, aged 59 years. She has four children. Her daugh- 
ter Augustine married Pascal Degrandgagnagel863; has seven 
children, and lives in Red River. Mary T. married Alphonse 
Qnertemont 1876; has two children. 

1856. Celestin Delvaux, farmer; born Belgium 1831. Is a 
bachelor, and owns a good farm. 

1856. Constant Delvaux, farmer; born Belgium 1830; mar- 
ried Rosala Dashby 1862; has six children. 

1856. Ettienne Daudois, farmer; born in Belgium 1828; 
married Octavie Delvoux 1856; has five children. Rosala mar- 
ried Frank Rounye 1875. 

1856. Alexis Frank, farmer; born in Belgium 1826; married 
Desira Barbier 1853. 

1856. Joseph Quertimont, farmer; born Belgium 1815; mar- 
ried Rosala Vachman 1845. She died 1876, aged 54 years. Mr. 
G. has five children. His daughter Josephine married Al. 
Mina 1871; has two children. Amoline married Edward Zep- 
kerin 1874; has three children. Lizzie married John Massart 
1874; has two children. Virginia married Frank Mallien 1877. 

1856. Julian Dachelet, farmer; born Belgium 1831. Is a 
bachaelor. 

1856. John B. Bero, farmer; born Belgium 1840; married 
Mary T. Robson 1840: has seven children. His son Anton 
married Sidonie Carpiaux 1873; has three children. Joseph 
married Francis Minoux 1872; has four children. Mary mar- 
ried John Namur 1862; has eleven children. Hursils married 
Isidor Trembley 1863; has six children. Mary J. married 
August Charles 1868; has three children. 

1856. Peter Lardinois, farmer; born Belgium 1810; mar- 
ried (Men Malee 1830; has four children. His daughter 
Desisre married Paul Lafebvre 1876; has two children. John 
married Mary Leneay 1880; has one child. 

1856. Prosper Naze, farmer and blacksmith; born Belgium 
1835; married Fardinante Doufe 1854; has seven children. 
Theodor married Lenore Comble 1873; has three children, 
(xustav married Tilly Kaye 1879; has one child. 

1856. Adel, widow, married Charles Tibonne 1850. He died 
1873, aged 52 years. She has five children. 

1856. Joseph Gillson, farmer; born Belgium 1825; married 
Mary J. Leouis 1846; has three children. His son Alexander 



BRUSSELS— FIFTH ORGANIZED TOWN. 59 

married Trace Legrave 1870; has four children. Joseph mar- 
ried Odil Legrave 1870. She died 1878, aged 24 years, leaving 
two chi Ldren. — Isaac married Mary Gaspart 1880. 

1856. Alexander Rinse, farmer; born Belgium 1821; married 
Efriza Flawin 1851; has six children. 

1856. Antoine Naniot, farmer; born Belgium 1830; married 
Trace Naze 1857. She died 1869, aged 33 years. Second mar- 
riage 1878, to Rette Jockare; has four children. 

1856. Frank Martin, farmer; born Belgium 1810; married 
Trace Massart 1835; has three children. Julian married Pros- 
perese Capitan 1862; has nine children, one of which, Malina 
married M. Arily 1880.— Joseph married Dolphin Jockmy 1866; 
has four children.— Frank Jr., married Mary Baudoin 1879; 
has one child. 

1856. Amoand Naze, farmer; born Belgium 1807; married 
Rosala Louis 1830; has five children. Eugene married Lena 

1878; has two children, and lives in Kewaunee county. 

Desisre married John Nolet 1862; has four children. Amos 
married Laura Gada 1869; has four children. 

1856. Antoin Baugnet, farmer; born Belgium 1828; married 
Mary L. Ladock 1852; has two children. Mary J. married 
Julian Juliane 1874, and lives in Kansas. Eli married Peter 
Bellins 1876; has one child. 

1856. Michael Balza, farmer; born Belgium 1823; married 
Julia Jadule 1852; has seven children. His daughter Mary 
married Joseph Bouchonville 1876; has two children, and lives 
in Kewaunee county.— Sophia married Florence Sacotte 1877; 
has one child and lives in Gardner. 

1856. Vesonie, widow, married Charles Falk 1855. He died 
1875, aged 52 years. She has two children, one of which 
Julian married Felican Monfils 1878; has two children. 

1856. Lambert Comble, farmer; born Belgium 1821; married 
Mary J. Rouer 1844. She died in '56, aged 36 years. Second 
marriage 1857, to Mary T. Kinard; has seven children. 

1856. Frank Komber, farmer; born Belgium 1851; married 
Mary Nuwahr 1876; has two children. 

1856. Eloi Hautlet, farmer; born Belgium 1824; married 
Maxiame Ottah 1851; has six children. Eugene married Mary 
Englebert 1878; has one child.— Feliciane married Frank 
Doassi, 1875; has four children.— Versenia married Joseph 
Kauwenberg 1875; has one child, and lives in Kewaunee Co. 
Mary T. married John Delfosse 1878; has one child, and lives in 
Kewaunee county. 

1856. Joseph Gigot, farmer; born Belgium 1816; married 
Caroline Hellow; has five children. Mary married Marcelon 
Doiichley 1865; has four children, and lives in Green Bay. 



60 HISTORY OF DOOR COUNTY. 

Eugene married Flora Dedecals 1870; has four children. Louis 
married Selele Revier 1874; has two children. 

1856. Charles Gillson, too old to work, (his son Frank carries 
on the farm); born Belgium 1792; married Mary Clement 1816; 
has two children. Jennie married John Bosman 1855; has two 
children. 

1856; John Guelette, farmer; born Belgium 1848; maraied 
Sophia Gaspart 1870; has four children. 

1856. Adrien Francois, farmer; born Belgium 1830; mar- 
ried Flora Scetnogle 1851. She died 1862, aged 27 years. 
Second marriage 1863, to Fuvia Piette; has* eight children. 
His daughter Celestiane married Joseph Piette 1877; has one 
child. 

1856. Charles Dewit, farmer; born Belgium 1834; married 
Mary Lumbe 1853; has four children, one of which, Jennie, 
married Emii Quesman 1880. 

1856. Eugene Delfosche, farmer; born Belgium 1827; mar- 
ried Dessire Touno 1854; has four child. 

1856. Felican Macaux, farmer; born Belgium 1845; married 
Felician Roahr 1862; has seven children. 

1857. Joseph Francois, farmer; born Belgium 1846; married 
Deerie Gaspart 1867; has four children. 

1857. Nobert Mignon, farmer; born Belgium 1815; married 
Nora Lorent 1840; has three children. Francoise married 
Joseph Baro 1873; has three children. 

1857. Toussain Dachlet, farmer; born Belgium 1833; mar- 
ried Philonene Befay 1866; has six children. 

1857. Ferdinand Coco, farmer; born Belgium 1835; married 
Louisa Counard 1862 ; has six children. 

1857. Ignace Zephrin, farmer; born Belgium 1808; married 

Juliane 1844. She died 1877, aged 70 years. Has six 

children. Ferdinant married Rosala Demont 1868; has seven 

children, and lives in Green Bay. Julian married Anna 

1870; has six children, and lives in Green Bay. Ceine mar- 
ried Toine Schal 1866; has seven children. Floria married 
Lizzie Piette 1872; has four children. Julie married George 
Johnson 1873; has three children. Edward married Amodine 
Quertimont 1874; ius three children. 

1857. Alexander Herlache, farmer; born Belgium 1826; mar- 
ried Floranta Tonnon 1852; has one child, 

1857. Peter Devos, farmer; born Belgium 1816; married 
Lucy Levand 1848. She died 1850. Second marriage 1851, to 
Mary C. Zeglow. She died 1870, aged 62 years. Third mar- 
riage 1872, to Louisa Zoudroy. He has sixteen children. His 
daughter Clemos married Charles Roily 1875. Odele married 
Joieph Vandrick 1877; has two children. Joseph married 



BRUSSELS— FIFTH ORGANIZED TOWN. 61 

1878, and lives in Depere. Clement married Antonette 

Heraly 1880, and has one child. 

1857. Victor Bueus, farmer; born Belgium 1837; married 
Juliane Charles 1864; has five children. 

1857. John B. Charles, farmer; born Belgium 1839; married 
Secele Massar 1850; has five children. 

1857. Celestin, widow, married Louis Quesmant 1852. He 
died 1875, aged 53 years. She has three children. Mary mar- 
ried Charles Englebert 1874; has four children. Emil married 
Jennie Dewit 1880. 

1857. Antonette, widow, married Theodore Lebotte 1856. He 
died 1878, aged 55 years. She has two children, boys, which 
carry on the farm. 

1857. Bernard Gaspart, farmer; born Belgium 1852; mar- 
ried Clemente Moms 1871. She died 1877, aged 24 years. She 
had one child. 

1857. Leonard Leelou, farmer; born Belgium 1831; married 
Mary T. Piette 1855; has five children. Hostense married Louis 
Vangindertaelen 1877; has one child. 

1858. Alexander Pierr, farmer; born Belgium 1831; married 
Celestiane Mignon 1860; has four children. 

1858. Eli Simonds, farmer; born 1843; married Filoman 
Ornien 1863; has seven children. 

1859. John Moore, farmer; born Ireland 1816; married Ellen 
Harrington 1850; has nine children. His son Garrite married 
Maggie Donland 1879, and is farming in Gardner township. 

1859. Charles Piette, farmer; born Belgium 1828; married 
Jennie Larou 1852; has seven children. Orilee married Florent 
Genlette 1872; has three children, and lives in Union town- 
ship. Lizzie married Floria Zephrine 1872; has four children. 
Joseph married Celestian Francois 1876; has one child. 

1860. Charles Miller, farmer; born Germany 1819; married 
Elizabeth Moss 1850; has two children. Caroline married 
Charles Williams 1875; has three children, and lives in Kewau- 
nee county. Cathrine married Joseph Kump 1874; has two 
children, and lives in Kewaunee county. 

1860. Joseph Piette, farmer; born Belgium 1835; married 
Josephine Roahr 1861; has six children. 

1861. John Kisar, farmer; born Bohemia 1825; married 
Elizabeth Tikalspie 1852; has three children. 

1863. Alexander Munier, farmer; born Belgium 1810; mar- 
ried Cathrine Mirlier 1839; has four children. Harriette mar- 
ried Frank Lagrave 1869; has three children, and lives in 
Kewaunee county. Floriente married John B. Francois 1872; 
has four children. Alexander Jr., married Louisa Legrave 
1879: has one child. 



62 HISTORY OF DOOR COUNTY. 

1863. Martin Swoboda, farmer; born Austria 1815; married 
Josephine Dredache 1840. She died 1874, aged 56 years. He 
has nine children. Mary married John Schwisbaski 1861 ; has 
eight children, and lives in Milwaukee. Hannah married M. 
Higktion 1864; has seven children, and lives in Green Bay. 
Frank married Francoise Nowak 1869; has five children. 
Anna married Joseph Nowak 1876; has two children. Rosa 
married Frank Gregor 1877; has one child. Albert married 
Cathrine Mezarah 1877; has one child. 

1864. Mathias Flachac, farmer; born Bohemia 1829; mar- 
ried Mary Jacobs 1859; has six children. Christena married 
Joseph Cose 1878; has one child, and lives in Kewaunee 
county. 

1864. Oliver Dedeken, farmer; born Belgium 1825; married 
Josephine Piette 1850; has eight children. Flora married 
Eugen Rinquin 1870; has four children; Mary married Charles 
B. Enuing 1872; has three children, and lives in Union town- 
ship. Theofiield married Julia Leevey 1876; has two children. 
Maggie married Martin Charles 1876; has three children, and 
lives in Union township. 

1864. Joseph Lumacy, farmer; born Belgium 1822; married 
Mary T. Brichy 1846; has three children. Octave mar- 
ried Joseph Hussin 1872; has five children.Mary married John 
Lardinois 1880; has one child. 

1867. Carl Metzke, farmer; born Prussia 1844; married 
Augusta Prahl 1873; has three children. 

1868. Paschal Francois, farmer; born Belgium 1840; married 
MaryLouey 1870; has six children. 

1868. Peter Benien, farmer; born Belgium 1816; married 
Mary L. Williams 1857; has four children. 

1869. Frank Flemal, farmer; born Belgium 1840; married 
Mary T. Bosnian 1863; has two children. 

1869. Hubert Labedelle, farmer; born Belgium 1842; married 
Rosala Noiel 1866; has three children. 

1869. Anton Verlee, farmer; born Belgium 1835; married 
Mary Bonnet 1858; has five children, 

1869. Gregor Wauthien farmer; born Belgium 1818; married 
Rosala Vrakeman 1845; has three children. Ortanse married 
Alfons Dabroux 1871; has four children. Joseph married 
Josephine Degadin 1876; has one child. 

1870. Eugne Degardin, farmer; born Belgium 1827; mar- 
ried Ferdinante Detiere 1856; has five children. Josephine 
married Joseph Wanthin 1877; has one child. Mary married 
Peter Mullian 1880. 

1870. Eugen Dupont, farmer; born Belgium 1825; married 
Julia Laderou 1857; has four children. Henry married Lizzie 
Jarve'1879; has one child. 



LIBERTY GROVE— SIXTH ORGANIZED TOWN. 63 

1870. Peter Bernville, farmer; born Belgium 1824 ; married 
Ann M. Bompare 1859, She died 1874; aged 45 years. He has 
six children. 

1870. Henry Kroanang, farmer; born Germany 1835; mar- 
ried Fredrica Cerleng 1860; has three children. 

1870 Anton Greitner, farmer; born Germany 1834; married 
Margaret Wheatman 1857: has three children. 

1870. Constant Flemal, farmer; born Belgium 1837; mar- 
ried Mary T. Moms 1869; has two children. 

Brussels has many singular attractions, and among the 
number is that of a queer boy or man. He was born Belgium 
1854, and consequently is 26 years old. His name is Alexis 
Johndrain, and he is about the size of a 10 or 12 year old boy. 
His mother died in 1865, and his father 1869; since which time 
he has worked from farm to farm for his board and clothes — 
he has no desire for compensation or wages. For several 
years he kept the cow left him when his father died. In going 
from farm to farm he always took the cow with him, and lived 
mostly on the milk she gave. He finally sold the bovine (or 
(rather gave her away). He let a neighbor have her for $16,00; 
to be paid at the option of the purchaser— without note or 
other security. Two years have elapsed; nothing has been paid 
on the cow, and the future payment is more doubtful than^the 
past. Alexis is comprehensive in general conversation; is 
energetic, and spry to work, but is boyish in behavior and 
actions. He seems to have no anticipations for the^future, 
and evidently does not think further ahead than the j 'morrow 



LIBERTY GROVE— SIXTH ORGANIZED TOWN. 

"Liberty Grove" was so named by C. T. Morbeck, who was 
defeated in Gibraltar for the office of town clerk. He became 
dissatisfied, and that he might have matters under his own 
dictation, he got a portion of Gibraltar set off at the February 
meeting of the County Board, 1859, as the township of Liberty 
Grove. The first town meeting in Liberty Grove was held at 
the house of Ingebret Torgensen, April, 1859. Though dif- 
ferent men were elected to fill the several offices, in reality 
Morbeck was the clerk, treasurer, assessor, justice of the 
peace, etc., did all of the town business, and had matters his 
own way for some time. Years have passed — Morbeck has 
gone to Minnesota and located, and Liberty Grove has grown 
to a township of value, with bright prospects for the future. 

However, it was with much difficulty that we obtained any 
information in Liberty Grove township for a county history. 
In the first place, the number who have lived in the town ten 
or more years is but few. And again, the inhabitants are most 



64 HISTORY OF DOOR COUNTY. 

all foreign born, and talk but little English--and that little 
is generally very broken. Besides, they have been more or less 
imposed upon by "sharpers," and are now very skeptical. Not 
a few thought we were around for the purpose of assessing 
their cattle, swine, fowls, etc., and would answer no questions 
for fear of an increase of taxes. In one instance the head of 
the family (who understood and spoke but very little English) 
thought we were around for the purpose of collecting name 
for an army draft. Evidently he took no newspapers printed 
in his mother language, for he did not comprehend that the 
war was yet over which closed in this country fifteen years 

ago! With anger, he finally answered us: * "D n! I go no 

to war! I too old!" 

After spending much time in Liberty Grove, and experienc- 
ing various incidents of the above nature, we hired two of the 
natives to gather the facts we desired, while we turned our 
attention to other parte of the county. The men we hired 
have negleted to send us their reports (if they collected any). 
Hence, we can only give biographical sketches of the follow- 
ing gentlemen now living in Liberty Grove, who have been in 
the county ten or more years: 

In the year 1853, Mr. John Thoresen, now farmer, first stepped 
foot in Liberty Grove. He came up from Milwaukee in a 
small sailboat, and landed at North Bay. He remained during 
the summer, then went back to Milwaukee and worked at 
ship building for a while — returning again to Liberty Grove, 
where he has since located permanently, and is one of the 
leading men of the town. He was born in Norway 1824; mar- 
ried Mary S. Hanson 1857; has seven children. 

1855. John Elison, farmer and store keeper; born Denmark 
1823; came to America 1855; married Caroline Top 1867. It 
was after Mr. Elison that the Government surveyors named 
Elison Bay, in about the year 1865. It was not until some 
two years later, that Mr. E. knew the bay was named after 
him— he happened to be scanning over a government map and 
discovered it. 

1856. James Hanson, merchant at Sister Bay; born in Nor- 
way 1852; married Olive Helgeson 187o. 

1857. Christian Hempel, farmer; born Prussia 1820; mar- 
ried Wilhelmine Sette 1847; has eight children. His daughter 
Augusta married Fredricka Miller. Wilhelmine married Nic 
Miller. 

1858. Byron Aslagson, farmer; born Norway 1815; married 
Martha 0. Johnson 1851. Second marriage 1868, to Maria 
Hanson ; has one child. 

1858. Peter Josephson, farmer; born Sweden 1813; married 
Mary Foster 1862; has three children. 



CLAY BANKS— SEVENTH ORGANIZED TOWN. 65 

1862. Andrew Metcalf, blacksmith; born New Hampshire 
1852; married Bertha Salsider 1879. 

1862. H. Gunderson, farmer; born Norway 1826; married 

Annie 1848; has one child, James, who married Olive 

Helgerson. 

1866. Moses C.Thompson, farmer; born in Maine 1844; mar- 
ried Loes E. Rogers, and has three children. 

1867. Charles Gros, farmer; born Germany 1827; married 
Mena Bouen 1854; has six children. 

1867. John Rogers, farmer; born in Ohio 1825; married 
Mary J. Cassor 1854; has four children. L. E. married M. 
Thompson. 

1868. George Anger, lumberman; born in Bay Settlement, 
Wisconsin, 1855; married Rosa Toseland 1877; has two chil- 
dren. 

1869. Patrick Dimond, farmer; born'in Ireland 1840; came 
to America 1847; married Mary Gorry 1874; has one child. 

1869. Wilhelm Smith, farmer; born in Germany 1810; mar- 
ried Louisa Brindemil 1830; has five children. His son Fred- 
erick married Bertha Stover. Ferdinand married Bertha 
Gunthe. Frank married Mina Stover. Wilhelm married 
Julia Stover. Albert married Bertha Sastraw. 



CLAY BANKS— SEVENTH ORGANIZED TOWN. 

Clay Banks was set off of Forestville township, at the Feb- 
ruary meeting of the County Board, 1859. The first town 
meeting was held on the first Tuesday in April, 1859, at 
Prescott's boarding house. 

The name "Clay Banks," is one of long standing, and origin- 
ated among the sailors on the lake. The high clay banks 
loomed up wonderfully, and sailors could readily recognize 
them many miles distant. In passing up and down the Lake 
"clay banks" was sort of a point to reckon distance from. 
When this section began to settle up, names for that portion 
of the county were numerous, but to make known the location, 
the words "Clay Banks" always had to be attached, and to save 
time and get immediate recognition, all other names were 
dropped, and Clay Banks adopted as the name. 

Of the settlers now residing in Clay Banks, who have been 
in the county tenor more years, are the following: 

1855. Wm. Helmholz, farmer; born in Germany 1827; mar- 
ried Matilda Lomann 1855. Second marriage 1872, to Mrs. 
Louisa Brentigane; has seven children. Otto married Alber- 
tina Tube 1877, has one child. Annie married Albert Frost 
1877; has three children, and lives in Kewaunee county. Ma- 
tilda married Wm. Bailer 1874; has two children. 



66 HISTOBY OF DOOR COUNTY. 

1855. John Mackey, farmer; born New York 1834; married 
A. Hitt 1860; has four children. Frank married Benjamin 
Minsker 1877; has one child, and lives in Ahnapee. 

1855. Wm. H. Warren, farmer and surveyor; born New York 
1814; married Eliza B. Dodge 1836; has five children. His 
daughter Harriett a married Thomas Garland 1856. Second 
marriage 1860, to George T. Foss; has two children, and lives 
in Chicago.— Edward married Henrietta Harris 1864. Second 
marriage 1872, to Annie Coffin; has three children, and lives 
in New York.— Sterah married John Campbell 1865; has no 
child.— Julius married Sarah Boline 1866; has three children. 

1856. Albert J. Schuyler, farmer and veterinary surgeon; 
born New York 1834; married Amanda Hitt 1860; has nine 
children. 

1858. Charles I. Hitt, landlord; born New York 1848; mar- 
ried Julia Thayer 1870; has two children. 

1868. Frank Hitt, farmer; born Canada 1851; came to the 
U. S. in 1856; is a self-button sewer — bachelor. 

1858. Walter Hitt, farmer; born New York 1848; married 
Mary Clem 1875; has one child. 

1858. George Roberts, fisherman and farmer; born Massa- 
chusetts 1832; married Rachael Philbrick 1854; has four chil- 
dren. 

1860. Eugene Madoche, farmer; born Belgium; came to 
America 1856; married Mary McDermott 1874; has three chil- 
dren. 

1863. Engene Heald, farmer; born New York 1846; married 
Agnes Mclntyre 1867; has five children. 

1864. John Hoslett, farmer; born Belgium 1841; came to 
America 1858; married Mary Madoche 1865; has six children. 

1865. John Madden, farmer; born Ireland 1827; married 
Louisa Velier 1847; has eight children. His daughter Ellen 
married Comodore Fry 1870; has three children, and lives in 
Illinois. — Mary married George Nelson 1871; has three chil- 
dren and lives in Sturgeon Bay. — James married Ellen Donland 
1875; has two children and lives in Sturgeon Bay. — Nora mar- 
ried Wm. Shea 1880, and lives in Kewaunee county. 

1865. P. B. Millard, farmer; born New York 1815 : came west 
1840; married Alice Wilson 1837. Second marriag^l860, to 
Sarah E. Leonard; has six children. His son H. ft/Married 
Hattie Bucknam 1874, and lives in Fort Howard.— Wilson mar- 
ried 1873, and lives in Reedsburg, this State.— Mary 

A. married Wm. Fuller 1868; has three children, and lives in 
Racine.— Wilbur n married 1877, and lives in Illinois. 

1866. John Ellis, farmer; born England 1819; came to 
America 1826; married Rachel L. Carpenter 1842; has seven 



CLAY BANKS— SEVENTH OEGANIZED TOWN. 67 

children. His daughter Elizabeth married Wm. Clark 1862; 
has six children, and lives in Sturgeon Bay. — Norman married 
Emma Thayer 1873; has two children. — Helen married Hiram 
Greenwood 1877; has one child, and lives in Sturgeon Bay. 

1866. Edward Olsen, farmer; born Norway 1829; came to 
America 1854; married Alice Johnson 1859. Second marriage 
1871, to Caroline Halverson; has six children. 

1866. Osman Olsen, farmer; born Norway 1832; came to 
America 1855; married Olafena Nelson 1869; has seven chil- 
dren. 

1866. Chauncey Thayer, farmer and lumberman; boru New 
York 1834; came west to Wisconsin 1845; married Sarah Moses 
1853. Second marriage 1865, to Rachael J. Rowse; has eleven 
children. His daughter Ametia married James Woods 1876; 
has one child. Lillian married Augustus Lallamont 1878, and 
lives in Bailey's Harbor. Minnie married Dominic Bradley 
1879, and lives in Bailey's Harbor. Sarah A. married John 
Vaughn 1879, and lives in Kansas. 

1867. Joseph Monnoso, farmer; born Canada 1826; married 
Mary Balanger 1852; has seven children. His daughter Rosa 
married Michael Gowey 1872; has four children, and lives in 
Sheboygan, this State. Louis married Mary Sanford 1876; has 
two children, and lives in Egg Harbor. Jennie married Mark 
Vertz 1875; has one child, and lives in Egg Harbor. Mary 
married Bert Whoples 1878; has two children. 

1867. Patrick Finan, farmer; born in Ireland 1824; mar- 
ried Ann Welsh 1847. Second marriage 1862, to Mary Welsh; 
has eight children. Michael married Alice Henry 1872; has 
one child, and lives in Iowa. Catherine married James Grady 
1873, and lives in Iowa. Mary married August Olsen 1876; has 
two children. 

1867. James Lynhart, farmer; born Bohemia 1828; married 
Ana Kobechek 1860; has three children. 

1867. J. E. Spalsbury, farmer; born New York 1848; married 
Olive Hall 1870. Second marriage 1877, to Annie Lawson; has 
three children. 

1868. Peter Fritz, farmer; born Canada 1825; married Julia 
A. Bowne 1854; has four children. Sarah married Barney 
Cabe 1875; has one child, and lives in Clark county, this State. 

1869. Thomas Masner, farmer; born Bohemia 1842; married 
Elizabeth Mrray 1867; has six children. 

1869. Alexander Tufts, farmer; born in Ireland 1841; mar- 
ried Ellen Shaw 1873; has four children. 

1869. J. L. Phillips, farmer; born Vermont 1807; married 
Caroline Felton 1828. Second marriage 1831, to Lucy Felton; 
has four children. Arminia married Henry Patison 1842, and 
lives in Vermont. Rosselas W. married Rocksena Lumus 1861; 



68 HISTORY OF DOOR COUNTY. 

has six children and lives in Sturgeon Bay township. Elisha 
married Mary O'Brien 1873, and lives in Green Bay. 

1870. Wm. H. Horn, merchant and pier owner; born Ger- 
many 1837; came to America 1850; married Mary Schultz 1860; 
has seven children. 

1870. Syvert Annasen, farmer; born Norway 1830; married 
Galena Hannah 1854. She died 1878, leaving five children. 

1870. Matthew Schuester, farmer; born Bohemia 1851 mar- 
ried Katie Korchp 1859; has six children. 
1870. Hugh McMullen, farmer; born Canada 1845; married 
Adel Bennet 1867; has five children. 

1870. Albert Temple ton, farmer; born in Washington 
county, this State, 1847; married Theresa Harding 1872; has 
one child. 

1870. Ole A. Nelson, farmer and blacksmith; born Norway 
1822; married Inga C. Jacobs 1855; has one child. 

1870. Wm. Bailey, farmer; born Maine 1814; married Jane 
Reed 1843. Second marriage 1862, to Matilda Pierce; has four 
children. Lydia married James Lockhart 1863, and lives in 
Forestville. 

1870. Knud Vesta, farmer; born Norway 1845; married 
Emily Halverson 1871; has three children. 

1870. Nels Vesta, farmer; born Norway 1843; married Ida 
Halverson 1869; has one child. 



NASEWAUPEE -EIGHTH ORGANIZED TOWN. 

On the petition of E. S. Fuller, the County Board, at the Nov- 
ember meeting, 1859, set off from the west part of the town of 
Otumba, under the name of Nasewaupee. The town also 
included Basin Island, town 28, range 24. The first town meet- 
ing was held at the house of Elijah S. Fuller, first Tuesday in 
April, 1860. 

The word "Nasewaupee" is of wide range, and really con- 
veys, or can be used in different sense or meaning, in one 
way, it has reference to early dawn, or that part of the day 
before sunrise. However, in the sense in which it is connected 
with the township, "Nasewaupee" is of different meaning. In 
1856 Mr. Nelson W. Fuller, and others, wanted a post-office on 
the west side of the bay. As to a name for the P. 0. to be 
established, the Post-office department at Washington did not 
agree with Mr. Fuller and other parties here, so the whole 
matter concerning the name was left with the postmaster at 
Green Bay, who thought that "Nasewaupee," the name of a 
Menominee Indian chief that once located thereabouts, was 
appropriate. Nasewaupee post-office flourished under Mr. N. 
W. Fuller's administration as P. M. At least we presume it 



NASEWAUPEE.— EIGHTH ORGANIZED TOWN. 69 

flourished, for his net earnings the first three months were 37 
cents. He finally resigned the position of postmaster, in favor 
of his brother, Mr. E. S. Fuller, who kept up the office for a 
time, when the post-office came to the same end as did Chief 
Nasewaupee— passed from existence. When the township was 
organized, it was named after the deceased post-office, and now 
the name "Nasewaupee" lives on, and only time will tell how 
far up the ladder of fame it will climb. 

The following is a biographical sketch of those now living 
in Nasewaupee, who came to the county ten or more years 
ago: 

1855 is the yearlver Johnson, farmer; came to Door county; 
born Norway 1842; married Mary Holm 1872; has no children. 

1855. Talleck Haines, farmer; born Norway 1812; married 
Ellen C. Halverson 1842. She died 1880, aged 63 years. Mr. H. 
has seven children. His daughter Mary married Knud Knud- 

son 1869. Melvin married Mary 187- ; has two children. 

Christena married Hans Eliason 1877; has two children. Tellif 
married Mary La¥assor 1880. 

1855. Charles Dickinson, farmer; born in New York 1839; 
married Elizabeth N. Marshall 1860; has six children. 

1856. Louis Schuemacher, farmer; born Germany 1832; 
married Rhoda Walker 1855; has nine children. His daughter 
Lizzie married Charles Walker 1880. 

1856. Simon Maloney, farmer; born Ireland 1816; married 
Bridget Sexton 1844; has three children. Jane married John 
Murray. Honora married Patrick McDermott 1880. 

1856. Barney Donland, farmer; born Ireland 1828; mar- 
ried Mrs. A'Hern 1869. 

1856. John Rohan, farmer; born Ireland 1825; married Cath- 
rine Haverty 1856; has four children. Mary married Paul 
Terrian 1880, and lives in Stephenson, Michigan. 

1856. Cornelius Gormley, farmer; born Ireland 1813; mar- 
ried Helen Donland 1840; has five children. Bridget married 
John Rider 1860; has six children, and lives in Calumet county, 
this State. John married 1871, and lives in Minne- 
sota. Lizzie married Patrick Farley 1866. She died 1867. 
Mary married Ephriam LeClare 1870; has four children. Ellen 
married Chester Graves 1873; has four children and lives in 
Green Bay. 

1856. Francis Donland, farmer; born Ireland 1827; mar- 
ried Elizabeth Lynch 1849. Second marriage 1877, to Marga- 
ret Writt; has seven children. His daughter Lizzie married 
Patrick Farley 1868. She died 1871. Julia married Allen 



70 HISTORY OF DOOR COUNTY. 

Donnelly 1876; has two children, and lives in Sturgeon Bay. 
Ellen married James Madden 1875; has two children, and lives 
in Sturgeon Bay. John married Mary Hodeck 1880, and lives 
at Whitefish Bay. 

1856. Philip A. Schaeffer, farmer; born Germany 1831; came 
to America 1853; married Elizabeth Walter 1855; has six chil- 
dren. 

1856. Adam Heilmann, farmer; born Germany 1832; came 
to America 1843; married Barbara Dellenbach 1861; has four 
children living. He lost 5 children, with diphtheria, during 
Nov. and Dec. 1880. 

1856. Andrew Goettelman, farmer; born Germany 1825; 
came to America 1855; married Gathrine Feldmann 1857; has 
four children. 

1857. John P. Simons; farmer; born France 1823; came to 
America 1847; married Christenia Lucot 1850; has five chil- 
dren. His daughter Clemintine married James Keogh Jr., 1874; 
has three children, and lives in Sturgeon Bay. Emile N. mar- 
ried M. Liest 1880. 

1857. Adoiph Arlt, farmer; born Germany 1850; married 
Amelia Screiber 1871; has two children. 

1857. Nicholas Simon, farmer; born France 1824; married 
Tracy Thorstensen 1860; has two children. 

1857. Emily Peterson, left a widow in 1867, with two boys. 
The young men are industrious, and hard workers. They stick 
to the farm, and use every means to comfort their mother. 

1857. John Mann, farmer; born Germany 1829; married 
Catherine Stephan 1856; has four children. His daughter Mar- 
garet, married Martin Dehose. She died 1880. 

1857. Christopher Stephan, farmer; born Germany 1828; 
married Philipena Schaeffer 1867; has one child. 

1858. George Senft, farmer; born Germany 1823; married 
Mary Heilmann 1853. Second marriage 1863, to Mary Knuth; 
has five children. 

1858. Fredrick Monk, farmer; born Germany 1818; married 
Sophia Tremason 1849; has four children. His son Charles 
married 1876; has one child, and lives in Manito- 
woc county. 

1859. John Mulverhill, farmer; born Ireland 1831; married 
Bridget Mullane 1854; has eleven children. His daughter 
Marry Ann married Edward Kinney. 

1860. Christian Tansing, farmer; born Germany 1827; mar- 
ried Augusta Bushmann 1853; has six children. 



NASEWAUPEE — EIGHTH ORGANIZED TOWN. 71 

1860. John Mullane, farmer; born Ireland 1844; came to 
America 1854. He is a bachelor, of self-button-sewer inclina- 
tion. 

1860. John Daley, farmer; born Ireland 1815; came to 
America 1850; married Margaret Looney 1845; has two chil- 
dren. 

1860. Newel Langlois, farmer; born Canada 1844; married 
Phoeba Stoneman 1866; has four children. 

1862. John Pfiester, farmer; born Germany 1832; married 
1867; has five children. 

1865. Edward A'Hern, farmer; born Ireland 1849; married 
Katie Quaid 1879; has one child. 

1866. Philip Gillick, farmer; born Ireland 1835; married 
Ann Kinney 1870; has six children. 

1866. John Bink, farmer; born Germany 1817; married 
Margaret Pfiester 1867; has nine children. 

1866. Conrad Michaels, farmer; born Switzerland 1828; 
married Mrs. Miller 1863; has five children. 

1867. Hugo Seidermann, farmer; born Germany 1838; mar- 
ried Louisa Kestner 1862; has eight children. 

1867. James Kinney, farmer; born Ireland 1845; married 
Mrs. Martin Currey 1880. 

1867. John Murray, farmer; born Ireland 1838; married 
Jane Maloney 1866; has seven children. 

1868. Richard Hennessy, farmer; born Ireland 1818; mar- 
ried Mary Crowley 1843; has eight children. Margaret mar- 
ried Edward Keogh, of Forestville. Mary married James Sul- 
livan, of Forestville. Hannah married Dennis Daley, of New 
Franken. John married Jennie Sloan. Michael married 
Maggie Wilson. 

1868. Edward Kinney, farmer; born Ireland 1849; married 
Mary A. Mulverhill 1879; has one child. 

1969. John Garlach, farmer; born Germany 1845; married 
Josephine Gerch 1866; has seven children. 

1869. Albert Wobser, farmer; born Prussia 1841; married 
Charlotte Dommer 1866; has six children. 

1870. Paul Leist, farmer; born Germany 1841; married 
Barbara Leichney 1863; has six children. His daughter Mary 
married Emile N. Simons 1880. 

1870. God lib Michaels, farmer; born Germany 1850; mar- 
ried Minnie Yoke 1873; has five children. 

1870. Godfrey Michaels, farmer; born Germany 1855; mar- 
ried Hannah Yoke 18 — ; has five children. 

1870. Julius Cardy, farmer; born 1855, came from Milwau- 
kee; married Mary Dyteman 1879; has one child. 



72 HISTORY OF DOOR COUNTY. 

SEVASTOPOL— NINTH ORGANIZED TOWN. 

November 17 1859, the county board set off from the township 
of Otumba, town 28, range 26, together with town 28, range 
27, and that part of town 28, range 25, being East of Sturgeon 
Bay; calling the township set off "Laurieville," and the first 
town meeting to be held at the house of George Bassford, the 
first Tuesday in April, 1860. Some of the inhabitants wanted 
the name changed, and a public meeting of the citizens was 
called. The object of the meeting was to get up a petition to 
present to the County Board, asking that the name of the 
township be changed from "Laurieville" to that of "Sebastopol." 
At the February meeting, 1860, the Board granted the 
petition. By some means "Sevastopol" was enterred on the 
records as "Sez'astopol," and it has gone by the latter name 
ever since. Sevastopol is now one of the most important 
towns in the county, and within its limits are many good 
farms. 

Of the old settlers who have lived in this county ten or more 
years, now residing in Sevastopol, are the following: 

In the year 1850, Capt. Klinkenburg first made a stay in 
Door county. He has lived at intervals, in and out of the 
county ever since— at present residing here. He was born in 
Norway, 1822 ; married Dora T. Spourland 1849; has six chil- 
dren. His daughter Ida married Hugh Sol way 1877 ;* has one 
child. 

1851. Baaka Sol way, farmer; born Norway 1809; married 
Regina Olsen 1835. Seeond marriage 1837, to Mortar Mar- 
tenus. Third marriage 1852, to Bertha Halverson; has six 

children. His son Eli married Anna — , and lives in 

Oconto. His daughter Anna married Soren Anderson, and 
lives inEFt. Howard. Sarah married Julius Spaurland. Regina 
married Alfred Iveson, and lives at Marinette. Hugh married 
Ida Klinkenburg. 

1852. Jacob Hanson, lake captain and a farmer; born Nor- 
way 1823; married Susan Forest 1850; has eight children. 

1854. Robert Laurie, farmer; born Scotland 1825; came to 
America 1852; married Catherine Monroe 1849; has seven chil- 
dren. His daughter Katie married Wm. Schnider 1877. 

1854. Wm. King, farmer; born Germany 1812; marriey 
MaryHoff 1836; has two children. Mary married Benjamin 
Baptist. George married Margaret Shaffer. 

1855. George Bassford, farmer; born England 1823, married 
Sarah Ceaton 1846. Second marriage 1853, to Johanah Rus- 
sing; has nine children. His son William married Charlotte 
Ash. John married Ida Wolcott. Eliza married Charles Mann 
and lives in Iowa. 



SEVASTOPOL— NINTH OKGANIZED TOWN. 73 

1855. Joseph Zettel, farmer: born Switzerland 1832; came 
America 1853; married Christena Lorch 1860; has ten children. 

1855. Frederick Schuyler, farmer; born Pennsylvania 1834; 
married Nancy A. Marshall 1856. She died 1878, aged forty 
years. He has eleven children. 

1855. Jacob Crass, farmer; born Germany 1824; married 
Selena Sacket 1847. Second marria ge 1869, to Margaret Cole 
has six children. His daughter Sarah married Sylvester 
Wead 1868. She died 1873, aged 24 years. His daughter Louisa 
married Joseph Jackson 1869; has four children, and lives in 
Shawano county. Charles married Sylvia Norton 1874. Ida 
married Joseph Norton 1880. Thomas Melville married Eliza 
Walker 1879. 

1856. Henry B. Stephenson, farmer; born England 1830; 
came to America 1833; married Jane Orr 1852; has seven chil- 
dren. His daughter Ella married Frank Kimber 1877; has 
one child. 

Mr. Stephenson furnishes us with the following appropriate 
extracts, taken from a letter that he wrote, which was pub- 
lished some years ago: 

Sevastopol, Wisconsin, ) 
December 8th, 1880. 5 
H . B. Stephenson to C. L Martin: 

The first white settler that we can get any account of was a Mr. 
Lovejoy, who came from Canada, and squatted on the oho re 
of Sturgeon Bay near its mouth, And which is now known as 
Hibbard's Bluff, sometime in the year 1836. He remained there for 
some years and followed the occupation of fishing and also furnished 
steamboats with wood but made no attempt at farming. The next 
white settlements were also made on the shore of Sturgeon Bay by Mr. 
H. P. Hanson and Salvi Salvison ( still old and respected residents 
of the town), in the years 1851 avid 1852. In the year 1853 the Gar- 
lands, one of whome is so well known throughout the county, also 
settled on the shore of Sturgeon Bay; others soon followed and the 
shore of the Bay was dotted with the small clearings and still smaller 
houses of the pioneers who left their foreign homes to seek a more 
congenial clime in the wilds of Door county, where they could enjoy 
freedom of speech, free air and worship God as best suited them. The 
principal occupation of those settling on the shore was fishing for the 
first few years, but later they have given their time and attention to 
clearing their lands and farming. . . .In the spring of the year 1856 A. 
Sackett, with his family, moved into the woods about five milfes from 
any settlement and commenced to open a farm on the east-hal of the 
south-west quarter of section 26. town 28, range 26. Mr. Jacob 
Crass soon followed him and settled on the south-east quarter of sec- 
tion 27 for the purpose of opening up a farm. Others followed at 
different short intervals of time and in the two years — 1856 and 1857 



74 HISTORY OF DOOR COUNTY. 

— George Bassford, John Hocks, E.C.Daniels, the Stephcnsons, P. 
j. Simon, J. Zettel, John Meyer L. Heldmann and a few others moved 
their families into the town to battle with the noble forests and the 
hard times that followed the panic of the fall of 1857, so long to be 
remembered by the few old settlers that first broke soil in these grand 

old woods In the fall of 1859 the town was set off from the old 

town of Otumba of which it had formed a part, and organized for 
election purposes; the name of Sebastopol was suggested by P. J. 
Simon, but for some reason it was put on the records of the town as 
Sevastopol and has been known by that name ever since. The first 
town meeting was held at the house of George Bassford; public sch©ols 

and public roads then took the attention of the people In 1859, the 

Laurie Brothers — Robert and Alexander — built a small schooner, the 
second one we believe built in Door county, and called the Peninsula, 
which was a model of beauty and one of the fastest sailers on Green 
Bay. . . .We will now pass on to the month of April, 1863, which was 
made memorable by the exciting incident of Mrs. Henry Martin's two 
children — a boy and girl — being lost in the woods, one being five and 
the other seven years of age. The residents of the town having been 
notified of the fact, made a general turn out and search was made in all 
parts of the . wood far and near and they were finally found on the 
morning of the day after they had strayed away from home, by Mr. 
Alex Laurie, (since deceased) having lain out in the woods one day and 
night and strayed about three miles from home .... The civil war was also 
raging at its highest point about this time, and our good towns people 
had their troubles from this source, some of the more patriotic enlisted 
among which I find the names of Jacob Grass, Richard Ash, Luke 
Coyne, and James Bannan; others waited until they should draw a 
prize in the great government lottery, and among those that drew and 
marched into the ranks were Dennis Crowley, Robert Stephenson, 
Nicholas A rmbrust John Meyer and George King. At the close of 
the war they all returned to their peaceful homes and happy families 
to enjoy their lives as best they might. . . .The summer and fall of 1871 
was the dryest ever known here since the settlement of the town, and 
fires raged in the woods and fields during the latter part of the summer 
and the entire fall; the destruction of timber and fences was fearful 
and amonnted to thousands of dollars. In some cases grain was 
burned in the fields. There was but one building burned, however, in 
the whole town. On the night of October 8th almost the entire 
woods of the town were on fire, and had the storm that passed over 
the more southern part of the county reached us I doubt if there 
would have been a soul left to tell the tale. Nothing of importance 
transpired since that time to mar the peace and prosperity of our 
towns people, until the night of the 25th of July, 1874; on that night 
a terrible wind and rain storm passed over the central part of the town, 
from west to east, and tore down a great amount of timber, took the 
roof entirely off from one barn and shifted the roof of Mr. Sailor's 



SEVASTOPOL— NINTH ORGANIZED TOWN. 75 

house two or three feet endwise but did not carry it far enough to 
throw it to the ground; it also tore up eight or ten apple trees in Mr. 
Joseph Zettel's orchard, and the fences that came in its way were scat- 
tered far and wide. Mr. Andrew Finnegan lost one cow by the 
falling timber. . . .In the spring and summer of 1874 two post offices 
were established in the town, one at George Bassford's corners called 
"Sevastopol," (Henry Martin is now — 1880 — postmaster), the other at 
H. B. Stephenson's and called "MalakofT,"and located nearly in the 
center of the town. . . .We now have business centers which afford 
the farmers a ready market for their farm and forest products, and they 
are all in a prosperous condition, each going on in his own way, 
improving his farm by putting on better buildings, better fences and 
setting out orchards of all kinds of fruit trees, many of which do 
exceedingly well in this locality. . . .As all things ordained by man 
must have an end so must this history of mine end. 

1856. John Hocks, farmer; born Holland 1819; married 
Rosa Maher 1855; has six children, Mary married N. N. Crom- 
well. Katie married Charles Baptist. William married Mary 
Keagan. 

1857. Leonard Heldmann, farmer; born Germany 1818; 
married Maggie Steger 1853; has seven children. Barbary 
married Alexander Hopp. Lena married Godfred Hopp. George 
married Maggie Uselding. 

1857. John Meyer, farmer; born Germany 1835; married 
Barbara Wisnet 1857; has two children. 

1857. Nicholas Armbrust, farmer; born Germany 1830; mar- 
ried Catharine Reilly 1852; has three children. 

1857. Peter J. Simon, farmer; born Prussia 1821; married 
Magdelena Counsin 1847 ; has seven children. John married 
Martha Castle. Catharine married Lurton Jordon. Martin 
married Amanda Coyne. Annie married John P. Webber. 

1857. Henry Martin, farmer; born Ireland 1830; married 
Eliza Peters; has eleven children. His step-son, Chas. Walker, 
married Lizzie Schumacher. Eliza married Thomas Melville. 

1857. Alexander Templeton, farmer and weaver; born in 
France 1815; marrried Margaret Auld 1836. Second marriage 
1873, to Mrs. Rhoda Sherwood; has three children. His son 
Robert married Jennie Colman 1869; and lives in Arkansas. 
Allen married Emma Lashure 1876. 

1857. Andrew Finnegan, farmer; born Ireland 1828; mar- 
ried Johannah Maloney 1865; has eight children. 

1857. Edward Daniels, farmer; born in Ohio 1840; married 
Helen Spaulding 1862; has four children. 

1858. Anton Long, farmer; born Prussia 1836; married 
Antonir Brost 1864; has eight children. 



76 HISTORY OF DOOR COUNTY. 

1858. James Gillespie, farmer; born Ireland 1825; married 
Eliza Campbell 1857; has eight children. His daughter Sarah 
married Walter Damkoehler 1879. 

1859. Mrs. Ann, widow of Deanis Crowley. He died 1871; 
She has two children. Johannah married William Murphy 
1879; has one child. 

1860. Richard Ash, farmer; born England 1821; married 
Mary Veal 1848; has five children. Charlotte married William 
Bassford. 

1861. Michael Grovogal, farmer; born France 1809; married 
Risaly Winter 1842. Second marriage 1847, to Mary Piatt; 
has one child, Conrad, who married Eliza Piatt. 

1861. James R. Mann, Sr., farmer; born England 1827; mar- 
ried Ellenor Ro ^ers 1849; has eight children. Charles married 
Eliza Bassford, and lives in Iowa. James, Jr., married 
Georgiana Mills. 

1863. Lucas Miller, farmer; born Germany 1818 ; married 
Mary Neuland 1847; has three children. His daughter Caro- 
line married Frank Anton. 

1863. Lucas Hopp, farmer; born Germany 1840; married 
Catharine Boory 1867; has four children. 

1863. Rudolph Zette], farmer; born Switzerland 1845; mar- 
ried Mary G. Berens 1870; has two children. 

1864. Charles Boyce, farmer; born Delaware 1840; married 
Catherine Gurnsey 1866; has five children. 

1864. Michael Donovan, farmer; born Ireland 1831; mar- 
ried Margaret Conland 1855; has thirteen children. 

1864. Dominick Kemp, farmer; born Germany 1826; mar- 
ried Catharine Ellenbacker 1854; las seven children. 

1866. Marcus Miller, farmer; born Germany 1846; married 
Pulcheria Dangel 1868; has six children. 

1866. Albert Bankner, farmer; born Prussia 1846; married 
Barbary Ool 1869; has four children. 

1867. James Dunn, farmer; born England 1841; married 
Bridget Ridde 1866; has four children. 

1868. Andrew Birmingham, farmer; born New York 1825; 
married Julia Grant 1854; has seven children. Altha married 
M. F. Laplant 1880. 

1868. John Hurley, farmer; born Ireland 1840; married 
Julia Linskey 1872; has three children. 

1868. John George, farmer; born Germany 1838; married 
Lena Clowner 1868; has seven children. 

1869. Thomas Campbell, farmer; born Ireland 1842; mar- 
ried Lucinda McCarty 1874; has three children. 

1870. A. W. Moore, farmer; born in Pennsylvania 1842; 
married Margaret Waters 1869; has one child. 



EGG HARBOR— TENTH ORGANIZED TOWN. 77 

EGG HARBOR— TENTH ORGANIZED TOWN. 

The County Board, on the 9th of July, 1861, set off of Gib- 
raltar the township of Egg Harbor. The first town meeting 
was held in the school house, near Mr. J. Thorpe's place. 

As to the origin of the name "Egg Harbor," there is some 
variation in the statements of the "old settlers." One state- 
ment is, that Mr. Claflin, (the first white settler in Door county) 
so named it, because, while coasting along the shore, he got 
good shelter there, and on the beach he found a nest full of 
eggs— those of some wild fowl. Another report is, that Col. 
Robinson, and other gentlemen from Green Bay, many years 
ago, took a cruise in a small sail yacht, going as far north as 
"Death's Door." They visited most of the Harbors along the 
coast, and had a good time— in the old fashion meaning of the 
word. On one occasion they got to throwing eggs at each 
other, and did not "let up" until every egg they had was 
thrown, and the contestants completely smeared over with the 
shell-covered hen-fruit. Afterward, to distinguish the "battle- 
ground" from other places and little harbors along the coast, 
the Green Bay gentJemen referred to it as "egg harbor." 

Whatever may be the origin of the name, Egg Harbor town- 
ship is now prominet in the make up of the county, and each 
year makes decided progress in the town. 

Of the old settlers residing in the town, who have been in 
the county ten or more years, the following is a list: 

1840 was the date Ransselaer Marshall, farmer, first came to 
Door county. He was born at Pensaukee, this State, 1830; 
married Adeline Laplant 1860. Second marriage 1873, to 
Catherine Post. 

1841. Oliver P. Graham, farmer; born in Ohio 1816; married 
Mary Ann Marshall 1847; has ten children. Matilda married 
Hon. E. S. Minor, and lives at Fish Creek. Henry married 
Emily Rathbun. 

Mr. Graham writes us the following letter concerning early 
time in this county: 

Egg Harbor, Wisconsin, ) 

October, 1880. ) 
O. P. Graham to C.I. Martin: 

I first carae to Door county in 1841. There were but few inhabi- 
tants in the county at that time— one family (Mr. Boon's) on Rock 
Island — then called Louse Island — another family by the name of 
Saunders, at Eagle Harbor; Claflin at Fish Creek; Stevenson's at Little 
Sturgeon, and two or three old bachelors, I believe were about all the 
white inhabitants — excepting those at John P. Clark's fishing station, 
at Whitefish Bay — that were living in what is now known as Door 



78 HISTORY OF DOOR COUNTY. 

county A comical genius, by the name of Lovejoy, was an old 

bochelor that had lived in the county some time. He had been away 
from the society of women so long, that the sight of one would make 
him jump as if struck by electricity, and he would run off into the 
woods. However, sometime afterward, he became more reconciled, 
and finally got so close to a woman as to marry her. He was the first 
ship-builder in these parts. He built a small vessel at Big Sturgeon — 
sloop-rig, good model, and fine sailer. The craft was used for fishing 
and freighting about the Islands. The first winter after she was 
launched, he laid her up in a little inlet about a mile or so from the 
Door bluffs. The water fell so much that winter that he could not 
get the boat afloat the next spring. During the summer the porcu- 
pines gnawed several holes in her. which gave rise to the place being 
called 4* 'Hedgehog Harbor.". . . . As far as I know, Indians hereabouts 
have been generally peaceful, when Yankees kept firewater out of their 
reach. If the Indians were filled up with the "tangle," they were 
almost as bad as drunken white men. . . .Among the first to start busi- 
ness transactions in Door county, was J. M. Craw, of Ohio, who came 
to Washington Island, and engaged in fishing and lumbering. He was 
upwards of ninety years old when he came; drove a large business a 
few years, and then he retired from active business, and returned to 
Ohio, to enjoy the fruits of his younger-day labors. I believe he did 
not live long after he left Door county ... .In 1848 I entered the land 
where the village of Sturgeon Bay now stands. My brother Robert, 
now deceased, built the "upper mill" in Sturgeon Bay in the fall of 
1854 or 1855. Bradley & Crandall had built the "lower mill" a year 
or so previous . . .Mr. Carrington was the first white settler in Bailey's 
Harbor, having settled and left there about 1849. His son Miles, now 
resides at the Harbor. . . .The steamer Michigan made an attempt late 
in the fall of 1854 to get into Sturgeon Bay with supplies for Bradley 
& Crandall, but had to back out and land the supplies at *Allen's dock, 
Egg Harbor. The Sturgeon Bay people had to turn out, cut a road 
down here, and haul the supplies through the woods. . . .The first road 
to Green Bay from Sturgeon Bay was cut out about 1855 0^56, and 
paid for by subscription. E. S. Fuller and Buck Kimber helped to 
cut it — camping on the route. I acted as "pilot." 

1843. Leyi Thorpe, merchant and farmer; born in New York 
1826; married Jane Ramsey 1858; has two children. His son 
Truman A. married Nellie Norton 1880. 

1851. George A. Turner, fisherman; born Brown county, 
this State; married Elva Post 1873; has four children. 

1853. Milton E. Lyman, farmer (ex-county judge); born in 
New York 1821; married Adeline King 1852; has two children. 
His son Edward C. married Jennie Sheldon, and lives in New 
York. 



EGG HARBOR—TENTH ORGANIZED TOWN. 79 

The following interesting letter is from the pen of Mr. 
Lyman: 

Egg Harbor, Wisconsin, | 
October nth, 1880. J 
M. E. Lyman to C. T. Martin; 

In the spring of 1852 T was elected justice-of-the-peace — town of 
Washington. I went to Manitowoc county to file my bond. The 
clerk of the Circuit Court could not tell me whether we belonged to 
that county for judicial purposes or not— we (this county) was not 
then organized for judicial purposes. -I filed my bond; came home, 
procured another set of bonds, and went to Green Bay, Brown 
county, and filed my bonds there, also — bound to be right. Thus I 

had to travel over 300 miles to file my justice bond Tn 1863 1 visited 

the schools of Door county. At Little Sturgeon I found the names 
of ten children on the school register from one family — that of Robert 
Stephenson; one of Nature's Noblemen! I then challenged the State 
to show an equal on the school register. Mr. Pickard, our worthy 
State Superintendent was so much pleased with the challenge that he 
made the family a present of one year's subscription to the School 
Journal The following is from an old report to the State Superin- 
tendent: 

DOOR COUNTY. 

Since my last Annual Report to you, I have held ei^ht public examinations 
and 7 special examinations : I have granted thirty certificates ; have rejec- 
ted seven applicati ons ; have made thirty-seven visits to schools. My county 
is about one hundred miles long by sixteen to twenty wide, and not one 
mile of public conveyance in the county. I have traveled 1,142 miles. 1,022 
on foot, for school purposes the past year. There are twenty-nine districts 
in the county, an increase of four districts the past year. Our county, in 
common with all new counties, has suffered from delinquent taxes, render- 
ing it almost impossible to hire teachers, or to pay them at the expiration of 
their term of office Door county is improving fast in school room accom- 
modations, but yet is sadly deficient We want more commodious and better 
ventilated school rooms, maps, globes and school apparatus, and what we 
most want is the active co-operation of school boards and parents with 
teachers M. E. LYMAN, County Superintendent. 

Note. — Mr. Lyman shows commendable energy in his work and confirms 
the truth of the Proverb, "Where there's a will there's a way, 11 if no highway. 
Pickard, S. S. of S. 

I had the pleasure of examining Mr. A. G. Warren, who taught the 
Sturgeon Bay school in the room now occupied by the "Advocate" 
Mr. Warren said: "Now, Judge, you must not be too hard on me, 
for I presume that I am a little iusty." I found him well qualified, 
and often remember, with pleasure, the pleasant hours we spent 
comparing the present system with those of our boyhood days. . . . A 
noted event, and one that caused a great excitement at that time, was 
the burning of J. M, Craw & Son's barn, at Washington Island, in 
March 185-, by J. Westbrook. In the summer of 1862 Westbrook 
cut some five or six tons of hay on State lands on Washington Island. 
He went outride and bought him a yoke of cattle to lumber with dur- 
ng the coming winter; relying on that for the support ©f his family 



80 HISTORY OF DOOR COUNTY. 

after the close of navigation the following fall. Craw & Son went and 
drew the hay and put it in their barn. Westbrook tried to get some 
satisfaction out of them, but could not. About 7 o'clock in the even- 
ing the barn was discovered to be on fire. As Westbrook had made 
some threats, suspicion was aroused, and parties started from the barn 
in pursuit. A short distance from the barn a mitten was found; still 
further on, a woolen comforter was picked up, and before he reached 
home, Westbrook himself was overhauled. He was brought back; 
a warrant issued, and he was arrested at once. The excitement 
was great. The proposition was at once made to throw him into the 
flames. Special constables were appointed, among whom was Wm. B. 
Lawrence, a law-abiding citizeR then, as now. Westbrook was com- 
mitted to their care, with instructions to protect him at all hazards — 
and well they performed their duty. The prisoner was examined the 
next day, and committed to the Brown county jail for trial. After 
lying in jail for eight months, his trial came on. He was defended 
by J. S, Loy and Hon. T. O, Howe. The jury disagreed. Public 
opinion was strong in his favor, i. e. — that he had great provocation, 
and that he had been punished enough. The loss to Craw & Son was 
a severe one — particularly at that time of the year — being $3,600 or 
$4,000. 

1856. John J. Barringer, merchant and farmer; born Ger- 
many 1842; married Josephine Labombard 1876; has two chil- 
dren. 

1856. Michael Hayes, Sr., farmer; born Ireland 1807; mar- 
ried Margaret 1854; has one child— Michael. 

1856. Martin Maloney, farmer; born Ireland 1807; married 
Mary Lanahan 1840; has three children. Johannah married 
Andy Finegan. Maria married Daniel O'hern. Bridget mar- 
ried Michael Carmody. 

1857. William Carmody Sr., farmer; born Ireland 1815; 
married Margaret Burk 1838; has eight children. John mar- 
ried Margaret Kinney; has seven children. Johanah married 
Perry Hibbard 1872; has three children. 

1857. Thomas Carmody, Sr., farmer; born Ireland 1806; 
married Margaret Kinney 1836; has nine children. John T., 
Mary, Thomas J., Margaret, Michael, James, and Dennis are all 
married, and live in the town of Egg Harbor. 

1857. Michael Rittenburg, mechanic; born Canada 1837; 
married Harriett Perry 1871; has one child. 

1857. Russel Baker, farmer; born Vermont 1813; married 
Jenette Rittenburg 1846; has six childred. Lucy and Russel 
are married. 

1857. W. G. Manna, farmer; born Pennsylvania 1835; mar- 
ried Rosanna Burdict 1860; has two children. 

1858. Dr. David Graham, physician and farmer; born in 
Ohio 1815; married Elizabeth Searles 1837: has five children. 



BAILEY'S HARBOR— ELEVENTH ORGANIZED TOWN. 81 

Anna married Myron H. Stevens, and lives in Fish Creek. 
Henry C. married Lettie Thorp, and lives in Sturgeon Bay. 
Ezra B. married Jennie Zink, 

1861. Wm. LaRoy, farmer; born Canada East 1833; married 
AlmiraPost 1854; has five children. Edgar D. married Nellie 
Wellever. Sarah married Frank Wellever. 

1863. Thomas L. Lyman, farmer; born New York 1832; 
married Freddie Gilbert 1857; has eight children. Martha 
married Alfred A. Minor 1878. 

1863. Capt. Nathanial W. Kirtland, born Connecticut 1825; 
married Effie McKinley 1872; has one child. 

1864. George Barringer, merchant; born Germany 1846; 
came to America 1851. Is a single man. 

1866 Daniel O'Hern, farmer; born Ireland; married Maria 
Maloney 1870; has four children. 

1867. Antoine Rushford, farmer; born New York 1836; mar- 
ried Louisa Bombard 1863; has seven children. 

1870. Ezra Lafontaine, farmer; born Canada^ married 
Dillaye Bourdous 1873; has two children. 

0^0 

BAILEY'S HARBOR— ELEVENTH ORGANIZED TOWN. 

July 9th, 1861, the County Board set off a portion of Gib- 
raltar ,^and framed the "set off" portion into a township, under 
the name of "Bailey's Harbor,"— the name Bailey being given 
in honor of an old settler by the name of Bailey. Bailey's 
Harbor township was enlarged in 1870, by the addition of 
another slice of territory off of the town of Gibraltar. The 
first town meeting to elect town officers for Bailey's Harbor, 
was held in the school house in District No. 2, town of Gib- 
raltar. 

In past years, Bailey's Harbor has been particularly promi- 
nent for its facilities for shipping by water; the grand old 
forest crop was abundant, and from the timber yield the 
majority of the inhabitants harvested their living. In later 
days, however, much attention has been given to farming, and 
now large, well- cultivated and productive fields are the general 
make-up, and main support of the township. 

The following is a list of the old settlers now living in 
Bailey's Harbor township, who first came to the county ten or 
more years ago: 

1849 was the year Wilder L. Brooks, mechanic, came to Door 
county. He was born in New Hampshire in 1820; married 
Charlotte Caldwell 1844. 

1849. Soloman Beery, dealer in sewing, washing and knit- 
ting machines, books, papers, etc; born in Ohio 181- Is a 
bachelor. 



82 HISTORY OP DOOR COUNTY. 

The following is a letter from Mr. Beery: 

Bailey's Harbor, Wisconsin, > 
January 17th 1881. ) 
Soloman Beery to C. L Martin: 

I came to Bailey's Harbor in 1849; assisted as town Clerk in organ- 
izing the town of Gibraltar 1858. Also town of Bailey's Harbor in 
1862; was post-master and assistant for ten years, and held many 

minor town and school offices In the summer of 184Q, Alanson 

Sweet, of Milwaukee, who was doing an extensive business in the 
forwarding and commission business, built and purchased some ten or 
twelve vessels to carry grain and produce to the eastern market, and on 
their return trip call at his dock at Bailey's Harbor, and load with 
wood and stone for Milwaukee and Chicago market, as there was not 
much freight at that time to "bring up, " except salt. Sweet pur- 
chased lots 3 and 4. where the present village of Bailey's Harbor now 
stands. He sent to this place a crew of men, in charge of Capt. 
Robinson, to start a pier, and open a stone quarry — expecting to find 
good building stone in the bluff near the pier. At that time Milwau- 
kee and Chicago were using a good deal building stone, and were 
shipping it from the east, for building purposes. In October, Mr. 
Sweet recalled Mr. Robinson, and sent ye scribe Beery (having been 
in his employ several years) here to take charge of the work. During 
the winter of 1849 and '50 we got out timber to finish the pier, and 
cut and got out some two thousand and five hundred cords of wood 
for shipment — there was no sawing of wood then, as now. We also 
put up four, and with the two already up, made six log dwelling houses, 
for the accommodation of the men and families here. During the fall 
and early winter, we cut a wagon or sleigh road from Bailey's Harbor 
north-west to the shore of Green Bay; opposite Hat Island in Green 
Bay waters — probably the first road cut to cross the peninsula in the 
present limits of Door county. At that time traveling and business 
were done by boats and vessels in summer, and on the ice in winter. 
. . . .When we landed here in October, 1849, we learned that Griffin, 
Brooks, Carrington, and others from Peshtigo had been here during 
the same summer and fall — purchasing and clearing land, putting up 

buildings, and preparing to bring their families the next spring In 

the year I851, I think it was, that Alanson Sweet had a contract with 
the government to build the light house on the Island or east side of 
Bailey's Harbor Bay. The light was used until about 1868, when the 
range lights, at the head of the bay, were built, and the old light on 
the point was discontinued — the house and tower still stand as a 

monument of early days In i853Durgan & Stewart, of Manitowoc, 

brought a stationary engine here, and put up a saw mill at or near the 
shore end of the pier built by Sweet. The mill was successfully run 
for several years, when the building was torn down, the engine taken 
back to Manitowoc, and the property went into the hands of Alexander 
Mitchell, of the Wisconsin Marine and Fire Insurance Company Bank, 



BAILEY'S HARBOR— ELEVENTH ORGANIZED TOWN. 83 

of Milwaukee In 1854 Morgan & Prescott, of Illinois, brought an 

engine, and put it in motion at the head of Mud Bay, for the purpose 
of sawing cedar. After some years the engine was taken to Clay 
Banks. . . .In 1854 and '55 J. R. McDonald and D. McCummins were 
carrying on fishing business at North point of Mud Bay. They after- 
ward sold out to Messrs. Hendricks and Bues, who still own the place, 

In 1854 and '5, Nathaniel Wood (now of Iowa) and Samuel N. 

Bacon (now of the Exchange hotel, Sturgeon Bay) were operating in 
the fish and fish-barrel business, on the west shore of Mud Bay. . . .In 
l %54 *5. John Scott was engaged in the fishing business, at Little Har- 
bor. Thev were also dealing in fishj salt, etc., about the same time. 
Scott also got out the timber, and laid the keel for the schooner 
Chase. He afterwards sold her to Hackett & Lutts, who finished and 
fitted her out. Scott, after disposing of the Chase, bought another 
vessel; traded her for the Yankee Trader — which he beached. Then 
he built the Marian Scott, and lost her near Two Rivers. . . .In 1857 
A. K. Sen bought of G. Carrington Lot No. 2, section 20, and erected 
extensive lime kilns, and built a fine dwelling house on the shore of the 
bay. The following year the property went into the hands of C. L. 
Williams, who finished up the house and kilns. A year or two later, 
the house was burned, and Williams abandoned the enterprise. . . .In 
1858 the town of Gibraltar wns set off, and organized, including town 
2 9> 3°> 3 1 * 3 2 » an d fractional town 33, and Islands in Green Bay, 
We remained under that organization a short time, when Liberty Grove 
was set off. In 1861 Gibraltar was divided into three towns, viz: 
Gibraltar, Egg Harbor, and Bailey's Harbor, and the first town meet- 
ing was appointed to be held in a school house in April, 1862, when the 
following town officers were elected : John Scott, chairman; Adam 
Hendricks, and L. D. Wood, supervisors; Soloman Beery, town clerk 
In i860, Mr. B. Hun ton, of Chicago, brought a stock of pro- 
visions, groceries, liquors, etc., to trade for wood, posts, bolts, and 
fish. He remained here until his death, 1862.... In the spring 
or summer of 1862, Hon, M. Kilgore came to Bailey's Harbor and 
built a pier, which he has kept in running order ever since. Mr. Kil- 
gore has represented us in the State Legislature; as Chairman on the 
County Board, and as Chairman of the town Board. He has done 
more for the advancement of Northern Door county and improvements 
on roads, bridges, mails, etc., than any other man in the county. . . . 
In 1853 S. B. Ward came to Bailey's Harbor, and brought with him a 
small stock of provisions, notions, etc. He bought a house of W. L. 
Brooks on the site where he built the Bailey's Harbor House — now 
owned by Adam Hendricks. Mr. Ward was successful in trade, and 
remained here until his death in 1869 or '70. . . .In 1865 William R. 
Higgins & Son came to Bailey's Harbor from Kenosha, this State, and 
built their pier and steamboat dock here. Mr. Higgins served the 
people of this town as chairman of the town and County Board, and 
died here in 187- The son, Mr. Allen Higgins, continues business at 



84 HISTORY OF DOOR COUNTY. 

the old site In 1866 or '67 J. W. Lowel built si steam saw mill on 

the shore near Higgins* pier. After a few years the mill was moved 
away. Mr. J. T. Wright built the Peninsula house here about the 
same time. 

1851. Miles M. Carrington, farmer; born Ohio 1822; married 
Harriette Butler 1857; has four children. Viola married Russel 
Baker. 

1853. Adam Hendricks, landlord; born in Germany; came 
to America 1849; married Ernestina Schermer 1858; hasten 
children. His daughter Amelia married Ernest Leidiger 1880, 
and lives in Sevastopol. 

1854. Fred Arlt, grist mill owner; born in Prussia 1827; 
married Augusta Graner 1856; has four children. His daugh- 
ter Augusta married George Mainz. Rosala married W. A. 
Foot. 

1855. Isaac Chapman, farmer; born England 1831; came to 
America 1851; married Anna Galligher 1868. She died 1874. 

1854. James Scott, (now an object of charity); born in Ire- 
land 1813; married Mary Ann Clark 18—; has only one child 
living— John, who is married, and now resides in Oregon. 

1855. James Fletcher, farmer; born England 1836; came to 
America 1844; married Caroline Gilger 1865; has four children. 

1855. Daniel E. Rowe, farmer and lumberman; born New 
York 1836; married Emma L. Kelly 1870. Second marriage 
1877, to Rosa Steel. Third marriage 18—; has four children. 

1857. Hugh Collins, farmer; born Ireland 1829; came to 
America 1852; married Charlotte McDermott 1852; has seven 
children. 

1857. Ann T. Griffin, born Ireland 1826; came to America 
1827. She cleared farm, and for twenty-five years lived with 
widow Hannah Sanbourn— now deceased. 

1857. Peter Goss, farmer; born Ireland 1826; married Mary 
Rice 1854; has six children. 

1857. James W. Brooks, farmer and lumberman; born in 
Wisconsin 1857; married Sarah I England 187- ; has two chil- 
dren. 

1860. Samuel Williams, farmer; born England 1823; mar- 
ried Elizabeth Jarman 1853. She died 1877, leaving seven 
children. 

1860. Moses Kilgore, farmer and mail-contractor; born in 
Maine 1817; married Ruth W. Hutchins; has eight children. 
His daughter Ella married Roger Eatough. Mary Ann mar- 
ried John Rottman. James married Regina Hinds. 

1861. J. B. Lallemont, farmer; born in France 1830; came to 
America 1854; married Catharine Bhos 1853. Second marriage 
1880, to Elizabeth O'hairs; has four children. His daughters 
Mary and Jannie, and son August are married. 



GARDNER— TWELFTH ORGANIZED TOWN. 85 

1862. George Williams; born England 1857. Is a single 
man. 

1862. William Williams; born in England 1859. Is a single 
man. 

1862. William A. Sanderson, keeper of Cana Island Light 
House; born in New York 1844; married Sarah Rice 1867; has 
three children. 

1862. William Toseland, farmer; born England 1826; came 
to America '56 married Eliza Panter 1851; has eight children. 
His daughter Elizabeth married A. Minor, and lives in Fish 
Creek. Ann married L. Wilegan. Thomas married Miss 
Stickney, and lives in Green Bay. Rosa married George Anger. 
Jessie married George Briggs. 

1862. John Chater, farmer; born England 1817; came to 
America 1862; married Julia Benford 1839; has one child. 

1863. Walter Bateman, farmer; born Ireland 1822; came to 
America 1837. Is of the bachelor persuasion. 

1863. John Collins, farmer; born Ireland 1826; came to 
America 1863; married Catharine Burns 1856; has five chil- 
dren. 

1863. William Panter, farmer; born England 1827; came to 
America 1852; married Louisa Lenton 1853; has seven chil- 
dren. His daughter Ellen married Thomas Clark, and lives in 
Kansas. 

1863. Thomas Panter, farmer; born England 1835; came 
to America 1856; married Rebecca Coe 1856; has seven chil- 
dren. His daughter Julia married Thomas Tuft. Mary L. 
married Martin Stephenson. Florance married Andrew 
Husbey. 

1863. Con. Collins, farmer; born Ireland 1832; came to 
America 1852; married Mary Carmody 1857; has eight chil- 
dren. 

1864. Jacob Apple, farmer; born Germany 1839; came to 
America 1861; married Yetta Schermer 1864; has seven chil- 
dren. 

1865. Allen Higgins; pier owner and farmer; born in 
Wisconsin 1839; married Rosanna Farnsworth 1865; has two 
children. 

1866. James Riding, farmer; born England 1837; married 

Matilda Chater 1866; has four children. 

1867. George Escher, farmer; born Germany 1846; came to 
Amarica 1853. Is a bachelor. 

1867. A. Janisch, farmer; born Bohemia 1844; came to 
America 1865. Is a single man. 

1867. Hugh G. Spring, farmer and attorney; born in Scot- 
land 1820; landed in Canada 1828; came to the States in 1866; 



86 HISTORY OF DOOR COUNTY. 

married Elizabeth Luke 1866. Second marriage 1874, to Ellen 
Egan; has two children. 

1867. Michael Kehoe, farmer; born Ireland 1848; came to 
America 1854. Is a bachelor and self-button sewer. 

1868. Ben. J. Erskine, owns farm in Jacksonport; born in 
Maine 1841. Is a^bachelor, and has no one to tell his secrets to. 

1868. L. H. Richardson, farmer; born Vermont 1825; mar- 
ried Chloe A. Porter 1850; has one child. 

1868. Link Erskine, born Maine 1845; came west 1868; mar- 
ried Carrie Creple 1880. 

1868. George Meyers, farmer; born Germany 1846; came to 
America 1866; married Ida Mushard 1871; has four children. 

1869. Roger Eatough, landlord and owner of wagon and 
blacksmith shop; born Rhode Island; married Ella Kilgore 
1874; has two children. 

1870. John Sloan, farmer; born Ireland 1848; came to 
America 1849; married Mary Hogan 1873; has two children. 

1870. Fred Aherns, farmer; born Germany 1844; married 
Ann Bottcher 18—; has three children. 

1870. Edward Rickey, farmer; born Pennsylvania 1829; 
married Sarah Reynolds 1860; has six children. His daughter 
Marian married Frank Metcalf. 

1870. F. Wohltmann, merchant; born Germany 1831; came 
to America 1869; married Augusta Freese. 

1870. James McArdle; born Ireland 1828; came to America 
1866; married Ann Fagan 1865; has seven children. 



GARDNER-TWELFTH ORGANIZED TOWN. 

The County Board of Supervisors, at a special meeting June 
10, 1862, set off from Brussels the fractional townships 27, range 
23 and 24, together with fractional township 28, of range 24. 
The fractional townships set off were organized into a town, 
under the name of Gardner— in honor of F. B. Gardner, who 
at that time was carrying on an extensive lumbering business 
at Little Sturgeon Bay. The first town meeting was held in a 
school house, District No. 1, town of Brussels. 

It will be remembered that in giving an outline of the set- 
tlement of Door county, at the beginning of this history, that 
we mentioned Little Sturgeon as the site on which settled the 
first white man in Door county— Mr. Claflin, who died 12 years 
ago. His daughter Adelia, married Mr. Robert Stevenson 
(the second white settler in Door county) in May, 1837. Mr. S. 
died January 27th, 1880, aged about 74 years (generally sup- 
posed to be much older). Mrs. Stevenson still resides in the 
vicinity of Little Sturgeon, town of Gardn9r, and is an intelli- 
gent old lady. She was born in Louisiana 1820; has reared up 



GARDNER— TWELFTH ORGANIZED TOWN. 87 

a family of eleven children. Her son Increase married Eliza- 
beth Bartlet 1860; has one child. He died in the war of the 
rebellion.— Mary A. married Lorenzo Welding 1858; has two 
children.— Jane married Smith Weldon 1867; has four chil- 
dren.— Cyrus married Fanny Nixon 1873; has two children. 
—Adam R. married Jane Perry 1874; has one child.— John mar- 
ried Jeunie Reed 1873. Lydia married Sylvester Wead 1874; 
has two children.— Charles married Annie Johnson 1877; has 
one child.— Nancy married John Killorn 1879. — Daniel married 
Priscilla Sherwood 1879. She died 1880.— Henry married Annie 
Thompson 1879; has one child. 

1837. Wm. Claflin, farmer and fisherman; born at Little 
Sturgeon 1837; married Mary J. Parker 1858; has three chil- 
dren. Mr. William C. was the first white child, of which there 
is any record, born within the limits of Door county. 

1854. Jacques Neuville, farmer; born Belgium 1840; married 
Mary T. Lalun 1863; has eight children. 

1855. Philip Riley, farmer; born Ireland 1835; married 
Mary Scully 1860; has seven children. 

1855. Edward Riley, farmer; born Ireland 1813; married 
Catharine McCaffria 1839; has eight children. Margaret mar- 
ried Louis Paul 1860; has four children (one of which, Emma, 
is married)— Lizzie married Richard Welsh 1865: has three 
children.— Mary Ann married August Elmann 1864; has four 
children.— Jane married George Bader 1872; has two children. 
Augusta married Timothy Bowling 1873; has four children. 
Thomas married Jane Collard 1864; has six children. 

1855. Patrick Farley, farmer; born Ireland 1815; married 
Ann Riley 1845. Second marriage 1856, to Mary Steapleton; 
has seven children. His son Patrick married Lizzie Gormley 
1866. Second marriage 1868, to Lizzie Donland. Third mar- 
riage 1876, to Phoebe ; has two children, and lives in 

Taylor county.— James married Mary Garow 1872; has four 
children, and lives in Wood county. 

1855. John B. Connard, farmer; born Belgium 1828; mar- 
ried Mary T. Balza 1867; has three children. 

1855. John Connard, farmer; born Belgium 1805; married 
Rosala Delose 1832; has seven children. Ferdinand married 
V r ergenia Cocque 1857; has nine children. Louisa married 
Frank Cocque 1860; has six children— all girls. Emile mar- 
ried Ortouse Corbisier 1869; has five children. Max married 
Julia Vranken 1870; has five children. 

1856. G. B. Delmont, farmer; born Belgium 1820; married 
Francis Granind 1851; has four children. Charlott married 
Frank Soloman 1880. 

1856. Henry Gigot, farmer; born Belgium 1824; married 
Mary T. Lardinois 1846; has six children. Henry married 
Annie Lahune 1870; has three children. Lizzie married God- 



88 HISTORY OF DOOR COUNTY. 

frey Laviolette 1871; has four children. Adolphin married 
C. Hurlash 1872; has three children. Felix married Sophia 
Grermin 1873; has three children. 

1856. Maria, widow, married John B. Stricot 1839. He died 
1876. She has two children. Delongville married Eugenia 
1863; has three children. Laura married Anton Delong- 
ville 1865; has five children. 

1856. Eugene Balza, farmer; born Belgium 1846; married 
Celia Baudluin 1879. 

1856. Alphonse Debroux, farmer; born Belgium 1850; mar- 
ried H. Houtier 1871; has four children. 

1856. Florent Sacotte, farmer; born Belgium 1842; married 
Sophia Balza 1876; has one child. 

1856. Johnlambert Docquirr, farmer; born Belgium 1808; 
married Mary T. Oda 1834. 

1856. Joseph Delsipee, farmer; born Belgium 1830; married 
Mary Sacotte 1860; has nine children. 

1846. Joseph Labigois, farmer; born Belgium 1819; married 
Mary Delsipee 1848; has one child, Louisa married Joseph 
Destrie 1876; has two children. 

1856. Gruillanum Delsipee, farmer; born Belgium 1820; mar- 
ried Alexander Destrie 1861. 

1856. John G. Robin, farmer; born Belgium 1813; married 
Mary C. Bacque 1845; has three children. Leocarder married 
Joseph Neuville 1867; has four children. Charles married Mary 
J. Bournonville 1872. August married Sarahfine Ladour 1875; 
has two children. 

1856. John B. Herlache, farmer; born Belgium 1817; mar- 
ried Mary T. Destrie 1840; has five children. Mary married 
Henry Neuville 1859; has seven children, one of which Scalena 
married Nic Simon 1878; has one child— Josephine married 
Eugene Dewarzeger 1862; has seven children.— Battise J. mar- 
ried Adelade Jenquinne 1858; has four children. Rosale married 
Nicholas Libert 1871; has three children.— August married 
Marcelen Baudhuin 1874; has three children. 

1856. Arnold Baptist, farmer; born New York 1847; married 
Sarah Tuck 1873; has three children. 

1856. Francis Sacotte, farmer; born Belgium 1839; married 
Aujoseph Dewarzeger 1858; has four children. 

1857. Robert Scofield, farmer; born in New York 1835; mar- 
ried Mary A. Anger 1859; has eleven children. His son Nathan 
married Louisa Teary 1879; has one child. Cinthia married 
Charles Stewart 1880, and lives in Peshtigo. 

1857. Leopold Balza, farmer; born Belgium 1832; married 
Catharine Delsipee 1861; has two children. 

1857. Leopold Laluzerne, farmer; born Belgium 1838; mar- 
ried Adelade Herlache 1862; has six children. 



GARDNER— TWELFTH ORGANIZED TOWN. 89 

1858. John Henquinet, farmer; born Belgium 1829; married 
Desiree Colignon 1859; has five children. 

1858. JohnB. Neuville, farmer; born Gardner 1858; married 
Josephine 1878; has two children. 

1858. David Coffin, farmer; born Maine 1841 ; married Louisa 
Snavley 1866; has four children. 

1859. August J. Bosman, farmer; born Belgium 1830; mar- 
ried Elinore Borguenion 1859; has one child. 

1859. Anton Jenquinne, farmer; born Belgium 1832; mar- 
ried Veronic Docquir 1859. Second marriage 1872, to Minnie 
Rabior; has six children. Louisa married William Donovan 
1879; has one child. 

1860. Godfrey Lay iolette, farmer ; ^born Canada 1854 ; married 
Leano Rebetor 1842. She died 1858. Second marriage 1859, to 
Mary Funyname. She died 1878, leaving four children. 
Joseph married 1870; has two children. Godfry mar- 
ried Lizzie Gigot 1872; has four children. David married 
Ellen Lonzou 1884; has four children. 

1863. Adolph Corbisier, farmer; born Belgium 1820; married 
Mary Ambrust 1845; has nine children. Julien married Horle 
Balza 1868; has four children. Hortan married Emile Con- 
nard 1868; has five children. Mary married Max Roburt 1871; 
has four children. Jullienne married August Balza 1877; has 
one child. 

1864. Anton Tellier, farmer; born Belgium 1830; married 
Amelia Lonzo 1857; has nine children. Aldwin married 
Desiree Molquin 1877; has one child. Tilly married Mark 
Bounonville 1878; has one child. 

1866. Louis Rabior, farmer; born Canada 1823; married 
Malinda Laviolette 1853; has six children. His daughter 
Malinda married Anton Jenquinne 1872; has four children. 

1867. Michael Swado, farmer; born Germany 1840; married 
Annie Godty 1867; has seven children. 

1867. Charles Jenquinne, farmer; born Belgium 1843; mar- 
ried Philippine Dumont 1866; has six children. 

1868. Jerome Peltier, farmer; born Canada 1828; married 
Ester Iier 1860; has seven children. 

1868. Isidore Dury, farmer; born Canada 1841; married 
Sole Ganvin 1870; has six children 

1868. Luke Killorn. farmer; born Ireland 1838; married 
Margaret Hegan 1855; has ten children. 

1868. Joseph Baumgartner. hotel keeper; born Germany 
1834; married Jennie Levet 18558; has three children. 

1869. Casimir Dery, farmer; born Canada 1829; married 
Mary Cantin 1855. She died 1879, leaving ten children. 

1869. Herbert Bounonville, farmer; born Belgium 1830; mar 
ried Francis Oda 1874; has four children. 



90 HISTORY OF DOOR COUNTY. 

1869. George Holleck, farmer; born Bohemia 1825; married 
Mary Sebesta 1855; has five children. 

1869. Anton Eichinger, farmer; born in Manitowoc county, 
this State, 1855; married Salon e Khun 1880. 

1870. Anton Schulz, farmer; born Prussia 1849; married 
Victoria Benish 1869; has five children. 

1870. Charles Benning, farmer; born Germany 1848; mar- 
ried Mary Dedeker 1873; has three children. 



UNION— THIRTEENTH ORGANIZED TOWN. 

At the November meeting of the County Board, 1865; a por- 
tion of Brussels township, was set off, under the name of 
"Union" town. The first town meeting of Union was 
held at the house of X. Braus, who resided in said town. The 
people in Union have, as a general thing, been united in their 
public matters, and "pulled together;" hence the petitioners 
considered "Union" an appropriate name for the township. 

The following are the names of settlers now living in 
Union, who first came to Door county ten or more years ago: 

1856. Charles Girondal, farmer; born in Belgium 1815; 
married Catharine Neuville 1858; has seven children. 

1856. Gabriel Dekeyser; farmer; born Belgium 1800; mar- 
ried Rosa Spruthers 1820; has six children, four of which are 
married. 

1856. Francois Degrandgagnage, farmer; born Belgium 
1807; married Mary J. Demenra 1827; has five children. His 
daughter Josephine married Chairon 1847. Alex mar- 
ried Mary T. Simon, 1865. Second marriage 1868, to Mary J. 
Laurent, has five children. Paschal married Augustine 
Speglaire 1865; has seven children. Victor married Mary 
Charus 1869; has five children. Alphonse married Catharine 
Malland 1879; has one child. Felicien married Mary Lefebure 
1878. 

1856. Perrie Decamp, store keeper; born Belgium 1824; 
married Philippine Lampereur 1856. 

1856. Pierre Jenquet, farmer; born in Belgium 1815; mar- 
ried Mary T. Dupues 1844; has five children. His son Joseph 
married Mary J. Race 1872; has three children, and lives in 
Brown county. Lizzie married Joseph Race 1873; has two 
children. 

1856. Jacques Charles, farmer; born Belgium 1806; married 
Ferdinant Garot 1827; has six children. Joseph married Jose- 
phine Laluzerne 1858; has eight children. Anton married 
Seline Seferin 1861; has eight children. Alexander married 
Octavie Jenquart 1870. Mary Married Victor Degrandgagnage 



UNION— THIRTEENTH ORGANIZED TOWN, 91 

1869; has five children. Martin married Margaret Dedelser 
1876; has three children. 

1856. Guillaume Vandergaite, farmer; born Belgium 1827; 
married Mary DuJgee 1869; has five children. 

1856. Constant Ingebos, farmer; born Belgium 1820; mar- 
ried Mary C. Ersley 1850; has nine children. Prosperne mar- 
ried Simeon Fabry 1878; has two children. Selina married 
William Carpaiux 1878; has one child. Emily married Alois 
Jenson 1880. 

1856. Julie, widow, married Peter Carpiam 1845. He died 
1874, aged fifty-six years old. She has three children. Her 
daughter Josephine married Lembart Laise 1868; has five chil- 
dren. Leonie married Anton Bero 1872; has three children. 
William married Seline Engebos, and has one child. 

1856. Hurbert Lauzeone, farmer; born Belgium 1835; mar- 
ried Mary F. Laluzene 1870; has three children. 

1856. Barthelemi Larose, farmer and hotel keeper; born 
Belgium 1824; married Mary J. Williquet 1847; has eight chil- 
dren. Trace married August Frapon 1871; has three children, 
and lives in Brown county. Julie married Louis Delfosse 1874; 
has three children. Ferdinant married Mary Neugene 1876, 
and lives in Marinette. Victorine married Joseph Starge 
1878, and lives in Red River. 

1856. Ghislain Geniesse, hotel keeper and farmer; born 
Belgium 1829; married Emil Laise 1854; has ten children. 

1856. Fancois Evard, farmer and store keeper; born Belgium 
1838; married Florence Patrick 1868; has four children. 

1856. John B. Evard, farmer and store keeper; born Bel- 
gium 1841 ; married Josephine Patrick 1870. 

1856. Martin Collard, farmer; born Belgium 1826; married 
Julia Duffoe 1851; has one child, Josephine, who married Dony 
Rena 1866; has six children. 

1856. Joseph Counard, farmer; born Belgium 1819; married 
Mary C. Collard 1844; has four children. Martin J. married 
Mary T. Bozie 1873; has two children. Mary married Eugene 
Dubois 1877; has one child. Augustine married Victor Dubois 
1875; has two children 

1856. William Delwiche, farmer; born Belgium 1810; mar- 
ried Mary Dupure 1838; has eight children. Felicite married 
Abelard Duchateau 1861; has five children, and lives in Green 
Bay. Verginie married Gaspard Martin 1866; has six children. 
Lucy married Eugene Lempereur 1866; has six chilnren. John 
B. married Mary Janquet 1873; has three children. Joseph 
married Josephine Janquet 1874; has three children. 

1855. Anton Chandoir, farmer; born Belgium 1836; married 
Anjoseph Martin 1860. She died 1873, leaving one child 
Josephine, who married Alexander Chandoir. 



92 HISTORY OF DOOR COUNTY. 

1856. Sarah, widow, married Joseph Lemper eur 1839. He 
died 1861, leaving seven children. Cornelia married David 
Pelegrin 1860; has six children, and lives at Duck Creek. 
Octava married Javeous Janson 1862; has four children. 
Eugene married Lucy D. Befay 1869, and lives in Green Bay. 

1856. Louis Laduron, farmer; born Belgium 1840; married 
Arsele Willequet 1860; has eight children. 

1856. Pierre Martin, farmer; born Belgium 1811; married 
Jane Delaire 1848; has one child. 

1856. Francois Renard, farmer; born Belgium 1824; mar- 
ried Marione Renard 1857; has eight children. 

1856. Lambert Renard, farmer; born Belgium 1834; married 
Trace Dutry 1862; has seven children. 

1856. John B.Boullion, farmer; born Belgium 1840; married 
Oclare Laysse 1863; has seven children. 

1856. Melchior Dubois, farmer; born Belgium 1807; mar- 
ried Antolie Laurent 1846;. She died 1876, leaving three chil- 
dren. Josephine married Henry Decremer 1867; has seven 
children. Mary T. married Victor Decremer 1871; has five 
children. Gustave married Mary Leminse 1878; has one child. 

1856. Francois Maxini, farmer; born Belgium 1806; mar 
ried Mary J. Busham 1840; has five children. Trace married 
Joseph Hote 1875. Ferdnante married Jole Marchant 1875; 
has two children, and lives in Marinette. 

1856. John Dugean, farmer; born Belgium 1810; married 
T. Vaudermus 1860. She died 1872, aged 60 years. 

1857. Noel J. Delfosse, farmer: born Belgium 1847; married 
Louisa Delmont 1879. 

1857. Margaret, widow, married William Moore 1856. He 
died 1865, leaving three children. 

1857. Francois Delveau, farmer; born Belgium 1815; mar- 
ried Lenore Pere 1840; has six children. Roalie married 
Joseph Debauche 1871; has three children. 

1857. Guillanme Fabry, farmer; born Belgium 1806; married 
Joanne Vaise 1831; has five children. Servais married 
Diendounee Delfosse 1857; has 9 children. Henrietta married 
Edward Marchant 1858; has twelve children. Gegoire mar- 
ried Catherine Jenson 1863; has eight children. Matilda mar- 
ried Jorda Ladurou 1864; has nine children. Simeon married 
Prosperine Engebos 1878; has two children. 

1857. August J. Delfosse, farmer; born Belgium 1851; mar- 
ried Mary J. Lemperer 1871; has five children. 

1857. Louis J. Delfosse, farmer; born Belgium 1853; mar- 
ried Julia A. Larose 1874; has three children. 

1857. Eugene Delfosse, farmer; born Belgium 1855; married 
Octavia Legot 1879; has one child. 



UNION— THIRTEENTH ORGANIZED TOWN, 93 

1858. John Maloney, farmer; born Ireland 1815; married 
Bridget Kanart 1836; has one child, Bridget, who married 
Peter Rosmalou, and lives in Green Bay. 

1859. Florent Geulette, farmer; born Belgium 1850; mar- 
ried Orilee Piette 1872; has three children. 

1859. Michael Kir by, farmer; born Ireland 1831; married 
Mary Doran 1854; has eleven children. 

1867. Clement Geniesse, farmer and hotel keeper; born in 
Belgium 1833; married Mary T. Kaye 1855; has six children. 

1868. Joseph A. Theys, farmer; born Belgium 1825; married 
Rosa Poulin 1871; has nine children. 

1869. Prosper Geivais, farmer; born Belgium 1836; married 
Emily Tordeur 1879; has one child. 

1869. Maurice Moore, farmer; born Ireland 1822; 
married Bridget Reilly 1858; has twelve children. 

1869. John B. Jadin, farmer; born Belgium 1835; married 
Ortence Chanten 1857; has six children. 

1869. Celesten Poriuse, farmer; born Belgium 1842; mar- 
ried Antonet Laduron 1866; has seven children. 

1870. Francois Gillot, farmer: born Belgium 1831; married 
Ferdinant Neuvile 1856; has four children. Flora married 
Joseph Poimier 1878; has one child. 

1870. Joseph Bandhuin, farmer; born Belgium 1807; mar- 
ried Josephine Jenqurt 1840; has eight children. John mar- 
ried Polline Gilbert 1859; has six children. Martin married 
Trace Pensis 1874; has four children. Marcelin married Catha- 
rine Girondal 1871; has four children. Marceline married 
August Herlache 1874; has three children. 

1870. Mary Dubois, widow, has ten children. Her danghter 
Trace married John H. Destrie 1870; has two children. Victor 
married Augustine Counard 1875; has two children. Eugene 
married Mary Counard 1877; has one child. 

1870. Dennis J. Baudhuir, farmer; born Belgium 1816; mar- 
ried Mary J. Laturor 1856; has four, children. Mary married 
Frank Martin, of Brussels, 1879; has one child. 

1870. Gustave Pensis, farmer; born Belgium 1848; married 
Felicia Geniesse 1876; has three children. 

1870. Francois Counard, farmer; born Belgium 1818; mar- 
ried Trace Seron 1863; has two children. 

1870. Gustav Colbot, farmer; born Belgium 1839; married 
Eugenine Michbann 1864; has four children. 

1870. Gasper Dury, farmer; born Belgium 1828; married 
Mary J. Dubois 1858; has one child, August, who married Eliza 
Dekeizierr 1879; has one child. 

1870. Mary, widow, married John J. Janquet 1843. He died 
1873, leaving five children. Mary married Jolin B. Delwich 
1873; has three children. Josephine married Joseph Delwich 



94 HISTORY OF DOOR COUNTY. 

1873; has three children. Hubert married Clara Collard 1874; 
has two children. She died 1879. Nicholas J. married Flora 
Gilot 1878; has one child. 

1870. Charles Janquart, farmer; born Belgium 8817; mar- 
ried Mary T. Sonvan 1845. She died 1864, leaving six children. 
Octavie married Alexis Charles 1874. 

1870. Anton Beward, farmer; born Belgium 1835; married 
Rosala Voux 1868; has five children. 

o4>0 

JACKSONPORT 14th AND LAST ORGANIZED TOWN. 

Jacksonport, unlike the other towns in the county, was not 
organized under the supervision of the County Board. Col. 
Charles L. Harris, and other active parties in the vicinity of 
Jacksonport got the matter before the State Legislature, and 
portions of Bailey's Harbor and Egg Harbor townships 
was set off as a separate township under the name of Jack- 
sonport, before the people generally knew of the matter. Con- 
cerning the affair, we find in the Private and Local Laws of 
Wisconsin for 1869, the following: 

"Section i. All of township 29 north of range 27 east, is hereby 
detached from the towns of Egg Harbor and Bailey's Harbor, in the 
county of Door, and organized into a separate town called Jacksonport. 
The first election for officers of said town shall be held on th* first 
Tuesday of April next, after the passage of this act, and thereafter 
the said town shall be held to be fully organized and subject to all the 
liabilities and entitledto all the rights and immunities of towns organized 
under the laws of this State. 

SECTION 2. This act shall take effect, and be in "force from and 
after the passage and publication thereof. 

Approved March 8th, 1869." 

The name of "Jacksonport" was given the town in honor of 
a Mr. Jackson who was a large property holder in that vicinity. 

The following is a short sketch of the old settlers now resid- 
ing in Jacksonport, who first came to Door county ten or more 
years ago: 

In the year 1850, J. E. Thorp, farmer, first came to Door 
county. He was born in New York State 1828; married Mary 
Claflin 1855; has four children. His son Roy married Matilda 
Chambers 1877. 

The following interesting letter is from Mr. Thorp: 

Jacksonport, Wisconsin, \ 

October 25th, 1880. ) 
y. E. Thorpe to C. L Martin: 

Mr. Increase Claflin, from the State of New York, being the first 
white settler of the town of Gardner, settled there May 1st 1835. In 
the year 1836 Robert Stevenson, from Pennsylvania came to Little 



JACKSONPORT— 14THAND LAST ORGANIZED TOWN. 95 

Sturgeon, and in 1837 married Adelia, the eldest daughter of Mr. 
Claflin. He then became a permanent settler of that place. Mr. 

Claflin remained at Little Sturgeon until the year I844. His 
business was farming, fishing, and trading with the Indians. During 
the first few years of Mr- Claflin's stay at Little Sturgeon, the Menom- 
inee and Chippewa Indians were quite troublesome. At one time they 
surrounded his house and threatened to kill him and all his family, 
but no harm was done to anyone, except Mr. Stevenson, who, while 
fighting with them, was stabbed twice. They attempted to drag Mrs. 
Stevenson from the house, but were defeated in their attempt. Mr. 
Claflin tken made a treaty with them, and ever afterwards they 
were friends to him and his family. In 1844 Mr. Claflin moved to 

Fish creek, being the first white settler of that place. His business 
there was principally fishing and trapping, there being a large amount 
of fur in those days, though there were but few deer, on acconnt 
of thewolves being so numero us. Mr. Claflin named most, of the 
places and Islands from Sturgeon Bay to "Death's Door." Horseshoe 
Bay he called by that name, because he found his horses there, when 
they were on their way back to Little Sturgeon after he had moved to 
Fish Creek, and one of the horses had lost a shoe at that place. The 
place has gone by that name ever since. "Egg Harbor" he so named, 
because of the harbor there, and on going in he found a nest full of 
duck's eggs. *'Hat Island" he said was the shape of a hat. "Straw- 
berry Islands" he named on account of the amount of strawberries 
that grew there. "Eagle Island" he named because he found an 
eagle's nest there. * 'Sister Island," because they were so near alike. 
"Chamber's Island" was named in honor of Captain Chamber's, who 
lost his life there in the time of the Black Hawk war. Mr. Claflin's 
house was the only house from Sturgeon Bay to Washington Island 
until the year 1847, when William Marshall, from Bay Settlement, 
came to Fish Creek and married Mary, the second oldest daughter of 
Mr. Claflin. and afterwards became a settler of that place. His prin- 
cipal business there was fishing. In 1850, ye scribe came to Fish 
Creek, and worked at the Cooper trade at this place until 1855, when 
I married Maria, the youngest daughter of Mr. Claflin. In 1862 Mr. 
Claflin's three sons — Albert, Charles, and William — enlisted in the 
32d Wisconsin regiment, in which they served until April 1st, 1864. 
Albert, the oldest came home on a sick furlough, where he remained 
until the 1st of June, when he died. Charles came home March 1st 
1863, being discharged on account of consumption, he remained until he 
died, November 1st, 1865 William, the youngest, remained until the 
close of the war, when he returned and settled at Little Sturgeon, the 
place of his birth, where he still lives. Mr. Claflin lived at Fish 
Creek until March 5th, 1867, when he died, at the age of eighty- 
three years. Mrs. Claflin lived until 1S73, when she died at the resi- 
dence of her son William Claflin, at Little Sturgeon, September 7th, 
at the age of seventy-eight years Mr. Larson, the first white set- 



98 HISTORY OF DOOR COUNTY. 

provision line was practiced, there would be a sore famine in 
the land before the opening of navigation. Finally the flour 
and pork gave out— groceries of every sort run out, and the 
settlers were reduced to the necessity of living on "potatoes 
and salt." They had not even the diet that Beecher claims 
was good enough for a laboring man, viz: "bread and water." 
True, water was here in abundance, or could be had by cutting 
a hole through the ice, but the bread was conspicuous for its 
absence. Scarce a family then residing in the settlement but 
what lived entirely on potatoes and salt for days and days, and 
we believe we are safe in saying that they were all in like 
condition. Occasionally a load of supplies could be obtained 
from outside, but the amount brought would only afford a 
temporary supply. On such occasions, it was no uncommon 
thing to see those who obtained a few pounds of meal or flour 
divide with their less fortunate neighbors, thus showing the 
bright side of humanity in the time of general need. Of 
course the supplies so obtained were small and infrequent; yet 
their arrivals were occasions of rejoicing and encouragement, 
and brought to the surface the better feelings of humanity 
which otherwise might have rusted to death. Fishing through 
the ice for trout was followed by some of the settlers, which 
aided in eking out the food supply of the place; but when the 
spring rains came and drove the ice out of the creeks empty- 
ing into the bay, our citizens held high carnaval, for sucker 
time had come, "Gentle Annie," and a "square meal" was 
indulged in by all concerned, with an avidity and relish sel- 
dom known before, or since, by the dwellers of this region. 
While the suckers were going to, and returning from their 
spawn bdds those who went through the famine declared "that 
the bones of the fish so clinched through skin and shirt that 
they could not be separated until the bones were decomposed. 
If any escaped that condition, it was because they lined their 
shirts with tin, which saved the garment." Such are fish re- 
ports, but in the general meaning not facts. 

That season, the ice did not leave the bay until the 8th of 
May. The same day a vessel from Chicago loaded with sup- 
plies (about $8,000 worth) entered Sturgeon Bay point. That 
there was rejoicing over the event, can be a matter of no ques- 
tion. Every household had a supply! They ate, and were 
happy! As the man that looks in a glass, and when he turns 
away from it, straightway forgets what manner of man he is, 
so these people ate themselves to repletion and seemingly for- 
got they were ever suffering with hunger. 

More than a score of years have rolled their rounds since 
then. The forest on either side of the bay has receded before 
the "march of civilization," or more properly speaking, before 



THE HARD AND COLD WINTERS. 99 

the sturdy blows of the axeman's strong arm. Broad fields 
show thrift and perseverance. True many, perhaps a majority 
of the old settlers have disappeared from among us, and the 
everchanging kaleidoscope of time has covered the trails and 
hidden the scars of that eventful year from view, until the 
stranger would never dream that gaunt hunger ouce stalked 
grim and hideously defiant through the settlement — pinching 
the features of both old and young, and sickening the spirit 
almost to despair. To suppose its recollection has faded 
entirely from the memory of those who passed through the 
dark days of that long and cheerless winter is an error, for as 
they gather round their firesides to commune with each other, 
after the main labors of the season are over, memory reverts 
to the times of their trials, and they repeat the legends 
of the days when they struggled and suffered, that their chil 
dren may profit by their experience. At times, while so 
repeating the tales of the past, the humerous side of the scene 
presents itself and is enjoyed with a pleasure, mellowed by 
time, which breaks the force of the reality, and almost makes 
them think they were dreaming, and their sufferings in those 
goneby days were illusory and mystical instead of being an 
unquestioned reality. 

THE COLD WINTER. 



The winter of , 62-'3 is often referred to as the coldest ever 
experienced in this section, certainly during the life of any 
of the present generation; the coldest day being the 1st of 
January 1863. This was followed up for a week or so with a 
sharpness that made one believe there was to be a repetition 
of the glacial period. Prior to the 1st there was no uncom- 
mon coldness in the atmosphere, and many of our people here 
thought, (as those elsewhere did) that the month of January 
was to be from fair to middling for mildness; but growing cold 
and a rapid falling in the thermometer during the night of 
December 31, dissipated this belief. New Year's day opened 
with intense coldness, and a fierce wind from the northwest, 
and it seemed as though the north pole had moved down upon 
us „in g°°d earnest. Not dreaming of such a change in the 
weather, many of the dwellers here were caught with a small 
supply of wood; besides this, many of the homes were not in 
condition to stand a siege from the frost king, with comfort, 
and many of the stoves in use in the settlement were not 
fitted fot use in this climate. Putting these things together, 
it was not strange that that particular New Year's day is 
remembered as a "landmark," and quoted as a measure in time 
—a prominent date in the history of the place. The cold on 
that day was severely intense; yet the wind made the weather 






100 HIStORY OF DOOR COUNTY. 

more severe and cutting than the thermometer really indicated 
at that time. In fact we have no date to show that the winter 
of 1862-3 was so cold as the present one, (1881) with the excep- 
tion of the one cold day mentioned above, and no doubt that 
if we had "enjoyed" a severe west wind the other day when 
the thermometer was dancing around the thirties we would 
have found the twin of the cold of 1863, with only a few 
degrees in the downward grade in the thermometer, But we 
don't get a "wind blizzard" every cold snap, and for this rea- 
son are apt to retain the memory of those we do get, for a long, 
long time. The present winter has been steadily cold; and 
we have become used to it. The cold of '63 came upon us sud- 
denly and sharp. It was comparatively unexpected. Its 
"claws'' were as sharp as though they had been ground on an 
iceberg, and polished on a jagged rock, and when it struck it 
was "from the shoulder," and caught us almost sans ca/oute. 
But it was cold though! how cold! Hence the recollection 
of it. 



THE BOYS IN BLUE. 
Although Door county was but sparcely settled at the time 
of the civil war, she did her share toward suppressing the 
champions and backers in the cause of seceding Southern 
States. Not a few men shouldered muskets and made off for 
the line of conflict, who had taken up wild lands in this vicin- 
ity; built log cabins, and therein planted their families in the 
wilderness. As they left their weeping wives and crying chil- 
dren, the common expression was: "Cheer up! we've had our 
breakfast — 'will take our dinner with us, and be home for sup- 
per !" Many a supper time came and went; time rolled on, and 
years passed by ere the war closed. While the men were off on 
Dixon's line fighting for the Government, the women and chil- 
dren in Door county were battling with hardships and strug- 
gling to keep life in their bodies. It was a common scene in 
those days to see that sex of the human family that most wear 
calico, wading in the deep snows of winter gathering wood to 
burn; chopping down the large forest trees, clearing, and mak- 
ing preparations to farm. Cattle fed on the tender twigs of 
tree tops, and in most cases the women had to do the felling of 
the trees. The hardships were general, and each one carried 
their portion of the burden. With the wife courage was kept 
up by the thought of the joys that would take place when her 
husband returned! With the husband thoughts of making 
those at home happy, was the beacon light that guided him 
through drudgery and long years of war. In 1865 the war 
closed, but a number of Door county's noblest sons returned 
not— powder and lead was their death warrant, and Southern 



WINTER OF 1 880- 1 . 100% 

THE WINTER OF 1880-1. 

Inasmuch as the winter of 1880-1 has been such a remarka- 
ble one, we deem it but just to make some record of it for 
future reference. November 17th, 1880, the steam ferry Ark, 
that plies between Sturgeon Bay and Bay View, made its last 
trip for the season. On the morning of the 18th foot passen- 
gers could cross the bay. By many, a "break-up" was looked 
for, but the weather continued "snug," and in a couple of days 
teams crossed with perfect safety. On Sunday, November 
21st, Scofield & Co.'s tug Leatham, frojji Chicago, plowed down 
the bay, turning up from 4 to 6 inches of new blue ice. Five 
days later, or on Friday, 26th, the Messrs. Spears tugs Gregory, 
from Chicago, and H. N, Martin, worked their way to Sturgeon 
Bay village by way of the canal. The Gregory took the lead in 
breaking the ice, and opposite Lawrence & Co.'s grist mill she 
broke new ice 10% inches thick. Thus it will be seen that 
nine days after the bay was froze over it wore a crystal 
covering averaging from 9 to 11 inches. A moderate amount 
of snow fell from date to date, and though the total was but 
from 3 to 4 inches, sleighing was excellent. December and 
January were nice winter months— the snow fall light, but the 
weather cold and steady. In February the weather was very 
changeable— mercury ranging from high to low. Snow, rain, 
and sunshine often being the make-up of a single day. Sun- 
day, February 27th was the severest storm ever experienced in 
this county— not because particularly of the heavy fall of 
snow, but the immense drifts. For eleven days (from Saturday 
February 27th, to Wednesday, March 9th,) no Green Bay mails 
were received— so extensively were the roads blocked. March 
20th another blizzard swept the country, and if possible fur- 
ther blocked 'the roads. The Green Bay mail was again 
behind time four days. Fair weather again smiled 011 
this section, and the lumbermen that had broke camp, went 
back to the woods. Once more the winter broke out in fresh 
spots, and the clouds that had scattered and disappeared, came 
back loaded with the '"beautiful" and dumped a coating of 
snow several inches deep all over the northwest. In length, 
breadth and thickness the winter of 1880-1 is without parallel 
for forty years. Navigators will remember it for the snow 
storms and drift ice off our coasts. The interior will recall the 
heavy snows with which it so long blocked their streets and 
roads. Railroad men will speak of the like impediments it 
threw in their way, and the poorer classes will shiver at the 
mention of the acute sufferinsg it caused them. But most 
memorable will it be to|meteorologists, as marked by the most 



ioom 



CORRECTIONS. 



extensive area of intense cold ever recorded in the United 
States. 

Regarding the fall of snow, there is a very wide gap between 
statements. In the northern part of the county the * fall of 
snow was heavier than in the southern portion. In the south- 
ern part the deepest snow was about three feet four inches on 
a level, and in the northern part about four feet— the average 
perhaps being three and a half feet on a level in the woods. 
Snow drifts from six to fifteen feet were not uncommon scenes. 
But putting it at the highest it was a light touch when com- 
pared with some other sections of the State and northwest. 

It is now the first of April, and there is still two feet of snow 
on the level in the woods. However, it is evident that winter 
is relaxing her icy grasp, and ere another four weeks roll by vve 
may well expect the arrival of the much-longed-for spring. 



CORRECTIONS. 

On pages 56 we give some facts concerning "The Town of 
Chamber's Island/' that was organized in 1859. The records 
show that it was disorganized in the same year, but further 
investigation goes to show that it remained a town for. nearly 
ten years. 

Agricultural Society, Page 113.— Though first organized 
in 1865, the first County Fair was not held untill 1869. 

Cold Winter, Page 99.— The old settlers disagree concerning 
the "cold winter," some stating that it was the winter of 
'62-3, while others are "sure it was '63-4." 



THE GREAT FIRE OF 1S71. 101 

soil covered their bones! The iron tongue of a bell did not 
mark the event, but the human tongue of a Northern wife yet 
quivers in remembrance, and tears enough have been shed to 
moisten the baked dust that covers graves a thousand miles 
away! The soft southern breeze that sways the wild grass over 
a father's grave, fans the brow and lifts the curls that cluster 
around the head of fatherless daughters in Door county! But 
nature commands all things, and by the same law she invig- 
orates life, destroys an existence. The sorrowing bird 
sings just as sweetly after grief, and the human family is of 
like nature. * * * A number of the men who enlisted from 
this county returned, and still reside here, being among the 
most respectable citizens. They are quite old now, and in 
some instances their hair has turned as white as the record of 
St. John. Long may they live to enjoy the blessings of peace 
in a Union they helped to preserve! 



THE GREAT FIRE OF 1871. 

The year 1871 will long be remembered in the annals of Door 
county— in fact in the history of the whole Northwest. The 
year was one of unusual destruction throughout the country 
—the loss was pretty evenly divided between the mishaps of 
water and fire. On the lakes hundreds of lives was swallowed 
up by the mighty waves, and vessel wrecks were strewn at 
intervals from Chicago to Buffalo. On terra firma, forest fires 
raged most furiously— particularly was this the case in north- 
eastern Wisconsin. The fire was general, but Door, Kewaunee, 
and Oconto counties suffered most, although a corner of Brown 
county received quite a severe blister. As this brief history is 
but a local affair, we shall particularly give facts of the fire 
that was encircled within the limits of this county. 

The main reason why the fire was so destructive was on 
account of the long and continued drouth. Previous to '71 no 
extensive drouths had visited this section. Refreshing and 
growing rains were as regular as the planting seasons. But 
in 1871 irregularity took the place of regularity, and cultivated 
lands became parched and cracked— as is often the case in 
treacherous frontier States. The great loss of life was much 
owing to the unsettled state of the county. Ten years ago 
clearings were small and far between. Those who bought 
land and had started a farm were generally men of meager 
means. Not a few settled upon homesteads, with their pocket- 
books much contracted for want of dollars. Under these cir- 
cumstances it could not be expected that rapid progress would 
or could be made in as heavily timbered a country as this was. 
Many of the settlers, in hewing a farm from the forest, had to 



102 HISTORY OF DOOR COUNTY. 

"eat it as they went." That is, when they cut a tree, they 
worked it up into shingles, shaved out by hand, split it into 
boalts, barrel staves, or some other marketable product. The 
marketing or hauling was generally done on rude carts, drawn 
by cows, and oxen, and when closes pinched, by man and wife. 
The little jag or load was traded for groceries and supplies, 
which were carted home and sustained life while more trees 
were felled and worked into marketables. Thus was the pro- 
gress of settling and clearing a farm in Door county from 
1855 to a decade later. True, when the year 1871 dawned, the 
settlers had made considerable progress, and let a good deal of 
the light of civilization into the dense forests, but the depri- 
vation and hardships they had to contend with for long years, 
made their progress slow, and they were entirely unprepared— 
not being protected from forest fires by large clearings. With 
clearings small, and far between, imagine the position of the 
settlers that were in what is now known as the "burned dis- 
trict !" Up from the highways that were usually moist— yes, 
muddy — rose huge columns of dust, looking like smoke or 
clouds; swamps and marshes that for years before were covered 
with water, were traversable in 1871. 

It is a hard matter to get at the origin of the fire, for the 
blaze was general. The first start might have been lit from 
sparks of some land clearer's log heaps; or the smouldering 
coals of some camp fire might have been fanned into a 
blaze by the wind. Once started, and with the whole 
country as combustible as a powder magazine, no other result 
could be looked for than was experienced. By the middle of 
September matters really looked serious. The swamps were 
on fire; corduroys and wood structures were burning, and 
fences being reduced to ashes. No rain came, but the fire ser- 
pent kept rapidly crawling forward and covering the bosom 
of the forest! So intense were the flames that the running 
fire burned out the heart of large maples, and the sturdy old 
trees that had held out against all assaults for a century or 
more, toppled over and added fuel to the flames. Gnawing 
at the roots, and feeding on the tops of the trees, the fire spread 
miles each day. The whole atmosphere, for many miles 
around, was oppressive to inhale. At night the sight was dis- 
heartening. The whole heavens, around the horizon were 
aglow, and the dark red, as seen through the smoky atmosphere, 
seemed to be an indicator of some great calmity soon to take 
place. Days went by, and the settlers fought the fire and 
saved their property as best they could. Saturday, October 
7th, the fire took a new start and brisked up, but in a few hours 
lulled again, and hopes were entertained that the worst was 
over. Sunday, (or "sad day," as it was afterward termed) 



THE GREAT FIRE OF 1 87 1. 103 

October 8th, the morning dawned with no perceptable change. 
In the afternoon the wind was quite fresh, and contiued brisk 
until late in the evening, when there was a sudden change. 
The wind had evidently gone to rest, as is frequently the case 
in summer time— but there seemed to be something unnatural 
about the stillness! In a few minutes there came a gust of 
wind, followed by a loud roaring. Here (Sturgeon Bay) the 
night was dark, but toward the west and south-west (the direc- 
tion from which came the roaring) dense clouds were notice- 
able. Then a flame shot up, and the heavens seemed to be on 
fire! Flames were visible but a few minutes, and traveled 
with great velocity in a southerly direction. After the first 
large flash or flame, a glow was visible, but at times almost hid 
by the huge columns of black smoke. The terrific roaring of 
the wind at a distance, together with the noise of falling 
timber caused the stoutest hearts to flutter. The night was 
made more hideous by the startling cries of birds, flying frant- 
ically in all directions. Time dragged on, and morning 
dawned. During Monday reports of distress came in from all 
portions of the country. North of Sturgeon Bay the fire 
had done much damage, but to the Westward, in Nase- 
waupee and portions of Gardner townships, a tornado had 
passed through, dealing death and destruction on every hand 
—a little place known as Williamsonville, was completely 
wiped out of existence, but on Monday evening a drenching 
rain set in which lasted for several hours, and completely 
stayed the further progresss of the great fire of 1871. 

Tuesday, October 10th, in company with several others, the 
writer of this sketch started for the "tornado district," with a 
mule team well loaded with supplies for the destitute ones. 
The road was filled with burnt, and burning trees and at about 
4 o'clock in the afternoon a distance of only four miles had 
been made toward Williamsonville. It was evident that to 
get the team to Williamsonville (six miles distant) would 
consume the time of at least another day; hence a portion of 
the crowd loaded themselves with what they could carry, and 
set out on foot, while the team re-traced its steps. The jour- 
ney was dreadful! The odor of wild birds and animals, 
together w ith that of hogs, cattle and horses that had been 
roasted alive, mingled with the dense smoke of burning tim- 
ber, was almost stifling! Some portions of the road were 
blocked with trees nine deep — burning and smouldering, mak- 
ing the journey both slow and difficult. Williamsonville was 
finally reached — the sight was the most horrible imaginable! 
Dead bodies were strewn in all directions, and most all burned 
beyond recognition. Something like thirty-five bodies lay in 
one heap! Some had one or both legs burned off; another was 



104 HISTORY OF DOOR COUNTY. 

an arm, while still another had the head or other parts burned 
to a crisp— men, women, and children composing the pile. 
The fleshy substance that remained uncharred, was cooked 
through, and when moved would fall into pieces ! Added to 
the most affecting sight, was the almost unbearable odor that 
arose from the burned bodies that had been moistened by the 
drenching rain! Nearly ten years have elapsed since that- 
terrible sight, yet it is as fresh in memory to-day as the date 
it was witnessed - the great black trees stand out now as 
visionary mourning statues as they stood in reality October 
11th, '71. 

Wiliiamsonville was a little settlement established by the 
Messrs. Williamson, in the dense forest a few miles South of 
Little Sturgeon— the manufacture of shingles being the main 
pillar upon which rested the foundation for forming the set- 
tlement. A mill, store, boarding house, large barn, black- 
smith shop, eight dwelling houses, and minor buildings made 
up the settlement— all of which were reduced to ashes. From 
76 to 80 persons were in the settlement at the time of the fire, 
and all perished in the flames except seventeen. Out of eleven 
of the Williamson family, but two escaped — Thomas and his 
mother. We interviewed several of the survivors, and all 
told, in substance, one and the same story. The clearing of 
Wiliiamsonville was small— some six or seven acres. For a 
week or two they had been fighting the flames, and setting 
back-fires, "and began to feel pretty safe." In the evening a 
heavy puff of wind came, leveling trees in all directions; and 
what seemed to be the reflection of a big fire bounded up in the 
south, or south-west. Then came another heavy gust of wind, 
and with it a sheet of fire that rolled along over the tree tops ; 
then sparks came down as large and thick as rain drops. In 
a few minutes the buildings were all on fire, and the strife was 
to save life instead of property. A general rush was made for 
the vacant part of the clearing, known as the potato-patch. 
It was there that the thirty-five dead lay in one heap, and it 
was within ten feet of where lay the thirty-five that the old 
lady Williamson sat with a wet blanket over her, and was 
saved. A woman whose head rested against the lower part of 
Mrs. Williamson's blanket, was roasted to death. Thomas 
Williamson was saved by wrapping himself in a wet blanket, 
and rooting face downward, into an old ash-bed. Out of the 
seven that got into the well, two perished. Beside the human 
lives that were lost, sixteen out of seventeen horses, and five 
out of six oxen burned to death, beside some forty hogs, etc. 
One of the most shocking reports, was concerning two men 
that endeayored to kill themselves by pounding their head 
against a stump, while they were fairly roasting! 



COUNTY MYSTERIES. 105 

Re-tracing the tracks from Williamsonville to Sturgeon Bay, 
the first place where the buildings were still standing, and 
where there was any signs of life, was Mr. Daley's place— a 
distance of five or more miles. From Daley's to town a num- 
ber were burned. In fact, a vast amount of property through- 
out Nasewaupee township was licked up and carried out of 
existence by the fire, and a number of lives were lost. Gard- 
ner, Union, Brussels, Forestville and Clay Banks townships 
also were severely scorched, and the lives of some of the inhab- 
itants were saved by digging holes deep in the earth, and then 
crawling into the pits. The scenes that followed in the path 
traveled by the fire and tornado, beggars all description, and 
one might as well break off citing incidents first as last, 
for thousands had a hand in the battle, and each one saw or 
experienced some particular thing that the others did not. 
Although the timber districts of the whole North-eastern part 
of the State were more or less ruined by the fires, the tornado 
dealt its heaviest blow at Williamsonville, this county; Rob- 
insonville, Brown county; Sugar Creek, Peshtigo, Menekaunee, 
and Marinette, Oconto county. It was estimated that in the 
circuit about 7,500 persons were rendered homeless. The 
catastrophy not only resulted in great loss to life, buildings, 
roads and fences, but some of the best farming lands were 
burned to barrenness. 

But as sunshine follows storm, so did humanity soothe the 
blistered, feed the hungry, and clothe the naked. From all 
over the State— from nearly every State — even from Europe 
came assistance, and by mixing the assistance with hardships, 
the unfortunates "pulled through." To-day, those who have 
not passed from earth, are standing on their own feet; com- 
forte surround them, and the meat they eat is sweeted by the 
bitter experience they endured in bygone years. 

o<§>o 

MYSTERIES. 

THE SUNKEN ISLAND.* 

From Mrs. Josephine Graham we learn some particulars 
concerning the so-called"sunken island" in the vicinity of 
Port du Moris (Death's Door). Mrs. Graham states that the 
Island was situated in Lake Michigan, about five miles South 
east of Rock Island, and known as "Little Gull," because of its 
whiteness and appearance of a gull at long range. The 
Island was irregular in shape— being about fifty feet in width 
by one hundred feet in length; was entirely a formation made 
of small stones— ranging from the size of a walnut to rocks 
weighing several pounds. By no means was the Island a place 
of vegetation, for not even grass grew upon it. In the sum- 



106 HISTORY OF DOOR COUNTY. 

mer of 1846 or '47 Mr. Graham built a fish shanty or house on 
"Little Gull," to be handier to his nets that were set "out 
side" (which phraze means that the nets were set out in the 
lake several miles from Rock Island). Into the small fish pal- 
ace, on the island of sea pebbles, Mrs. Graham went and 
cooked for her husband during the summer months, but as 
fall approached and Old Michigan began to froth, the inhabi- 
tants of Little Gull returned to Rock Island, where terra jinna 
was more extended. The next season Little Gull was too 
small to even "squat" on— having diminished a good deal dur- 
ing the winter. It continued to grow smaller each year, and 
long years ago disappeared below the. surface of the water. 
Then the spot was referred to as the "outside shoal." Still the 
work of "going down" continued, and small sail crafts, of 
light draft could navigate over the shoal. A few years ago 
the water over the shoal was of a depth sufficient to hide the 
appearance of a shoal, and a large steamer suffered a heavy 
loss by grounding on the bar. To-day the once dry island is 
covered by fathoms of water. By the superstitious it is 
claimed that the disappearance of Little Gull Island is a mys- 
tery, and that the neighboring Islands have also settled a num- 
ber of feet. Land marks prove the latter statement untrue, 
while the mystery connected with the "sunken Island" does 
not seem to be difficult to solve. The fact that the little island 
was entirely formed of small stones — unquestionably heaped 
up by the sea — it does not seem unreasonable to suppose that 
the same power that rolled the stones up, could also level or 
roll them down again. 

THE BERTHOLF MYSTERY. 



Among other incidents connected with the early history of 
the county, was the mysterious disappearance of one H. B. 
Bertholf in August 1857. Messrs. Bertholf and D. H. Rice 
(better known as judge Rice) entered into partnership for the 
purpose of cutting and shipping cedar, such as fence posts, 
telegraph poles, raiff oad- ties, etc., and had purchased quite a 
large tract of land a little South of Rowley's Bay, where they 
were to build a pier, and go into the business— on an exten- 
sive scale, as it was deemed in those days. Mr. Rice was at 
the proposed field of operation, awaiting the arrival of Mr. 
Bertholf, who was on his way (a foot) with the necessary funds 
for starting the enterprise. After leaving Sturgeon Bay, no 
definite traces of his whereabouts have ever been ascertained, 
though at about that date a man stopped at Clark's fisheries at 
Whitefish Bay, and some of the old settlers are of the belief 
that the man was Bertholf. But if such is the case, the mys- 
tery is as profound as ever, for there all traces end. In the 
Green Bay Advocate, dated October 29th, 1857, the following 



COUNTY MYSTERIES. 107 

letter appears, as correspondence from this vicinity: 

"On Monday, the 24th of August last, Mr. H. Bertholf, whose 
family reside in Kenosha, left Sturgeon Bay to go to Bailey's Harbor, 
on the lake shore, since which time he has not been seen or heard of 
by his friends. He started to go from Sturgeon Bay across the portage 
to the Lake Shore, intending to go by that way, stopping the same 
night at Whitefish Bay, and go on to Bailey's Harbor the next morn- 
ing. The men at I. S. Clark's fishing station, at Whitefish Bay, have 
some recollection of a man stopping at their shanty about the 24th of 
August, and their description in part corresponds with Mr. Bertholf, 
but after canvassing the matter over carefully with them, it is consid- 
ered very doubtful about that man being Mr. Bertholf, and many here 
have come to the conclusion that he has not been seen since he left 
Sturgeon Bay on the 24th of August. 

The first intimation the people here had of his disappearance, was 
the arrival of his son at Sturgeon Bay in the latter part of September 
in quest of his father, the family becoming alarmed for his safety, not 
having heard from him since he left home in August. A search was at 
once instituted by the son, who visited every settlement along the Lake 
Shore from Sturgeon Bay to Rowley's Bay, but with the exception of 
the above mentioned supposition of his having been seen at Whitefish 
Bay, no traces of him could be found. He was known at all the set- 
tlements and was expected along by several people, but no one had 
seen him, and the son returned to Sturgeon Bay. 

Rumors were afloat of the sudden disappearance of a gang of fisher- 
men from a point on the Lake Shore where Mr. B. must have passed, 
and several of the citizens at Sturgeon Bay, with the son, went over 
to investigate it, which resulted in the fact that the fishermen did not 
arrive here for a week after Mr. Bertholf should have passed their camp. 

Since then Mr. F. Robinson, son-in-law of Mr. B„ has, with the 
assistance of many of the people of Door county, been searching the 
shore and the woods without success. A reward of $600 has been 
offered by the city of Kenosha for the recovery of his body and the 
apprehension of the murderers, should he have met with foul play. 
The whole matter is still involved in profound mystery — whether he 
has been murdered or met with an accident in "the woods, is a ques- 
tion yet to be solved. He was known to have had considerable 
money about him to enter lands which he was then going to select, but 
this knowledge, it is believed, was confined to but very few of his 
friends. 

Mr. Bertholf was widely known in this region, as having been con- 
nected with Gardner's mill at Pensaukee, and for the two last years has 
had charge of Bradley's mill at Sturgeon Bay. Since Mr, Robinson 
left, the search in the woods has been continued without success, but 
all here still hope that the body may yet be recovered, and if he has 
been murdered, the perpetrators of the horrible crime brought to 
justice. 

Dated Sturgeon Bay, Oct. 24th, 1857. 



108 HISTORY OF DOOR COUNTY. 

Early in the fall of 1879 a skeleton was found in P. G. Hib- 
bard's clearing, town of Jacksonport. The bones were un- 
earthed a few rods from the lake, near the creek running 
through the north end of Jacksonport. Being more or less 
decomposed, it was evident that the skeleton was aged, and the 
Bertholf affair was at once brought to notice. The more the 
matter was talked over the stronger public opinion grew in 
the belief that it was the remains of the man that mysteri 
ously disappeared in that vicinity in 1857. Bertholf had in 
his head some filled teeth, but all search (after the finding of 
the skeleton) for such minor parts, was without effect. One 
day a year later, or in 1880, after a heavy rain, Mr. Hibbard 
happened to be near the place in his clearing where the skele- 
ton was found, and thought he would take a look at the place 
of excavation. The soil was sandy, and the rain had wrinsed 
and exposed many small bones, and among them Mr. H. found 
several teeth; one of them hollowed out, and looked as if it 
had been filled some time years before. After further search 
he found a small lead bullet — bruised, and badly blackened 
with age. The last two finds were sufficient to convince Mr. 
H. that the skeleton found was that of Mr. Bertholf, and that 
he had met his death by foul play. On either side of the creek 
used to be a dense thicket, and Mr. Hibbard is of the opinion 
that Bertholf was about to cross the creek, when he was shot 
in the back, robbed, thrown into a hollow, and his remains 
covered with sand or earth. It is also stated that the watch 
Bertholf used to carry, found its way to a Michigan pawn 
shop, and was afterward recognized. At any rate, by many 
the belief is strong that the skeleton found was none other 
than that of the man Bertholf who so mysteriously disap- 
peared twenty-three years ago. Further than supposition, 
the mystery is unsolved, and still sleeps on with the multi- 
tude of unknowns. 

0<§,0 

THE PRESS. 
The organization of the county; townships within its bor- 
ders, and many incidents, etc., have been narrated in preced- 
ing chapters of this sketch, and we now turn our attention to 
the advancement and improvements of the county. In the 
latter part of this nineteenth century, the press stands on one 
of the pillars upon which rests the first principle of civiliza- 
tion, and it is the press that acts as a lever to start the great 
balance wheel which steadies the public mind; keeps in 
motion mechanical man, and drives the business of the world! 
Hence, we will first mention the pres% in chronicling the 
advancements. 



THE PRESS. 109 

The first newspaper published within ■ the limits of Door 
county, was the Door County Advocate, established March 22d, 
1862, and published by Joseph Harris, Sr., and a Mr. McCord. 
A short time afterward Mr. Harris assumed the sole control of 
the paper. The subscription price was then, as now, $1.50 per 
year. A copy dated December 29th, 1864, is at hand. At the 
"mast head" is printed: "Joseph Harris, Editor; W. L. Abbott, 
Local Editor." The paper was a five-column folio, well filled 
with news, and made particularly interesting by a column 
article headed "Savannah Captured." In 1866 Mr. Henry 
(better known as Harry Harris) purchased an interest in the 
paper, and it was then published by J. & H. Harris. Under 
their supervision the paper was enlarged to its present size — 
a seven column folio. In April 1875, Mr. Frank Long, who 
had been in the office from boyhood, purchased the Advocate, 
and is its present owner. The journal, from its foundation, 
has been considered, in politics, a Republican organ. Since 
established, the Advocate has received from the county, for 
printing, $14,915.93. 

In 1873, October 24th, the Expositor was established by 
Pinney & Co. It was a four-column, eight page quarto, and 
opened up newsy, with the brightness of a sunbeam in a clear 
summer's morn. It was Independent in politics — in fact, the 
paper was given encouragement by men of all parties, irres- 
pective of party; it being deemed that a second paper was 
greatly needed in Door county. After a time, Mr. Geo. Pinney 
became the sole proprietor, and in 1876 the paper was a Demo- 
cratic sheet, supporting "Tilden and Reform." In May, 1877, 
the paper changed hands— and was bought by its present 
owner, Chas. I. Martin, a young man residing in the county 
from boyhood, and who was the first "printer's devil" in the 
office. With the changing of proprietors came a difference of 
opinion, and the paper stepped back to its first love, viz: Inde- 
pendent—in religon favoring no particular creed, and in poli- 
tics heeding no party lines. In the election of 1880 the Expos- 
itor published all three tickets and platforms, but personally, 
the editor favored Weaver & Chambers; on local affairs the 
journal championed the principles of men, not party. In 
June, 1880, the Expositor was changed in make-up to the pre- 
sent style, an eight column tolio, equipped with a new and 
improved newspaper press, engraved heading, new type, etc., 
and is much the largest paper published in the county. Since 
established, the Expositor has received from the county, for 
printing, $2,679.23— competition, of course, reducing printing 
rates. 

In early days the basis for running a newspaper in Door 
county was somewhat different from the present data. Then 



110 HISTORY OF DOOR COUNTY. 

a muskrat skin, or owl wing would pay for a good sized adver- 
tisement, while a cord of rotten green wood dumped in front 
of the office door stood for two years subscription. The former 
practice is no longer a standard, but the latter barbarious act 
has beencontinued up to the present day of civilization. A 
score of years ago, as now, delinquent tax lists, sheriff and 
mortgage sales kept newspaper publishers out of the poor 
house (belonging to the same family as do druggists, doctors, 
and lawyers)— they live mostly on the misfortunes of the gen- 
eral public. 

e<&0 

THE FERRY. 

From the time white men first began to traverse Door 
county, the waters of Sturgeon Bay have occupied the attention 
of the inhabitants not a little. The bay, before the canal was 
dug, cut the county nearly in two, and the transportation of 
men, horses, wagons, etc., from one bank to the other, was a 
task that consumed time and cost money. As early as 1859 
steps were taken to establish a regular ferry line, and the 
County Board granted a ferry license or charter to E. S. Fuller. 
The license or charter was drawn, which provided that said 
Fuller should furnish and keep in repairs sufficient boats and 
scows for the accommodation of tlie travelling public. In the 
spring of 1860 Mr. Fuller started the first regular ferry, fully 
equipped, and plyed the boats between his lime kiln, on the 
west side of the bay, and what is now known as the grist mill 
dock, on the east bank of the bay. For passengers he had the 
usual style of boats, but for transferring teams, wagons, etc., 
the craft was a singular one. It was constructed of two large 
canoes, which ran parallel, and were fastened together with 
large beame, covered with close planking. It is stated that this 
ingenius structure worked well, and was a good transport for 
teams and articles of considerable weight; and it towed much 
easier than the usual scow model. The rates of fare were: 
team and wagon, 50 cents; foot passengers, 10 cents. Mr. 
Fuller's charter was for three years. 

After Mr. Fuller's charter expired, Mr. E. T. Schjoth was 
made ferryman, and the landing moved half a mile farther up 
toward the head of the bay, the ferry running from Schjoth's 
dock, on the west side of the bay, to what is now the S. B. L. 
Co.'s dock, on the east bank of the bay— making the passage 
much shorter than the Fuller route. For carrying teams, Mr. 
Schjoth used the ordinary build of # scows, and when a team 
was transferred passengers were expected to lend a helping 
hand on the mammoth oars that moved the scows— the usual 
fare being collected, also. Some years later Mr. Schjoth had 
a rope stretched across the bay from the east to west bank, 



THE COUNTY SEAT. Ill 

and the scow was taken from one side of the bay to the other 
by "over-hand pulling" on the rope. 

The hand ferrying worked very well for a while, but the 
increase of travel demanded a faster and more certain means 
of transfer. Consequently, in 1873 the County Board appoint- 
ed a committee to draft rules and regulations governing a 
steam ferry. The rules drawn were: "The ferry is to be kept 
running at all times during the day, from 5 o'clock A. M. to 
8 o'clock P. M., as may be required or necessary; the total rate 
of fare to be: One span of horses or oxen, wagon and driver, 
25 cents; single horse, wagon or buggy, and driver, 20 cents; 
foot passengers 5 cents." A notice for proposals to build or 
establish a steam ferry was advertised, but without effect. 
Finally, in the latter part of the year 1873, Mr. Robert Noble 
made a proposition to establish a steam ferry, which proposi- 
tion was accepted by the Board— Mr. Nobie to run the ferry 
and collect as toll the rates given above. A ten years ferry 
license or charter was given him, and Mr. Schjoth stepped 
down and out at the close of navigation, 1873. During the 
winter of '73-'4 the present steam ferry Ark was built, and put 
into commission at the opsning of navigation, 1874, and since 
that date has been a good public servant. 

4>° 

THE COUNTY SEAT. 
In the organization of the county, in 1851, the county seat 
was located at a certain place in the forest, in the vicinity of 
what is now Bailey's Harbor township. A Mr. Sweet, who had 
purchased a large tract of land in Bailey's Harbor, was the 
main worker in getting the county organized, and the county 
seat located. No doubt that at that time he saw in the dim 
distance a city covering his lands; the streets long and wide, 
with large stores and business houses looming up on either 
side; magnificent county buildings as a background, and him- 
self a bonanza king. * * * Time rolled on, and in two or 
three seasons Mr. Sweet's property went into the hands of 
Alexander Mitchel, the well known Milwaukee banker. No 
steps were taken to carry out the county seat organization, 
nor were any town or county officers elected. Four or five 
years afterward, or in November, 1856, the early settlers of 
Sturgeon Bay (then called Otumba) resolved to carry out the 
organization, and proceeded to take the legal and necessary 
course to remove the county seat from Bailey's Harbor to Stur- 
geon Bay. Messrs. A. G. and W. H. Warren, Joseph Harris, Sr., 
and John Garland were the main active ones, and they accom- 
plished their purpose. At that time Sturgeon Bay was in its 
infancy, and the total value of property would not exceed, in 
dollars, what is now owned by any one of the main companies 



112 HISTORY OF DOOR COUNTY. 

now carrying on business here. The "county buildings" were 
structures that in this day many of our county farmers would 
not use to shelter cattle, and the jail was a root house. A few 
years later the building now known as the "old court house" 
was occupied; a log jail built, and the outfit was considered 
"pretty comfortable." But with years of use the old court 
house became uncomfortable, and was too small. In 1878-'9 a 
new brick court house was built, and now Door county has a 
building, for its size, not excelled in the State. The jail, 
however, is, if possible, inferior to the pioneer root house. A 
decade ago the county officers occupied a humble building, 
but for their services received a large salary. To-day the true 
American principle is adopted, and the county officials occupy 
a magnificent building, but their pay is humble, compared 
with the salary paid in by-gone years. Sturgeon Bay has 
grown from a settlement of a hand ful of inhabitants to a 
thriving place with a population of an even 1,200 the 1st day 
of June, 1880. The branches of business carried on in Stur- 
geon Bay, will be found in the county directory, which appears 
among the last pages of this book. 



LIBRARY ASSOCIATION. 
The Sturgeon Bay Library Association was incorporated by 
act of the Legislature passed March 17th, 1866. The charter 
members were D. A. Reed, D. H. Rice, Wm. K. Dresser, George 
Pinney, G. W. Allen, Joseph Harris, Sr., W. H. Wead, Henry 
Schuyler, John Garland, and E. M. Squire. The spirit which 
inspired these charter members no longer inspires their asso- 
ciates and successors. The minutes of the society show that 
for several years after its incorporation the association held 
public weekly meetings, at which these pioneers, improved and 
amused themselves and the country by heavy debates, resolving 
that "Capital punishment should be abolished," that "Women 
should vote," that "the President of the United States should 
be impeached" and that the society was the custodian of 
the welfare of the country generally. Sometimes when the 
debate ought to have begun and time was called, if the com- 
batants were not ready to come to the scratch, the assembly 
did not spend a profitless evening, by any means, but they 
selected one of their number to read an instructive and enter- 
taining article from one of the numerous patent office reports 
which then, as now, garnished the shelves of the library. Not 
only were there debates and select readings, but the exercises 
were varied by recitations, essays and songs— but no prayers. 
The interest in those public meetings languished and died out 
in 1872; or about that time. It was a gradual decline. A few 
patriotic members however, still hung on and once a year met 



AGRICULTUKAL SOCIETY. 113 

and elected themselves officers of the association. By figur- 
ing and scraping and appealing to the patriotism of our rep- 
resentatives in congress and at Madison, the shelves of the 
library were loaded with session laws, messages and docu- 
ments, blue books, patent office reports and other valuable 
reading matter until there were over 300 volumes in the lib- 
rary. This entitled the association to receive from the State 
all books published by authority of the State and, on making 
the proper application, a full set of Wisconsin reports was 
added to the library. In 1879 an effort to revive the public 
meetings of the society was made. There were two entertain- 
ments, two fizzles and one smash. It was not for want of an 
appreciative audience, but for failure on the part of the 
appointed performers. At present, although there are no pub- 
lic meetings, the library association is thriving. Within a few 
weeks some 80 new volumes have been added to the library, 
and the members can now entertain themselves with reading 
the writings of Irving, Hawthorne, Scott, Holland, George 
Elliott and many other standard authors. Any one can become 
a permanent member of the society by paying three dollars in 
cash or by donating three dollars worth of books,— or a tempo- 
rary member by paying a smaller sum according to the time 
and depositing the value of the book drawn. The society has 
in its treasury about seventy dollars which will shortly be 
invested in books. 



AGRICULTURAL SOCIETY. 

Notwithstanding the many obstacles that confronted, and 
made farm progress slow witli the pioneer settlers, every year 
added more acres of tillable land to each farmer's clearing, 
and by 1865 Door county began to "look up" as an agricultural 
district. It was in November 1865, that the Door county Agri- 
cultural Society was organized under the provisions of Chap- 
ter 80, of the revised statues for the year 1858. The headquar- 
ters of the Society were at Sturgeon Bay, the county seat. 

To be sure, the first exhibition in '66 was not a "mammoth 
affair," but what there was it was good, and the Society was 
placed square upon its feet. For some years afterwards the 
fairs grew finely, and a general interest was taken— farmers 
bringing in their big squashes, lucious watermelons, fine 
wheat, good corn, choice varieties of oats, barley and rye, new 
and productive kinds of potatoes, hardy and well adapted 
fruits of all kinds, while the excellent quality of Door county 
maple sugar sweetened the whole affair. The useful house- 
wife ornamented the hall with elegant bed quilts, warm mit- 
tens, and an excellent display of all kinds of needle work. 
Young maidens of sweet sixteen championed and made close 
competition for exhibiting the best loaves of bread. In fact, 



114 HISTORY OF DOOR COUNTY. 

the flower of usefulness bloomed promiscously all over the 
county, and every one seemed anxious to sow a larger amount 
of the seed each succeeding year. Finally a fair exhibition of 
cattle, horses, sheep, and swine could be seen at the annual 
meeting of the Door County Agricultural Society. Then 
skilled work began to be placed on exhibition, and mechani- 
cal ingenuity stood prominent in the general display. Pro- 
gress moved on, and small prizes were awarded for speed 
horses owned in the county, and making a reasonable record at 
the Fair trots. Various difficult and amusing feats were 
introduced, and prizes awarded to "those who came out top of 
the heap." In fact, Door county Fairs became quite popular 
with the general public, and the outlook for permenancy was 
being well grounded. 

But alas, that injurious element (jealousy) that gnaws at the 
vitals, and when once rooted will poison any public organiza- 
tion, began to get a good hold and grew in the Agricultural 
Society. Then politics— which in local affairs, is cussed and 
foxy— began to work indirectly at the Fairs, and the annual 
meetings began to contract, experience cramps of disorganiza- 
tion, and in 1880 no fair was held. 

However, there has always been a few old "true blues," and 
it is to be hoped that they will exert themselves to the utmost 
the coming season, and again set the Agricultural Society 
back on its foundation. Once again fastened on the wheels of 
progress, the Fair could be made better than ever; united 
action, floated on the wings of "pull together." would revive 
the Agricultural Society, with honor to the people and credit 
to the county. 

°<r 

CHURCHES AND LODGES. 

With the advancement of the county, the different religious 
denominations began to do missionary work at various parts 
of the county. At as early date as 1853 and '54 gospel preach- 
irg was not unfrequent. To-day nearly every settlement in 
thv county has one or more churches. At the present time 
the Roman Catholic creed undoubtedly has a larger following 
th?n all other churches combined, the different churches in 
the Scandinavian tongue have a large membership, while the 
Methodist, Baptist, Seventh Day Adventist, Episcopal, Luth- 
eran, etc., have many supporters. 

LODGES. 

The first lodge or secret society of importance that was 
established in the county was that of the "Good Templars" in 
1864, with headquarters at Sturgeon Bay. It was a temperance 
institution, which became vigorous and grew in membership 
for several years. Then discord began to take the pi aep of 



AMUSEMENTS. 115 

peace, and a second lodge was established— but personal strife 
instead of temperance was the main work of the majority of 
the leaders, and the usual result of wrangling came— both 
lodges defuncked. A lodge was also organized at Fish Creek, 
but it followed the path of the Sturgeon Bay lodges. 

In 1878 a "Temple of Honor" lodge was started, which was 
another champion of temperance. For a time the Temple 
flourished, but before the year 1878 drew to a close, the Temple 
of Honor, as an organization in Sturgeon Bay, had collapsed, 
and was no more. 

In 1878 the Henry S. Baird Lodge of F. & A. M. was started 
in Sturgeon Bay. Also the Order of the Sons of Hermann. 
Both organizations are in a flourishing condition, and gaining 
members. 

AMUSEMENTS. 

Even as far back as when salt and potatoes was the only 
eatables "those the best off" in Door county could get, amuse- 
ments were not lost sight of. True, broadcloth clothes, stand- 
up collars, dyed mustaches, gold-plated watch chains and 
twenty-five cent diamond rings were not so commonly worn 
by gentlemen as in thsse modern days; neither did the ladies 
wear so many silk dresses, false hair, jewelry, and put on man- 
ners as do many of the piano thumpers of to-day, but for real 
fun, the men who wore blue and brown overalls, coupled with 
ladies donned with dresses of home made cloth the "old times" 
but twenty in number could kick more enjoyment out of the 
same number of hours than a whole regiment of 1880 society 
—a dollar molasses pull had a greater amount of sweetness 
in it than a hundred dollar party of this decade. 

But with the change of date comes modification in amuse- 
ment. The "shin dig" has been changed to a "social ball," or 
"grand hop;" a "gathering for a sing" to a "sociable;" "back- 
door exercise" to a "circus," where the clown sings foolish 
pieces, and the audience pronounce it "grand;" etc. But such 
is modern improvement! and we all take a hand in it— the 
old and young; from all nations and localities— Door county 
not being an exception. 

However, lumbering is carried on quite extensively in the 
county yet, and in the lumbering camps the amusement is 
more of the "old time style," and really our lumbermen find 
life in the woods far pleasanter than those unused to that sort 
of business generally believe it to be; but those who have been 
initiated, and have spent a winter or two among the pines long 
to go into camp again when the logging season commences. 
True, they have to work hard, both early and late, but then 
there is a lot of fun in this kind of life that can be found no 



116 HISTORY OF DOOR COUNTY. 

where else, and those who have once enjoyed it are always 
anxious to do so some more. It is a kind of jolly free life, 
which, when once tasted, is not soon forgotten and is always 
enjoyable. Instead of being a dull life — filling the boys with 
ennui, and disgust, it is the very reverse— life, fun and frolic 
intensified with a variety that does not clog or flag. The hard 
labor of the day gives a greater zest for the music, songs, 
games and dances of the evening and these in turn bring rest 
to the weary laborer, and sweet sleep that restores the strength 
and elasticity to the body and mind, and preparing them for 
the next day's labor. This goes on day after day and evening, 
through the winter, and makes the boys long for the return of 
the logging season. None but those who have been there 
know the pleasure and benefit of a good dance, at least one 
evening in a week, in the logging camps. The boys will work 
the better for it, and be anxious to come again. Like the 
natives of the West India lies who rise early and commence 
work that daylight may come, the loggers will put in their 
time with greater energy under the belief that the week will 
roll 'round quicker than when time hangs heavily on their 
hands for the want of something exciting. So they push for- 
ward their work that they may have a good rollicking dance 
on Saturday night. In this way all interested are benefitted, 
and the winter passes off profitably as well as pleasant. 



THE CANAL. 

Of public improvements, the Sturgeon Bay and Lake Michi- 
gan Ship Canal is the most important and costly within the 
boundaries of Door county. By Chapter 365 of private and 
local laws, of Wis. for 1864, the present Canal Company was 
incorporated. It names William B. Ogden, Freeland B. Gard- 
ner, Thomas H. Beebe, Jesse Spaulding and A. E. Goodrich, of 
Chicago, Alexander Mitchell, Anson Eldred and Daniel Wells, 
of Milwaukee, Joseph Harris and George Bennett, of Sturgeon 
Bay, A. P. Lyman, of Sheboygan, Charles D. Robinson, Henry 
S. Baird, George Strong, Andrew E. Elmore, H. F. Waring, Jas. 
S. Baker, and F. S. Schettler, of Green Bay, W. M. Whitcomb 
and Uri Balcom, of Oconto, Edwin C. French, of Peshtigo, 
Andrew Reed, of Depere, Richard S. Fay, of Boston, George P. 
Smith, of Philadelphia, Elisha Riggs, of Washington, D. C, 
J. S. Speirgelberg and David Magie, of New York, Elias Gill, of 
Hartford, and Wm. G. McMaster, of Lockport, as incorporators 
of the company, and confers on them the usual powers of body- 
corporate. The act also names William B. Ogden, F. B. Gard- 
ner, Thomas H. Beebe, Joseph Harris, George Bennett, Alexan- 
er Mitchel, Charles D. Robinson, H. S. Baird, W. M. Whitcomb, 



THE CANAL. 117 

Anson Eldred, and Andrew Reid, as the first Board of Direc- 
tors, with power to elect one of their number President, and 
to hold till their successors are elected and qualified. The 
same act re? >aled Chapter 129 of private and local laws of 
1856, and Chapter 237 of private and local laws of 1858,— acts 
passed to incorporate the Sturgeon Bay Canal Company, in 
pursuance of which nothing seems to have been done. 

By an act of Congress, approved April 10th, 1866, 2{ VXD 
acres of government land, lying nearest the canal, in Wiscon- 
sin, were ceded by the United States to the State, to aid in the 
construction of the breakwater, harbor and ship canal. On 
the 4th of October, following, the Directors met at Milwaukee, 
and organized the Canal Company by the election of Wm. B. 
Ogden as president, and Joseph Harris as secretary and treas- 
urer. 

Nothing further seems to have been done till the winter of 
1868. By an act of the Legislature approved March 5th, 1868, 
the lands and franchises granted to the State were accepted, 
subject to the restrictions, terms and conditions contained in 
the grant from Congress. By the same act, and for the pur- 
pose of carrying out the objects of the grant, the lands, (not 
the franchises,) were conferred upon the Canal & Harbor Com- 
pany, subject, also, to the same restrictions, terms and con- 
ditions. By the terms of this act, the Company were to cause 
the route to be surveyed and established, to prepare a plan for 
the construction of the canal, and a diagram thereof, to be 
approved by the Governor, and filed with the Secretary of 
State. The Company were then to proceed to construct the 
canal in conformity with the plan and diagram, and to receive 
the lands, a fourth at a time, as the work be advanced, in pay- 
ment therefor. The State was to be reimbursed for any expen- 
ses it might incur in protecting the lands or otherwise. The 
act, taken in connection with the subsequent acts of the Com- 
pany, is in the nature of a contract, whereby the Company 
agree to build the canal for the State, and to take the lands in 
full payment therefor. 

About 1870 the project for a narrow gwige railroad to Stur- 
geon Bay from Fond du Lac was agitated, and the Legislature 
of that year passed an act authorizing the Canal Company to 
consolidate with the railroad company, then recently charted; 
but nothing ever came of it. 

The canal project slept till 1871, when a new shoot was 
taken. Congress this year made an appropriation, and author- 
ized the Secretary of War to cause to be made a survey, maps, 
and an estimate of the cost of the proposed canal and harbor. 
A new survey was made by Capt. Casgvain, since engineer of 



118 HISTORY OF DOOR COUNTY. 

the Company. The old route, which had been surveyed and 
the timber cut out by private contribution, was abandoned, 
and the present route of the canal established. Since then the 
government has taken charge of the harbor and break waters, 
leaving the canal only, for the Company to construct. But 
still nothing, of consequence, was done towards building the 
canal. The time had not come. 

In 1873 the Legislature authorized the Company to mortgage 
the lands as security for the bonds of the Company to the 
amount of $350,000, which the Company were to negotiate, 
and thereby procure funds to construct the canal. The mort- 
gage and bonds were prepared, and the matter placed in the 
hands of the financial agent of the Company; but, either 
because the bonds could not be sold, or because of the panic 
the Company thought it could do better to wait, or for some 
other reason, the matter fell through, and no funds were 
derived from this source. 

Meanwhile "trespass funds" had been accumulating in the 
State treasury, the net proceeds of which belonged to the 
Company. Some $40,000 had thus accumulated, when, in the 
summer of 1872, with these funds and others furnished by the 
Company, work was actually begun, and continued till the fall 
of 1873. On the 7th of October, of that year, the Company 
received the Governor's certificate that one fourth of the work 
had been done. This entitled them to one fourth of the grant, 
and after some time spent in procuring a construction of the 
act of 1868, and in getting the lands apprised, one fourth, in 
value, of the grant was conveyed to the Company. 

From that time forward, with occasional interruptions, the 
work has been continued with commendable energy. On the 
Fourth of July, 1878, was celebrated at this place the union 
of the waters of Lake Michigan and Sturgeon Bay by way of 
the canal. During the past season, the summer of 1880, the 
canal was much used by light draft vessels, and by the larger 
craft in the lumber trade on their return trips. Already the 
Company has received three-fourths of the land, and a good 
share of fourth quarter of the work has been done. The pros- 
pect now is that the close of the season of 1881 will find the 
work completed, furnishing a safe and convenient outlet to 
the lakes for the vast and rapidly increasing commerce of 
Northern Wisconsin. 

From the following diagram an idea can be obtained of the 
improvement— representing both the Canal and Harbor. 
The black, or heavy rulling, is to represent the bank protection 
and sheet piling. 



THE CANAL. 



119 



WATERS OF STURGEON BAY. 



Q 

Q 

W 



w 

w 

H 




w 
w 
/^ 
w 
o 

r 
> 

o 



H 



Proposed Outside Break. 



The Harbor, when completed, will be one of the best on 
Lake Michigan, and only second to Chicago Harbor. The Har- 



120 HISTORY OF DOOR COUNTY. 

bor is to be dredged out to an average depth of 16 feet; will 
be 800 feet wide at the mouth of the canal, 1,200 feet long to 
the crib protection, with an entrance into the basin of 235 
feet. The breaks are cribs, filled with stone, and act as 
"wings" for protection against the sea. The dotted lines is to 
be pile work, which will allow the sea or swell to pass through, 
instead of rolling on into the basin or Harbor. 

From the Chief Engineer, Wm. T. Casgrain, we learn that 
the total amount of earth removed or excavated (to the date of 
the close of navigation 1880), in the canal and including 
dredging required to fill in back of the docking and revet- 
ment, is 1,005,648 cubic yards; 

The Cost of Excavation being.. $229,867.32 

Cost of Docking, Revetment, Ditching and Clearing _ 24,113.71 

Services and Sundry Expenses of Civil Engneer's Department 37,480.66 

Grand Total , $291,461.69 

On the Harbor of Refuge, at the Lake entrance of the canal, 
the Government has appropriated $120,000, and expended to 
the close of navigation, 1880, $107,000; leaving $13,000 on hand 
to be used on contract not completed. The original estimate 
of the cost for the Harbor of Refuge, was $180,000. Therefore, 
there is yet to be appropriated $60,000. The present Congress 
(1881) will probably appropriate $10,000. 

& 

UNCOLORED FACTS. 
The following is a true sketch of one of the early settlers 
now living in Nasewaupee township: Some 18 or twenty years 
ago a young man and his wife got a forty acre tract of land 
and set about making a farm. He had little or no capital; but 
he was full of hope and hard days work, and he went about his 
work with a full determination to success— and he did. All 
of our old settlers have a vivid recollection of the hard winter, 
when most of them were reduced to bread and potatoes for a 
diet, and some, as they express it, lived on potatoes and salt. 
Of this last class was the one of whom we write. During that 
long winter he worked on his lot clearing it up, and cutting 
cord wood. His diet not containing sufficient substance to 
sustain his strength as an ordinary farmer's meal would. For 
continued exertion he used to carry his potatoes into the 
woods in his pocket, and when hungry would roast and eat 
them. In this way he worked on, frequently assisted and 
cheered by his wife. Before spring, these two banked about 
thirty cords of wood, which they had conjointly drawn down 
to the shore on a hand sled, besides doing much other work 
about the place. This is but an instance of what men have 
been forced to endure in opening up a farm in this county 
only a few years ago; and he is not alone in suffering hard- 



COUNTY POLITICS. 121 

ships, for most of the settlers were on the sanre level at that 
time. The pluck which actuated this man has had its reward. 
To-day he owns one hundred and twenty acres of land with 
well enclosed fields and good buildings; and cattle and sheep 
cluster about his barns. In a word, he is a well-to-do farmer. 



COUNTY POLITICS. 

No history of any county or state is complete without a sketch 
of its early organization, both geographical and political, and 
as the former phase of Door county has been given somewhat 
at length in this work, it is deemed but just to the readers of 
these sketches to relate the story of the first vote for Governor 
in the county— the first, so far as any data can be found. The 
occurrence took place in the fall of 1855. The contest then lay 
between William A. Barstow, Democrat, (who was a candidate 
for re-election,) and Coles Bashford, Republican. Up to that 
time, with the exception of Farewell, Whig, the Governors of 
the state had been Democratic, and Barstow would have been 
re-elected but from a large defection in the ranks of his party 
who believed that his administration had been tainted with 
"crookedness." The aid given to this project by the people of 
Sturgeon Bay may be gathered from the following :— When 
election day came, whether there was any legal authority for 
it or not, a board of election was organized in the dining-room 
of the upper mill boarding house. Here it sat in the cold until 
the votes around there were polled; and until the conclusion 
was arrived at that the statutes did not require even a board of 
election to suffer with cold while on duty for the State, so 
without adjournment, the members took exercise in the open 
air and warmed themselves in that way. Having an eye to 
business as well as pleasure in their walks, they strayed down 
to the middle mill, and polled the votes there. After warming 
themselves by the furnace, they again went on their travels- 
opening the ballot box to all they met on the road. The board 
next brought up at the lower mill, and getting ready for busi- 
ness in the engine room, the hands belonging to and working 
around the mill, to the number of about forty, were marched 
through the room and voted. When this work was completed, 
the board went back to the place of beginning, stopping by the 
way to take half a dozen votes of those coming from their work 
in the woods. It was sundown when the board got back to their 
starting place ; but seeing boatman coming across the bay, they 
met him at the shore, took his vote, and then returned to the 
room where the polls were opened, and closed them there. The 
board then went to a private house to count the votes: and 
found that Bashford had received a majority of eighty-one 
votes in a poll of eighty-five or eighty-seven— if our informant's 



122 HISTORY OF DOOR COUNTY. 

recollection serves him aright. The votes for Barstow were 
cast by Frenchmen who asked as a privilege that they might 
be allowed to vote as their fathers had voted before them— Dem 
ocratic, and the Republicans knowing ,no doubt, that they had 
a good working majority for Bashford, allowed them to vote as 
they desired. When the vote was announced the clerk was 
directed to write up the returns, and present them to the 
members, next day, for signature, which was done. A messen- 
ger was sent from the lower mill to carry the result to Green 
Bay. From thence it went to Fond du Lac, by private express, 
where the railroad was "met," and the "returns" were sent on 
from there to Madison by mail, and were counted according 
to the make up. The tickets voted here on that occasion were 
not what politicians call "straight" — being composed of good 
men from both parties. In fact, the only strictly party ticket 
used that day were those voted by the Frenchmen spoken of 
above, the balance of that kind of literature being stowed away 
in the pockets of one of the clerks until the next day, after it 
was too late to make "corrections, &c." It may be claimed 
as beyond controversy that this election originated the system 
of split tickets in this county, and the example then set has 
been followed to a great extent ever since— at times bringing 
to "ashes" the hopes and calculations of numerous apirants for 
official place. Admitting the illegality of the proceedings, and 
the further fact that the polls sought the voters instead of the 
voters seeking the polls, the election was conducted as fairlyf 
and honorably as many have been since, both here and 
elsewhere. There were no candidates "buzzing" the voters, 
and "setting up" the drinks; no deposits in saloons for free 
drinks to the electors; no repeaters to swell the poll list, or 
any vote taken or offered from a "man of straw;" hence there 
was no necessity for a 7 to 8 commission to determine the 
legality of the vote of the county. The only prejudice this 
election could have to the interests of the nation, may be that 
in looking for precedents, those who managed the Louisiaua 
affairs and made Hayes President, may have found an unwrit- 
ten record of the Door county election of 1855, and acting upon 
its teachings gave their celebrated verdict which set aside the 
uation's choice. The population of Door county in 1855, as 
shown by the census of that year was 739. Allowing one voter 
for five inhabitants the total number of voters would be 148. 
Of these 85 or 87 were cast at Sturgeon Bay with a majority of 
81 for Bashford. The certificate of the State canvassers that 
year gave Barstow, Democrat, 36,355 votes, and Bashford, Re- 
publican, 36,198— a majority for Barstow of 157. The Supreme 
Court set aside this certificate and decided Bashford elected. 
By this it will be seen the important part played by Door 



COUNTY POLITICS. 



123 



county in her first gubernatorial vote. 

We have spent much time searching old records and docu- 
ments concerning the result of elections held in the county, 
and believe our searchings have ferrited out the correct results. 
Standing aloof from the pow-wow of politics, we shall give 
facts and figures only. The following is the vote for Gov- 
ernor, from 1855 to 1879 (the present official being elected in 
1879): 



VOTE FOR GOVERNOR. 



72 

78 

!°5 



i855,*Coles Bashford, Rep 84 

Wm. A. Barstrow, Dem 3 

1857* Alexander W. Randall, Rep. 39 

T. B.Cross Dem 38 

i859*Alexander W. Rrandall, Rep 

Harison C. Hobart, Dem 

i86i*Louis P. Harvey, Rep , 

Ferguson, Democrat 62 

i863*James T. Louis, Rep 220 

Henry L. Palmer, Dem ._ 49 

i865*Lucius Fairchild, Rep 309 

Harison C. Hobart, Dem 68 

i867*Loucius Fairchild, Rep 404 

John J. Tallmadge, Dem 125 

ffi^~NoTE. — Those marked with 



i869*Lucius Fairchild, Rep 390 

Chailes D. Robinson, Dem 208 

187.1*0. C. Washburn, Rep._ 578 

J. R. Doolittle, Dem. 166 

i873*Wm. R. Taylor, Dem _ 213 

C. C, Washburn, Reb r __ 538 

i875*Harrison Ludington, Rep.l.. 453 
Wm. R. Taylor, Dem 366 

i8 77 *Wm. E. Smith, Reb 477 

James A. Mallory, Dem 126 

Edward P. Allis, Greenbacker 383 

i8 7 9*Wm. E. Smith, Rep..... 617 

James G. Jenkins, Dem 94 

Ruben May, Greenbacker 315 

a * were elected. 



VOTE FOR ASSEMBLYMAN. 

During the year 1852, '53, '54, '55 and '56, Door county was 
included in an assembly district with Brown county, and was 
represented in the Assembly by a Brown county man. For 
about twenty years after 1856, Door county was promiscuously 
"mixed up" with Oconto, Kewaunee, and Shawano counties, 
forming an Assembly District. Below we give the names of 
the counties or county that, with Door, formed an Assembly 
district, but we only give the vote of Door county, marking the 
name of the candidate elected with a *, and prst office address. 
As with other public offices, the candidate elected for Assem- 
blyman does not take his seat until the beginning of the year 
after his election, for example:— A man elected in 1856, does 
not take his seat until January, 1857. The following is the 
total vote from 1856 to 1880: 

(Assembly Dist. Door, Kev?j\une, and Oconto Counties.) 
i856*E. B. Stevens, Sturgeon Bay, 64 | Moses M. Strong 4 

(Assembly Dist. Door, Kevv., Oconto & Shawano.) 
i8 5 7*J. C. Hall, Marinette. i 3 '| J. J. McClellan 52 

( Vssembly Dist. Door, Oconto, and Shawano). 
i858*Mathias Simon, Ahnap^e ... 69 | J. J. McClellan ioq 



124 HISTORY OF DOOR COUNTY. 

(Assembly Dist. Door, Oconto, and Shawano). 

i859*John Wiley, Shawano 52 J Wm. S. Finley 100 

(Assembly Dist. Door, Kewaunee. Etc. 
i86o*Wm. S. Finley, Kewaunee. . 100 | Unknown : 47 

(Assembly Dist. Door, Oconto, and Shawano). 
i86i*E. B. Stevens, Sturgeon Bay. .219 j J. McCormick.. 22 

(Assembly Dist. Door, Oconto, and Shawano.) 
i862*G. C. Ginty, Oconto 198 | Edwin Hart 103 

(Assembly Dist. Door, Oconto, and Shawano.) 
i863*Hermann Naper,, Shawano.. .239 | Louis Goldstucker 24 

(Assembly Dist, Door, Oconto, and Shawano.) 
i864*D. A. Reed, Sturgeon Bay 248 | J. W. Coullard 42 

(Assembly Dist. Door, Oconto, and Shawano) 
i865*Isaac Stephenson, Marinette. .336 | Charles Bagley 20 

(Assembly Dist. Door and Kewaunee.) 
i866*David Youngs, Ahnapee 440 j Constant Martin 113 

(Assembly Dist. Door and Keweunee.) 
i867*M. Kilgore, Bailey's Harbor. ..108 j Dovid Youngs 402 

(Assembly Dist. Door and Kewaunee.) 

i868*J. R. McDonald, Ahnapee 490 | Wm. Frisby _ 160 

D. A. Reed.. 135 | 

r (Assembly Dist. Door and Kewaunee.) 
1869*0. L. Harris, Jacksonport 354 | G. W. Allen 337 

(Assembly Dist. Door, and Kewaunee.) 
i87o*J. McCormic, Ahnapee 352 | D. W. Stebbins ---495 

(Assembly Dist. Door and part of Kewaunee.) 
i87i*G. W. Allen, Sturgeon Bay 282 | John Garland .453 

(Assembly Dist. Door and part of Kewaunee.) 
i872*D. W. Stebbins, Ahnapee 878 | M. McCormick 205 

(Assembly Dist. Door and part of Kewauuee.) 

i873*D. A. Reed, Sturgeon Aay 317 | Moses Kilgore . 277 

J. R. McDonald 137 I 

(Assembly Dist. Door and part of Kewaunee.) 
i874*Charles Scofield, Red River 790 | A. J. Eooze. 359 

(Assembly Dist. Door and part of Kewaunee.) 
i875*L. M. Washburn, Sturgeon Bay 432 | John Noyes 385 

(Assembly Dist. Door county, only.) 

1876* J. T. Wright, Sturgeon Bay 641 | Henry Reynolds 488 

H. G. Spring .....360 | Geo. Walker 158 

(Assembly District Door county.) ■ 
i877*E. S. Minor, Fish Creek 550 | Geo, Bassford 427 

(Assembly District Door county.) 
i878*C. A. Masse, Sturgeon Bay 856 | J. E. Hoyte -559 

(Assembly District Door county.) 

i879*E. S. Minor, Fish Creek 528 | Moses Kilgore _ 391 

George Pinney * 95 | 

(Assembly District.) 

i88o*E. S. Minor, Fish Creek 1,218 | Jarvis T. Wright 856 

Rufus M. Wright 66 1 






COUNTY POLITICS. 



125 



COUNTY OFFICERS. 

SHERIFF. 

The earliest county record we are able to find on the vote for 
Sheriff, is 1858. The following is the vote from 1858 to 1881: 

1858, Lorenzo Brown 62 

John F. Lessey 56 

D. M. Whitney. 52 

i860. E. F. Battershill 175 

Nelson R. Lee _ _. 170 

Scattering 22 

1862, J. E. Thorpe 196 

U. L. C. Beard 54 

Scattering _ 47 

1864. J. P. Simon 289 

Scattering 4 

1866, Jesse Kimber 239 

Nicholas Simon 217 

Scattering .. 97 

i868 v J. R. Mann 253 

J. P. Simon 227 

Chris Daniels 192 

C. L.Nelson.. 128 



1870, J. P. Simon 338 

Chris Daniels. _. 321 

Sept Stephenson 127 

J. Delfosse 59 

1872, David Houle 451 

J. A. Campbell 338 

Wm. Davis 288 

1874, Wm. Wagener ....552 

Thomas Scott 301 

J.P.Simon 174 

J. R. Mann 95 

1876, David Houle 982 

Arnold Wagener. 672 

1878, Thomas Scott 641 

Jacob Thorp _ 419 

C. L. Hayley 383 

1880, Arnold Wagener 1345 

John Noyes 802 



COUNTY CLERK. 

For sixteen years (from 1856 to 1872) the office now known 
as "County Clerk," was called "Clerk of the Board of 
Supervisors," but, in reality, the officers are one and the 
same thing, and we give the total vote from 1856 to 1881, as 
County Clerk, viz: 

1856, Joseph Harris, Sr 48 C. A. Masse 306 

H. S. Schuyler 20 

1858, Henry Avery 91 

Wm. B. Lawrence 81 

i860, W T m. K. Dresser .177 

A. G. Warren 152 

M. McCormick 44 

1862, Wm. K. Dresser- 148 

John Garland.. 69 

Robert Graham, Sr 48 

Scattering 37 

1864, John Garland 287 

Scattering... 5 

1866, John Garland 359 

M. Kalmbach 193 

1868, John Garland 410 

COUNTY TREASURER. 

The following is the vote from 1856 to 1881, for County 
Treasurer: 



J. Kimber 92 

1870, C. A. Masse. 354 

John Garland 285 

C. E. Hoyt T204 

1872, C. A. Masse 719 

H.Harris --363 

1874, C. A. Masse _ 705 

John Fetzer 445 

t8 7 6, A. D. Thorpe 889 

John Fetzer 786 

1878, A. D. Thorpe 798 

Joseph Nuesse... 645 

1880, George Nelson. 1145 

L. D. Mowry.. .1002 



1856, Robert Graham 67 

B.F.Sawyer 1 

1858, Robert Graham. 100 

E. B. Stevens. 64 

i860, Joseph Harris, Sr 229 

A. M. lveson 149 

1862, Joseph Hirris, Sr 226 

A. G. Warren 41 

Scattering 39 



1864, Joseph Harris, Sr 279 

Scattering _. 7 

1866, Joseph Harris, Sr 412 

Robert Graham 143 

1868, Joseph Colignon.. .354 

John McKinney. 277 

A. G Warren 172 

1870, Joseph Colignon 6ct 

Wm. K. Dresser .188 



126 



HISTORY OF DOOR COUNTY. 



1872, Joseph Colignon 715 

Allen Higgins 355 

1874, Chris Leonhardt 701 

Joseph Colignon 438 

1876, C. A. Masse 990 

Chris Leonhardt 679 



1878, Chris Leonhardt 730 

Chris Daniels _ 711 

1880, Chris Leonhardt 1091 

Chris Daniels 837 

Joseph Zettei 2q6 



REGISTER OF DEEDS. 

The following is the vote from 1856 to 1881, for Register of 
Deeds: 



1856, Joseph Harris, Sr 48 

H. Schuyler 19 

1858, Joseph Harris, Sr no 

Wm. B. Lawrence 61 

i860, John Garland . 156 

Jacob E. Thorp -136 

A. B. Duchateau ..... 81 

1862, J. F. Gilson 149 

Samuel P. Drew 103 

Scattering 44 

1864, J. F. Gilson 264 

H. C. Wilson 26 

1866, Joseph Colignon 217 

H. C. Wilson 189 

C. A, Masse 121 

J. F Gilson 26 

1868, Peter Zenners 454 

Henry Hahn 178 

D.H.Rice 49 

W. H. Warren 38 



J. F. Gilson 81 

1870, Peter Zenners _ 232 

D. H. Rice 217 

G. H. Demmons 161 

H. Seidemann 94 

Scattering 140 

1872, Peter Zenners 639 

Robert Noble 381 

G. F Rowell 55 

1874, Tas. Keogh, Jr 304 

Robert Noble 276 

J. Garland __ 182 

J. Pommier.. 182 

A. Degrandagnage 91 

1876, Jas. Keogh, Jr 1498 

C. L. Hayley 175 

1878, Jas. Keogh, Jr 1124 

Joseph Englebert 301 

1880, Jas. Keogh, Jr ...1813 

B. J. Thorpe 334 



DISTRICT ATTORNEY. 

The following is the vote from 1858 to 1881 for District 
Attorney: 

M.E.Lyman 64 

E. M. Thorpe 54 

1872, D. A. Reed 544 

G. J. Tisdale .528 

1874, O. E. Dreutzer 610 

Anton Masse -529 

1876, D. A. Reed.... 873 

O. E. Dreutzer.... 668 

E. M. Thorpe 90 

1878, G. W. Allen.... 595 

O. E. Dreutzer 529 

D. A. Reed 292 

1880, G. W. Allen 1185 

O. E. Dreutzer 954 



1858, J. F. Lo y 91 

• B.J. Brown 79 

i860, D. A. Reed 207 

E. Hibbard 158 

1862, Soren Peterson 209 

D. A. Reed 33 

1864, D. A. Reed 272 

Scattering 9 

1866, D. A. Reed -357 

G. W. Allen 152 

Scattering 36 

1868, Wm. K. Dresser 511 

G. W. Allen.... 262 

1870, G. W. Allen 664 



CLERK OF THE CIRCUIT COURT. 

The following is the vote from 1858 to 1881, for Clerk of the 
Circuit Court: 



1858, John B. A. Mapes 161 

J:S. Curtis 8 

i860, D. C. Mcintosh 298 

U. L. C. Beard 63 

Scattering 12 

1862, M. E. Lyman 198 

Wm. H. Warren 71 

Scattering 35 



1864, Wm. K. Dresser 285 

Sc attei ing 5 

1866, John Me Kinney 393 

W. K. Dresser 131 

Scattering 23 

1868, Henry Harris 594 

H. B. Stephenson 213 

1870, Henry Harris .* 840 



COUNTY POLITICS. 



127 



1872, Chris Daniels 876 P. G. Wright 460 

J. R. Mann 194 1878, C. A. Masse 729 

1874, Chris Daniels 666 R.M.Wright.... .694 

R. M. Wright 273 1880, H. C. Graham 1470 

C. F. Overholt 168 Edward Kinney 700 

1876, Chris Daniels 1180 

COUNTY SURVEYOR. 

The following is the vote from 1856 to 1881, for County 
Surveyor. 



1856, Henry Schuyler 66 

N. Schuyler i 

1858, L. H. D. Sheppard 83 

Henry Schuyler 78 

i860, Wm. H. Warren 293 

Henry Schuyler 78 

1862, Henry Schuyler 91 

John Garland 24 

Scattering 3 

1864, Wm. H. Warren 290 

Scattering 4 

1866, Wm. H. Warren 384 

H.P.Jacobs 156 

1868, J. C. Pinney 713 



1870, James Pinney 850 

1872, James Pinney 681 

Wm. H. Warren 391 

1874, H. Schuyler 588 

B . G. Hannan 454 

W. H. Warren 85 

1876, W. H. Warren 1003 

J. (J Pinney 657 

1878, James Pinney 710 

H. T. Scudder 538 

Wm. H. W r arren 185 

1880, A. G. Warren 1099 

J. C. Pinney 927 

W. H.Warren 81 



W. H. Warren 75 

SUPERINTENDENT OF SCHOOLS. 

Previous to 1863 each township elected a Town Superinten- 
dent of Schools. The following is the vote from 1863 to 1879, 
for Connty Superintendent: 



1863, M. li. Lyman 124 

W. H. Warren 77 

Scattering 77 

[865, Wm. H. Warren 205 

E. M. Squire 81 

Scattering ' 52 

[867, R. M. Wright 391 

George Bassford 161 

G. W. Allen 63 

Samuel Foss 92 

Scattering 56 

869, R. M. Wright. 585 

George Bassford 149 



John James 57 

1871, Chris Daniels 397 

Anton Braasch 174 

R. M. Wright 166 

1873, Chris Daniels 546 

F.J. Hamilton 247 

1875, Chris Daniels 516 

F. J. Hamilton 247 

B.G Hannan 57 

1878, James Keogh, Jr 566 

F. J. Hamilton 416 

1879, Chris Daniels 654 

R. M. Wright 357 



C. Feldmann 76 

COUNTY JUDGE. 

There was no vote for County Judge until 1861, and that 
year the election was a warm one; the towns of Sturgeon Bay 
and Sevastopol were thrown out of the summing up of the 
returns. The vote from 1861 to 1877, was as follows: 



i86t, M. E. Lyman 152 

Henry Schuyler 151 

1865, D. H. Rice 101 

Scattering ... 4 

1869, R. M. Wright 410 



A. G. Warren 283 

18-3, R. M. Wright .-800 

G.J. Tisdale 29 

1877, R. M. Wright 950 

G. W. Allen 433 



Note. — It will be noticed that many of the men who appear to have 
been competitors for office, received a very small vote. The fact that 
they were not always candidates, but were voted for by personal friends, 
is the explanation. 



128 HISTORY OF DOOR COUNTY. 

TOTE FOR PRESIDENT. 

The following is the vote in Door county from 1856 to 1881, 
for President of the United States: 



1856, Fremont, Reb 64 

*Buchannan, Dem 4 

i860, *Lincoln, Rep _ 250 

Breekinridge, Dem 123 

1864, *Lincoln, Reb 256 

MeClellan, Dem 75 

1868, *Grant, Rep.. 643 

Seymour, Dem 165 



1872, *Grant, Rep 873 

Greeley, Lib. Dem 214 

1876, * Hayes, Rep 1095 

Tilden, Dem --516 

Cooper, G. B 3 

1880, *Garfield, Rep -1109 

Hancock, Dem 625 

Weaver, G. B .166 



Note. — Those marked with a * were elected, 



SUMMARY. 

No matter how many incidents are related of the early day 
hardships, the coming farmers of Door county will scarcely 
comprehend the difficulties under which the early settlers 
labored in getting their lands ready for the plow — and crop. 
The soil was covered with heavy timber, and in too many in- 
stances held a large crop of rock. Both the timber and rock 
had to be harvested, to make room for a crop of grain. He 
who believes that this labor was light and pleasant— who sur- 
mises that the rock could be pitched around as easily as a cro- 
quet ball can be batted, or the trees hauled as lightly as a 
billiard cue — greatly mistakes the situation, and undervalues 
the days, and in fact years of unremitting toil the old settlers 
put in to make farms here "in the wilderness." Most of those 
who came here to make farms, came to stay, and went to work 
under unfavorable circumstances in too many instances, to 
build ap a home in which to spend the remainder of their 
lives. How they succeeded is evidenced in every section of 
the county. The broad fields, stripped of their original upper 
and lower crops, show how faithfully the pioneers performed 
their work and paved the way for their successors to make a 
fair start in life without undergoing the hardships incident to 
the opening of a new country. To-day we are forced to 
acknowledge that they have succeeded better than the dream- 
ers of those early days claimed they would do, and if there is 
any credit in preserverance on so unpromising a field as this 
then looked, those brave workers are entitled to that credit. If 
their successors do faithful work, our county will stand as a 
monument of what labor and preserverance can do, even under 
adverse circumstances. Our belief is that this work, like revo- 
lutions will never go backwards. 

The present winter of 1880-1 has fully recorded the fact that 
the climate here is as desirable as any, and preferable to many 
sections of the Northwest. We do not have the extreme low 
temperature in winter experienced in other sections, probably 



COUNTY OFFICERS. 129 

owing to our proximity to the Lake, which remains open 
throughout the year, and exercises great influence in equalizing 
the temperature. Neither is this county subject to storm of 
extreme nature, as is fully proven the present winter by the 
numerous snow-blockades that have taken place elsewhere. 
Our friendly summers, with breezy days and cool nights, can- 
not be surpassed. 

Like all other places on "mother earth," we have some draw- 
backs, but taking all in all, it must be acknowledged by the 
unprejudiced that Door county is one of the prettiest little 
kingdoms of material wealth and beauty in the whole North- 
west. 

At this date the opportunity for land buyers is excellent, but 
these lands cannot long remain at present ruinous prices, nor 
will they long go4)egging for enterprising buyers. 



COUNTY OFFICERS FOR 1881. 

The following are biographies of the county officers now fill- 
ing their respective positions: 

Sheriff:— Arnold Wagener, born in Prussia 1844; married 
Isabella Terens 1874; has three children. Mr. Wagener 
came to America 1852, and to Door county in 1874. 

County Clerk:— George Nelson, born in New York City 1850; 

married Mary Madden 1871; has three children. Mr. 

Nelson came to Door county 1860. 
County Treasurer:— Chris Leonhardt. Biography given on 

page 41. 
Register of Deeds:— James Keogh, Jr., born in Ireland 1850; 

married Rosa C. Simon 1873; has three children. Mr. 

Keogh came to Door county in 1855. 

District Attorney:— Gideon W. Allen. Biography given on 
page 41. 

Clerk of The Circuit Court:— Henry C. Graham, born in 
Ohio 1843; married Celestia M. Thorp 1868; has two chil- 
dren. Mr. Graham came to Door county in 1858, and in 
1868-9 carried the U. S. mail from Fish Creek to Sturgeon 
Bay— there were no roads on that route then, and his com- 
pensation for services were $2.50 per week in County 
orders, and the orders would bring about 50 cents cash on 
the dollar. 

County Judge:— F. J. Hamilton, born in New York in 1842; 
married Ellen A. Raymond 1869; has three children. Mr. 
Hamilton came to Door county in 1871. 






130 HISTORY OF DOOR COUNTY. 

FINAL MENTION OF SETTLERS. 

In giving the organization of each town in the county, we 
endeavored to give a biography of every settler residing in the 
town, who had lived in Door county ten or more years. 
Though we made a thorough canvass, of course not a few of 
the old settlers were missed — some being away from home 
when we called, etc. We have persistently advertised from 
time to time for those we failed to see, to send in their bio- 
graphies, and if any are missed in this final mention, the fault 
rests with themselves for not furnishing the information. We 
have given these biographical sketches, in order that a record 
might be had of the old settlers of the county, and particularly 
handy for hunting up those encircled by the .band of relation- 
ship—which record will be more valuable when a few years 
have elapsed than now. The following wilt conclude the bio- 
graphical mention of old settlers. 

1853, is the year Wm. Jackson, of Bailey's Harbor, came to 
the county. He was born in Green Bay 1827; married Caroline 
Schermer 1858; has eight children. Is a farmer by occupation. 

John Leroy, of Egg Harbor— farmer ; born New York 1846; 
married Effie J. Olen 1874; has four children. 

1855. Frederick Fidler, of Sevastopol— retired from labor; 
born Germany 1801; married Anna E. Trankler 1851; has one 
child, Louis, who married Nellie Knudson 1878, and has one 
child. 

1857. Z. B. Olen, Sevastopol -laborer; born Pennsylvania 
1849; married Sophia Z Surf us 1870; has five children. 

1857. Almon P. Olen, bought land in Gibraltar; born 
Beaver Dam 1851. • 

1864. Wm. Buchan, Sevastopol— gardener; born Scotland 
1820; married Matilda E. Olen 1865; has one child. 

1867. Thomas W. Hunt, Liberty Grove— farmer; born New 
York 1842; married Matilda E. Feets 1861; has seven children 

1867. William Marshall, Liberty Gro?e— agent for the North 
Bay property; born in Scotland 1839; married Agnes Camp- 
bell 1862; has seven children. 

1868. Thomas Dimond, proprietor of the Sister Bay saw 
and grist mill, and pier owner; born Ireland 1847; morried 
Ellen J. Agan 1870. Second marriage 1880, to Alice G. Cullen; 
has two children. 



MR. BEERY'S LETTER— DEATH LIST. 131 

MR. BEERY'S LETTER— CONTINUED FROM JANUARY 17TH. 
Bailey's Harbor, Wisconsin. "> 
January 27th, 1880. J 
Soloman Beery to C, I. Martin: 

In my letter of the 17th inst. I omitted mention of some of the old 
settlers for want of time to "write them up" before the mail went out. 
The following completes the mention of the old settlers in this town — ■ 
if my recollection serves me right:. . . ,1869, I think was the year the 
National Hotel was built here by Thos. W. McCullough (who came 
to the Harbor with his father in 1857). In I 879 the Natioual was 
enlarged by the addition of a spacious and elegant public hall and bar 
room. . . .1867, F. & A. Braasch built a store here, and filled it with 
general merchandise, provisions, etc.", to exchange for forest products. 
A year later Adam Sechrest was added to the firm changed to Braasch 
&Sechrest. They built a large and commodious store, and did a 
thriving business for some time, when the firm was dissolved, and 
Roger Eatough purchased the buildings built by F. & A. Braach, and 
converted them into a public house, now known as the Globe Hotel. 
... .1870 Thomas Severn purchased of Alexander Mitchell, of Mil- 
waukee, the property here known as the Sweet property; platted and 
laid out the village of Bailey's Harbor, and built a fine store and resi- 
dence here, near the shore end of the old pier. The store was occu- 
pied by T. & H. C. Severn, and was filled with an immense stock of 
provisions, groceries, hardware, crockery, china, boots and shoes, dry- 
goods, ready made clothing, etc.; continuing until 187- when they 
sold out the store and pier property to F. Wohltmann, who is still 
doing business at the old stand. . . .In 1870 F. Wohltmann first came to 
Bailey's Harbor with a stock of goods, and occupied the store built by 
the Messrs Braasch until 187-, when he bought theSevem property, as 
above stated. He carries a general stock of goods, and exchanges 
them for farm and forest products. Last year he rebuilt the pier, 
making a strong and substantial structure of it. 

DEATH LIST. 

About six months have elapsed since we began gathering 
biographies and general information fV this history of Door 
county. The mighty wings of time carry much, and their 
course is direct— many of the old settlers whose biography 
appeared in former chapters of this history now rest in the 
bosom of mother earth, and May day will mark their resting 
place with green grass. We are handed the following con- 
cerning those we visited last summer, who have since departed 
this life. 

Ener Rasmusson, died October 3d, 1880, at his home, in Sevas- 
topol. Deceased was born in Norway in 1805; came to Door 
county in 1835— direct from the old country; married Tearer 
Johnson 1827; had five children— all married, viz: Thelata 



132 HISTORY OF DOOR COUNTY. 

married H. Olsen, and lives in Norway. Bertie married Chris- 

tena Olsen, and lives in Norway. Elias married Jennie 

and lives in Sevastopol township. John married Lncy Spauld- 
ing, and lives in Sevastopol township. Elizabeth married Fred 
Berger, and lives in Clay Banks. 

E. Schermer, died November 18th, 1880, at his home, in 
Bailey's Harbor. Deceased was born in Prussia 1796, came to 
America and Door county in 1856; married Caroline Harlder 
1826; had six children, married as follows: Erestine married 
Adam Hendricks. Caroline married Wm. Jackson. Yetta mar- 
ried Jacob Apple. Polina married Hans Boose. Bertha mar- 
ried Gottfrey Nelson. 

Peter Lorch, died December 18th, 1880, at his residence in 
the village Sturgeon Bay. Biography given on page 40. 

There are a number of others of the old settlers who have 
died since we began to put this sketch in type, but the rela- 
tives of the deceased have failed to hand us the particulars; 
hence, the fault of not mentioning the departed rests with the 
relatives, and not with us. 



IN CONCLUSION. 

Promiscuously through this sketch we have chronicled some 
of the many hardships that have been experienced in Door 
county, and no doubt the general reader looked upon the bare 
facts as myths, or romances. But the verity of an unwritten 
history of a new county is always full of interest and hero- 
ism — it is made up of reality, hardships, and endurance, with 
the spice of the ludicrous enough to season. The only trouble 
was the gathering of the facts; weaving them into shape- 
blending the lights and shades in such a manner as to attract 
the attention of the reader. 

Hardships are long remembered, but prophecy is not yet bold 
enough to declare all the beauties that are awarded us for 
trials of endurance. Groop together, in one imaginary 
bouquet, all the facts which concern our material wealth, fer- 
tility of soil, numerous water courses, beauty and salubrity of 
climate, and the adaptability of climate to the most certain 
and bountiful products of the field, choicest productions of 
orchard and garden, the progress of social and religious insti- 
tutions and privileges, established and equipped schools in 
every town in the county— groop together all this, and the 
intelligent thinker will comprehend and appreciate th 
rewards for hardships and privations as experienced in this 
county! 

Further, many men whose stringent circumstances a dozen 
years ago compelled them to sit upon rude blocks sawed or 



JN CONCLUSION. 133 

hopped from the body of a tree, now rest in a cushioned chair; 
many a pioneer that slept on a bed made of hemlock, pine or 
cedar boughs, now sleep on a mattress of feathers; many a child 
that was lulled to sleep in the half-round of a tree trunk, is 
now father or mother of children that sleep in walnut cradles 
ornamented with French veneering; many a father that culti- 
vated land with a grub-hoe, can in this decade look smilingly 
at his son that tills the soil with improved horsepower machin- 
ery! Such has been progress in Door county. 

But progress and nature have strange ways of doing the most 
beautiful things. All of the pioneer settlers of this county 
have now past the meridian of life — not a few of the main 
workers have passed from this life on to the unknown in the 
past few years. No doubt but that it is with a sensation of 
half sadness that the remaining pioneer settlers comprehend 
that the longest days in their life are passed, and every day that 
follows materially shortens their lives— the gray hairs that are 
so numerous in their heads are true indications that they are 
no longer going up hill, but down! They are gradually, but 
surely settling behind the western clouds of life; then to the 
grave, and— then the unknown ! But the work of the pioneer 
has been valuable; he has opened the way for his children, and 
their childrens' children to keep step with advancement— they 
should always look forward, and not backward! 

Let us — all of us— never forget that every station in life is 
necessary; that each deserves our respect; that not the station 
itself, but the worthy fulfillment of its duties, does honor to 
man. Chas. I. Martin. 




[over.) 



134 



HISTORY OF DOOR COUNTY. 



COUNTY BUSINESS DIRECTORY. 



TOWN OF STURGEON BAY. 



ATTORNEYS. 

Allen & McNally, 

D. A. Reed, 

O. E. Dreutzer, 
H, T. Scudder, 

F. J. Hamilton. 

MERCHANTS. 

A. W. Lawrence & Co. 
Scofield & Co., 
C. Feldmann, 
M. Cochems, 
Jacob Noll, 

G. A. Dreutzer, 
Horn& Joseph, 

MILLINERY. 

Mrs. M. A. Schuyler, 
Mrs. Jacob Noll, 

SAW MILL OWNERS. 

S. B. L. Company, 
Scofield & Co., 
Geo. O. Spear, 

FLOURING MILL. 

A. W. Lawrence & Co., 

NURSERY. 

James C. Pinney, 

HOTELS. 

Cedar Street House, ) 
J. T. Wright, PropV. j 
Northwestern House, 
Heiiry Hahn, Prop'r. 
Exchange Hotel, 
S. N. Bacon, Prop'r. 
Colignon House, 
J. Colignon PropV. 

NEWSPAPERS. 

Expositor, 

Chas. I Martin, Prop. 

Advocate, 

Frank Long, Prop'r. 

FOUNDRY. 

Realejo Iron Works, 
W. A. Ives& Son. 

LAND AGENTS. 

E. C. Daniels, 
H. T. Scudder. 

INSURANCE AGENTS. 

Nelson & Smith. 



STORES. 

A. W. Lawrence & Co., 
E. N. Anderson, 
E. S. Fuller. 

HOTELS. 

John Goettelmann, 
Henry Heilmann. 

LAND AGENT. 

Joseph Harris, Sr. 



PLASTERERS. 

Dondlinger Bros., 
Kelley & O'Neal, 
John Reilly. 

CARPENTERS. 

Theodore Johnson, 
A. Machen, 
John Houle, 
Sept. Stephenson, 
Joseph Arle, 
Larson Bros., 
Joseph Deffoe, 
Edward Anderson, 
Peter Propsom, 

E. Rasmusson, 
Wm, Mann, 

Fred Crandall 
Henrv Johnson, 
Joseph Stroh, 

PHYSICIANS. 

J. H.Soper, 

F. Mullen, 

J. G. Hendricks, 
A. MeEacham. 

BREWERS. 

Wagener Bros., 
Leidiger Bros. 

PAINTERS. 

Henry Katen, 
John Rasmusson, 

BARBERS. 

M. F. Laplant, 
Frank Palmer. 

druggists. 
A. MeEacham, 
J. G. Hendricks. 

RESTAURANTS. 

Jacob Leonhardt, 
Amos Decanter. 

WAGON shops. 
A. W. Lawrence & Co., 
Michael Dohearty. 

BLACKSMITH SHOPS. 

Michael Dokearty, 
Scofield & Co., 
A. W. Lawrence & Co. 
Martin Knudson. 

Bay View. 

MEAT MARKET. 

O. A Nelson. 

BOOT & SHOE SHOP. 

W. T . Barts. 

WAGON SHOP. 

G. W. Noble, 
Wolf Bros. 

BLACKSMITHS. 

G. W. Noble, 



-FURNITURE. 

L. A. Larson <fc C«. 
F. X. Sailer. 

JEWELER. 

J. A. Brooks. 

BOOT & SHOE SHOPS. 

Dehos Bros. 
A. Bliesner. 

SADDLE & HARNESS. 

Wm. Halstead, 
Joseph Brad die. 

MERCHANT TAILOR. 

L. Collard. 

TELEGRAPH. 

Northwestern Line. 

HARDWARE. 

John Masse. 

LIVERY STABLE. 

Loiing Br#s. 

MEAT MARKETS. 

M. E. Lawrence, 
F. C. Wright, 
Jacob Noll. 

LUMBER YARDS 

A. W. Lawrence & Co., 
Scofield & Co., 
Geo. O. Spear. 

ABSTRACT OFFICE. 

Henry T. Scudder. 

FERRY. 

Noble & Johnson. 

WELL DRILLERS. 

E. Birmingham, 
Thomas Bros. 

IMPLEMENT AGENTS. 

Masse & Welter. 

DRAYMAN. 

Frank Gilmore. 

SALOONS. 

J. T. Wright, 
Henry Hahn, 
Henry Paschon, 
Joseph Colignon, 
John Graass, 
Chris Leonhardt, 
Albert Zettel. 



Wulf Brothers- 
John Gilbert. 

ag'l implements. 
Noblo & Johnson. 

SALOONS. 

Noble & Johnson, 
John Goettelmann, 
Henry Heilmann. 



COUNTY DIRECTORY. 



135 



JACKSONPORT— [Prepared by P.G.Wright. 



MERCHANTS. 

P. G. Hibbard &Co., 
Charles Reynolds. 

HOTELS. 

R. S. Erskine, 
Emanuel Hogan. 

piers 
P. G. Hibbard, 



MERCHANTS. 

Aslag Andersor, 
Peter Peterson, 
F. G. Blakefield, 
Lundberg & Setestien, 
— Hardscrabble. 

PIER OWNERS. 

Peter Peterson, 



SAW & SHINGLE MILL. 

F. C. VanNostrand. 

FLOURING MILLS. 

Fetzer & Young, 
Henry Geier. 

MERCHANTS. 

Bush & Wanniger, 
Fetzer & Swaty, 
Henry Brockhausen, 
James H. Lockhart 



Charles Reynolds. 

SAW MILL. 

Elliott & Hall. ; 

MEAT MARKET. 

Peter Campbell. -3 

BLACKSMITH SHOP 

J. C. Messenger, 
Emanuel Hogan. 



WAGON SHOPS. 

Elliott & Hall, 
Emanuel Hogan. 

TIMBER DEALER. 

Joseph Smith. 

CARPENTERS. 

Charles Giessler, 
J. S. Thornton. 



GIBRALTAR.— [Prepared by Samuel Churches, 



Aslag Anderson, 
F. G. Blakefield, 
Anna T. Griswold, 
Union Dock Company. 

BLACKSMITH . 

Alex Noble, 



WAGON MAKER. 

J. A. Hickox. 

HOTELS. 

Mrs. N. Anderson, 
Sam Churches. 

CARPENTER. 

Hans Hanson. 



FORESTVILLE. 

SHOEMAKER. 

Fred Hanson, 
John Marth, 

BLACKSMITHS. 

Joseph Roberts, 
Anton Schneider. 

WAGON MAKERS. 

Anton Wcerfel, 
George Stoneman, 
Keogh & Fellers. 



[Prepared by John Fetzer, 

HOTELS. 

Martin Schmitz, 
John Meyer_ 

limb mVgbrs. 
Fred Daman, 
August Plengheft. 

MEAT MARKET. 

Dennie & Schmitz. 
ag'l implements. 
Anton Wcerfel & Co . 



BAILEY'S HARBOR.— [Prepared by Roger Eatough. 



merchants. 
F. Wohltmann, 
C. Pfeifer, 
Thos. Farrel. 

HOTELS. 

Bailey's Harbor House, 
Adam Hendricks Prop. 
National Hotol, | 

T. W.McCullough. f 
Globe Hotel, • j 

Roger Eatough. ) 



PIER OWNERS. 
S. A. Rogers, 
John Elison, 
Hans Johr.son. 

TIMBER DEALERS 
Hans Johnson, 
S. A. Rogers, 
Wm. Voight, 



MERCHANT a. 

Horn & Joseph, 
F. Paarmann. 

PIER OWNERS. 
Horn & Joseph, 



PIER OWNERS. 

Allen Higgins. 
Moses Kilgore, 
F. Wohltmann. 

TIMBER DEALERS. 

Allen Higgins, 
Fred Wohltmann, 
Rottmann & Larson, 

ag'l implments. 
Roger Eatough. 

BLACRSMITHS. 

Louis Wildhagen, 



Roger Eatough. 

SHOEMAKER. 

H. G. Spring, 
John Wagner. 

WAGON MAKER. 

A. Wrabetz. 

FLOURING MILL. 

Fred Arlt. 

ATTORNEY. 

H. G. Spring. 



LIBERTY GROTE. 

Thomas Dimond. 
James Hansen. 

BLACKSMITHS. 

F. Norling <&Co., 
Andrew Metcalf, 
Joseph Pascha, 

WAGON MAKERS 
F. Norling & Co. 

CLAY BANKS. 

Paarmann & Tuft. 
BLACKSMITHS. 
Horn <fc Joseph, 
Ignace Saponask, 
O. A. Nelson. 



["Prepared by James Hansen. 

MERCHANTS. 
S. A. Rogers, 
John Elison, 
Wm. Voight, 
James Hansen. 

SAW & GRIST MILL. 
Thomas Dimond. 

—[Prepared by W. H. Warren. 

SAW & SHINGLE MILL. 
James Tuft. 

EAGLE HOTEL, ) 

C. I. Hitt, Prop. \ 



136 



HISTORY OF DOOR COUNTY. 



EGG HARBOR.— [Prepared by M. E. Lyman. 



MERCHANTS. 

L. D. Thorp & Son. 
J. J. Barringer. 
Wm. Breunig. 

PIER OWNERS. 
L. D. Thorp, 
N. W. Kirtland, 
Wm. Leroy, 



MERCHANT. 
E. Bouler, 

BLACKSMITH SHOP. 
John B. Delmont. 



HOTELS. 

Bartolemi Larose. 
Clemant Geniese, 
Julin Genise. 



BLACKSMITHS. 
Aetoine Parier, 
Prosperd Naze. 



MERCHANTS . 
James C. Carrigan, 
Andrew A. Koyen, 



ICE COMPANIES. 
Washington Ice Co, 
Union Ice Co. 



MERCHANT. 

Boalt & Stebbins. 



J. J. Barringer. 

BLACKSMITHS. 
Chris Batz. 

WAGONMAKER. 
Jerre Lemere. 

SHOEMAKER.. 
Wm. Breunig. 



MEAT MARKET. 

Messrs. Barraboo. 

PHYSICIANS. 
David Graham. 

?ALOONS. 

Anton Laplant, 
John Michleschack, 



GARDNER.— [Prepared by A. J. Eichinger. 

HOTELS. 
Henry Gigot, Sr., 
Jos. Baumgartner. 
LIME KILNS. 



TIMBER BUYERS. 

Albert Stevenson, 

A. S. Piper, 

Jos. Baumgartner. 



Jos. Baumgartner. 

UNION.— [Prepared by Frank Pierre. 



BLACKSMITHS. 
Joseph Lobezeon. 
MERCHANTS. 
Pierre Decamp, 



F. Evard Bros. 
SALOON*. 
Pierre Decamp, 
Evard Bros. 



BRUSSELS.— [Prepared by Frank Pierre. 



HOTELS. 

Antoine Naniot, 



Adrien Francois, 
Frank Pierre. 



WASHINGTON.- [Reported by Jesse Miner 

Furlong & Sons, 
Freburg Bros. 



MILL OWNER. 

C. B. Freburg Bros. 



NASEWAUPEE. 

SUMMER RESORT. 
I die -Wild, 
J. T. Wright, Prop 
SEVASTOPOL. 

PIER OWNER. 

Boalt & Stebbins. 



PIER OWNER. 

David Greenwood. 



FISHERY. 
Messrs. Clark. 



ESTABLISHED 1873, >■ -! $1,50 PER YEAR, 



NOW IN ITS EIGHTH YEAR! 

THE 

"WEEKLY EXPOSITOR 

\ LAi^qi 32 couifiN pApif\ 




AN OUTSPOKEN AND FEARLESS JOURNAL 



INDEPENDENT IN POLITICS! 



T^e l^ekdir^ kind I<cii^e$t ^few^p&pei' 



IN DOOR COUNTY! 



Brim full each week with Local and General News, Rural 
Items, Housekeepers Hints, Chit Chat, Stories and Sketches, 
Home and Foreign Market Reports, Etc. 

STURGEON BAY, WIS, \ \ Editor and Proprietor. 



BOSTON PUBLIC LIBRARY 





3 9999 06658 790 6 



(Mar., 1887,20,000) 

BOSTON PUBLIC LIBRARY. 



One volume allowed at a time, and obtained only by 
card ; to be kept 14 days (or seven days in the case of fiction 
and juvenile books published within one year) without fine ; 
not to be renewed ; to be reclaimed by messenger after 21 
days, who will collect 20 cents besides fine of 2 cents a day, 
including- Sundays and holidays; not to be lent out of the 
borrower's household, and not to be transferred; to be re- 
turned at this Hall. 

Borrowers finding this book mutilated or unwarrantably 
defaced, are expected to report it; and also any undue delay 
in the delivery of books.